We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel , great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #149 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 November 2012

great location, near everything ,but you can see make the tour of amsterdam by feat .
we took a superior room , we stayed 5 nights , lot of space , tv is very old ,free wifi but the signal is weak .
breakfast was good , reception was helpfull ,everything was good but for me it is not a 4star hotel .

Room Tip: always take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,267 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Ideally located walking distance to most attractions. Stayed for four nights in a double room. Stylish common areas, and very secure (you need your key card to operate the elevators). The double room is nice sized (relative to hotel room sizes in Europe) with all of the modern conveniences. Free wifi, but the signal can be weak. Highly recommended if you can get a good deal. Rooms facing the street can be noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street. Beware that the free wifi can be slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed 10 days in September - Very nice hotel, great location. Close to museums, restaurants, bars, canal cruises and stores. We could walk most of the time, and just took the tram to get to Central Station.

Stayed in (huge) superior room, with a living area, wood floor, plenty of space to store our clothes, mini-fridge, kettle, iron and iron board, daily supply of instant coffee and tea, etc.
Ok, the furniture is wasted, but everything was perfectly clean, the mattress and pillows are comfortable, enourmous king size bed, and a great view (we got a front room, and since we live in Sao Paulo, we are used to some noise). Free wifi, which worked perfectly all the time.

There were many windows, which make the room very clear and pleasant, although curtains are thick enough to black out the light if you want to. After walking all day, staying in the bed with the sunset light bathing the room was a peaceful and recharging moment.
The service was great (except for the maitre in the breakfast room, which looked annoyed all the time). I wrote the hotel in advance telling this trip was to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we got Prosecco, a tray with fine chocolates and a lovely card, signed by the staff. It was such a lovely touch ! (I did the same with Hotel Prince di Conti in Paris, and we got nothing there – not even a smile from the staff).
We found it very safe as well, since you can only enter the elevator using your card. Late at night, the door is closed so reception can check who is going in.

The breakfast is expensive (20 Euros per person), but it was very complete and delicious. We had breakfast there in 6 days out of 10 – when we had breakfast there we did not have lunch, so after all it was very worthwhile (in general, there is nothing special about food in Amsterdam, and the prices are high).

Minor points to be fixed :
- Although the bathroom has a good size, the spot for the toilet is very, very narrow.
- The TV is old and small, and placed far away from the bed, so it is hard to watch it from the bed.
- The hair drier is very weak and poor quality. It burnt down after 5 minutes of use. Actually, it melted down, it is made of cheap plastic. I called the reception and it was replaced, but they gave me a very same model, which smelled burnt after a while.
- They ask your credit card to be blocked during the check-in. The night before our check-out, I was called to go to the reception, and the staff member said they were charging all the extras, and next morning I only would have to pick-up the invoice. But on the next morning they said they have not charged it, and I had to sign again for the extras. At the same time, they would not give me a copy of my bill, so I had to pay 300 Euros and did not know what I was being charged. There were 3 members of the staff, and none of them seemed to operate the system and the printer. It took us about 30 minutes to have things solved.

In spite of it, we would definetelly stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior front room - huge and with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Co_Gelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is very plain and uninteresting but the location is great. Right in the heart of the Centrum with easy access to Dam Square, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and the chic ninth district, also a short taxi or tram to Centraal Station.
Hotel staff were polite and helpful, the breakfast was acceptable, the facility is somewhat austere and the need to use your keycard for all elevator and stair access is indicative of the neighborhood. Spuistraat is a pedestrian street with a colorful history and many bars and restaurants as well as the famous coffee shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This was a very nice hotel with a great central location. The shuttle from Schipol took us straight to the door,booking in was fast and straightforward and the reception staff were polite and welcoming.It was pleasant to come back to our quiet room after busy days of sightseeing and we appreciated the variety of food on offer at the breakfast buffet.We really enjoyed our few days here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacknzNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,211 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#108 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,959 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#129 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#260 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,614 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#94 of 376 in Amsterdam
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM 532 - RM 1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing