We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as people are saying”
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Ranked #128 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Okay, its not brilliant, no hostels in Amsterdam are, set your expectations! I stayed in an 8 bed dorm, with 7 friends during ADE. Yes, room is a "little" on the dark side, but still light enough we thought, shower room was en-suite, but separate, again, light enough. Yes, it did leak, but only onto the floor in the en-suite, a little annoying, but nothing more. Bed's were comfy enough, each have their own "cubby hole" for close to hand bits, and plug socket and personal light. Staff were fine, we only had minimal dealings with them, but each time they responded as expected. For people saying they ask for taxes when you arrive, it clearly stares this on most booking confirmations and prior to booking. This isn't the hotel charge, this is city tax, and would need to be paid anywhere! Yes, people can just walk in, and chill in the common area by reception desk, but they cant get into your rooms, and we never noticed anyone dodgy lurking around, and that's me as a smoker being out the front regularly during the night. In our room, each locker has their own key, and NOT one key to open them all... We even asked if we could get the key for one of them from reception as we came back earlier that a friend who was storing another friends iPad, and they wouldn't give us one, so it all seemed pretty secure to me.

And just to emphasise what most say, the location is spot on, couldn't be better!

Room Tip: Room 12, 8 bed dorm, has a view of the red light district street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

First trip to Amsterdam. This hostel was in prime location, close to absolutely everything! It's just a shame that's the only good thing about this hostel that I can say!

We had an 8 bed dorm which was dark and dirty, the showers (although bleached daily) stunk and were dirty, don't forget flip flops! And if you wanted a shower in the night then tough! As it was too dark to see!

I had general stains on the bed. Top bunk didn't have a bar or anything on to stop me from rolling out! Beds weren't changed at all whilst we were there neither were the towels even though stated on the website (standard)

Rude staff! Added taxes when you arrive. No luggage room, just leave bags in the middle of reception area. Safe/ lockers in the room tiny and didn't work. Over all such a negative experience for such a lovely city!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ilovenewyork92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my Mother in Law, the price was great, the location amazing, and our room had a bench just outside which was perfect for our stay as my mother in law just wanted to get super high! If you don't mind church bells and want to be right in the city this hostel is perfect, lovely staff as well.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank KateEmiily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

If you want to be in amongst the hustle and bustle of the red lift district this hostel is the place to be. I visited on one of the warmest days In summer, around 27 degree Celsius. The room I checked into had a couple of decent fans to keep the temperature down which was great, as well as windows the opened up and gave a great view down the canals.

The facilities were great, clean bathroom, power points and lights for each bed and towels and linen included in the bed price.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

As a solo traveller who had just started his one month euro trip interrailing around Europe I arrived at the Heart of Amsterdam. There was a tiny common room area which combined with the fact the staff do not organise anything social means if you are travelling solo this isn't a great place to meet people and have a good time. Only positive was the location.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#183 of 248 in Amsterdam
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM102 - RM820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing