We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff - excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Ranked #95 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff - excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Just got back from 2 night stay- hotels was in ideal position.5 - 10 min walk from everywhere.
Room was a bit small and right up in the rafters but it was very clean and modern. Also very quiet. Cannot comment on the breakfast as we failed to get up either morning. Coffee facilities a nice touch though. The staff were the most friendly i have ever encountered. At 100 eur0s a night i was a bit pricey but unless you want to stay in a dormortory with shared facilities you have to pay a little more ... free internet available in lounge also...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j24681177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    367
    139
    52
    34
See reviews for
92
518
62
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The name did describe (mostly) this hotel. Definitely basic; and mostly trying to be chic. We stayed in an 'updated' room, which was small (not much bigger than the bed), but clean and did what it needed to.

Found the sayings on soap, shampoo, room keys, etc. very amusing!

Walking distance from the Central Station was great; we stayed here on the night prior to leaving (via the airport) and it was fast and easy to walk to the station and take a train to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam1am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed here for a long weekend of boozy debauchery in Amsterdam. The room was small but Chic and perfectly clean. The rate was equally small. It's in the centre of Amsterdam so food or drink is irrelevant. The staff were sweet (and rather pretty). So we thought they delivered exactly what they claimed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Room was small, but functional and clean. Location is excellent - near most of the sites, but on a quiet street. Front desk people were friendly and helpful. Only thing that could be improved is breakfast - it could be a bit more substantial than toast and jelly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This place was at a good location, close to the train station, but that's about the only good thing about it. The hotel is currently under renovation, had we known, we wouldn't have stayed here - they started banging and drilling at 8 am!! Our room was not yet renovated - however, it was horrible looking - very small, and really, really dirty. I understand that eventually it will get renovated, but I did not want to pay 130 euro a night to sleep in a dirty room. It was a complete rip off. The bathroom was insanely small as well - you can't sit on the toilet unless one of your shoulders is hitting the sink. I've travelled to Europe before, and I've seen small rooms before, but give me a break - at that price to have it that small & dirty is just unacceptable. There were cobwebs in our room, obviously they did not care to clean it for the guests. Would never go back to this place, and I hope the rest of you don't wast your money on this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lela_b_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Property: Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Address: Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): RM809 - RM1,401
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Canal District 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental Amsterdam canal houses with an amazing 300-year old facade, at the corner of Amsterdam most famous canals, the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in Hipsterdam the moment you check-in when you pick up your key from the guy or girl behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to take a seat at the living room bar. Or at one of the comfy tables, chairs and sofa to gather around with a drink and some delicious bar bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing