We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful, dream location - highly recommended to the budget conscious!”
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Ranked #122 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We stayed here as a group of 8 friends so we booked 2 4 bed dorm rooms! All the rooms are movie themed, the boys had Priscilla Queen of the Desert (!!!) and the girls had Men in Black! Go figure!! The rooms were not cramped at all, nice shower with good heat and pressure, and the beds although a little lumpy were comfortable enough for us! We all slept like babies for the 3 nights we stayed.
Perfect location - right in red light district with the many bars, coffee shops and restaurants all on the doorstep! Literally walki out the front door and across the street were the famous red light windows, so do not book if easily offended!!! The Bulldog bars were 2 minutes around the corner - we walked everywhere for the whole stay. The hostel is literally 10-15 min walk from Centraal Station as well for those travelling there from the airport. LOVED our stay and will be returning later in the year and will definitely stay here again!
Also had free wifi in all the rooms and reception which was pretty fast actually! The breakfast was basic but more than enough to keep you going so saved a bit of money on that.

Room Tip: We were on top floor so althought was a few flights of stairs, no rooms above us so no noisy people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

First time to stay in hostel. 12-bed dormitory with individual lockers and sockets provided. Walking distance to central station. Only concern is the location because it's in the middle of red light district. Recommended for solo travelers (even female)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Angelyna Gracia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

As there was seven of us we got a dorm all together (the godfather room)which had our own toilet and shower. We all hd a great time beds lovely and comfy and room lovely and warm. Breakfast was also good would definitely stay here again. only downside was you couldn't smoke in the room

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank 29sally12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Maybe one of the coolest spots in town.
This very little, but welcoming hostel, offers a range of interesting rooms themed after famous Americans movies.
Affordable for all the pockets.
Book in advance before you won't find space! ;)

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I was robbed at this hotel and I´m sure management was involved. Got back to my room around 11 am and found someone suspicious going down from 2nd floor (my room was the only one on 2nd floor). When I instert my card key the door didn´t open. We had to go to front desk and get our keys updated. Had a huge amount of cash in my luggage and I realized it was missing when I was already gone from Amsterdam

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank MatiasBA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM101 - RM1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing