We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #95 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We arrived to a friendly welcome which continued throughout the stay. The hotel was very clean and tidy, although a bit of new tiling was being done in the main hallway it didnt cause any problems. The room had been recently refurbished, the bed was very comfortable and the room and en suite very clean. Her Majesty would have liked a mirror at the dressing table, but I'm sure its on their list. The stairs are insanely steep down to the dining room and her maj baulked at the prospect, so on the the plus side, breakfast was a quiet affair. Perfectly located, 5 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Diamond museum, the tram stop is right there too.cheap as chips for a day pass, trams to the city centre every few minues. The street behind the hotel has some serious shops, Chanel, Prada, YSL, Jimmy Choo etc., so take your cheque book !

Room Tip: Lift to all floors except dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjlep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 336 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

This was an interesting hotel. In a quiet residential type neighborhood we selected it based on its location within the museum district and comparative low price. The approach to the hotel is nice. Quiet, tree lined street. Worth noting, Lots of stairs to climb to get to the modest lobby.

Warmly received we did have to leave our bags until nearly 2:00 PM before getting into a room. That was no problem storage was secure.

Depending on what you are used to the size of the 'tiny' room was a bit of a surprise. 2 Single beds close enough to walk sideways between required some planning to move around in there. A useable desk & a metal stool for a chair. I thought the room felt a little larger than the inside of a small boat. Cabinet space accommodated most clothing for two. The bathroom had everything but no tub. Everything was very clean every day, the bed 'firm' but comfortable. We really didn't care about the small size of the room we weren't going to be there 'much'. We also had a fan and we could open window. Didn't see any A/C so that might be an issue at some times of the year.

The hotel is within walking distance at the Hermitage, The Riks, the Diamond Museum, nearby food vendors & several great restaurants.

The Hotel is 20 minutes or 15 Euros in a cab from the Central Station. Cheaper trams are available within one block. There are some limits on when they run at night and exactly where they go. You can still do some walking.

The hotel has a full 'Continental Breakfast' served at the usual hours. It can be a little crowded in there and you must go down some really steep steps to get there but there is a railing to hold on to. I don't believe this hotel is in any way handicap accessible but clearly that would depend on the disability. Tiny elevator holds 4 people.

Staff were great. They double as bartenders in the tiny bar adjacent to the lobby. The staff arranged little things for us, provided automated assistance on their computers and the place had Wifi.

So, much smaller rooms than anticipated but it was clean, the room had basically what we needed & the staff were great. Location to museums excellent but required a cab or other means to get to a more central location within the city. The place might be a disappointment for some due to the small rooms but it served our needs for location and cost as visitors to Amsterdam.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

A little gem, yes the rooms are small and the stairs a little steep. But the Poet has a certain charm. The rooms are spotless and the beds really comfy, the staff are very friendly, the breakfast was good. I would go back again.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here, very typical building, steep staircases but had a lift too, was a problem with our room but the man had already sorted out different accommodation for us and also gave us free drink of our choice as apologises. Couldn't do enough and very friendly.
Only problem was the stairs to the breakfast room downstairs, once again very steep! Weren't sure if the lift went down that far, but it was fine for us. Wouldn't be suitable for a baby or parent with a child.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank justgem25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Close to Rijksmuseum, very quiet, personal very nice, simple breakfast but very well and especially really cheap. Our room was a little bit small but for night, it was very well.
Just little far from the city center

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frederic w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,440 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#96 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,157 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40 - 46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM 520 - RM 1,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing