We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Flying Pig Downtown(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
49
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
7
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place away from the hubbub but close to major attractions , this is the place! Large rooms (only two are !), confort and amenities that make you feel very good. Choose to make your breakfast at Mrs. Elizabeth, a perfect host who will be worth every minute in the city cuisine.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Best place to stay in Amsterdam. Wonderful, convenient location. Tranquil private home with boutique rooms close to Hermitage, Hortus Botanicus, Waterlooplein, Skinny bridge and almost at junction of Keizergracht and the Amstel. Elizabeth de Witte is a charming host and knowledgeable about attractions, local restaurants and everything to do with Amsterdam. Fabulous breakfasts to order taken in oasis surroundings of her garden or in the homely kitchen. Great selection of guide books, eclectic music, umbrellas and magazines. Comfortable en-suite rooms with cooking, eating facilities and beautifully appointed bathroom. Couldn't be better

Room Tip: Only two rooms - front was basement but light and quiet, room 2 probably a better bet as leads on to garden and is away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You know you are going to enjoy your stay at this lovely hotel from the amusing and very informative information Elizabeth sends to you, detailing how to get into the city and to find Synopsis. What a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the city. It was very close to the metro and within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Amsterdam. We've just spent 4 nights here and loved it. We had Room 1 and it was super - very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Great bathroom and a tiny kitchenette in a cupboard with minibar, coffee machine and good range of teas and coffees. We were lucky to be able to have breakfast outside in the garden every morning, although you can choose to have it in your room or in the kitchen. You choose from the extensive menu the night before and it's all ready and waiting for you. The owner, Elizabeth, welcomed us with a small bottle of cava and nibbles and lots of information on where we might eat in the evening, which terrace to get a beer at whilst making the most of the evening sunshine, and how to get around the city. We certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As other reviewers have noted ,staying at the Synopsis is like staying in a real home - but with all the privacy and comfort of a hotel . We stayed six nights and our groundfloor room was spacious and airy and tastefully decorated. It was also very quiet and peaceful .The bed was a large and very comfortable double and the bathroom was ,by European standards ,large and well equipped .There was a well-stocked fridge and even a little kitchenette with kettle ,coffee machine (excellent ! ) and cutlery. The breakfast menu was large and varied and the food beutifully presented .( I can highly recommend the fresh fruit salad and the crusty bread.) The cofffee, needless to say, was superb .Elizabeth,our host ,was charming and attentive - and has an adorable little dog ! We were very touched to be given chocolates and mini eggs at the weekend and delicious stollen with our breakfast on Easter Sunday.The hotel (really a very superior B & B) is on a quiet side street , directly opposite the Amsterdam outreach branch of the Hermitage Museum - as if there weren't enough fine museums in Amsterdam already (! ) - and within easy walking distance of all the sights . ( Five minutes from the Opera , if you're interested ) . And when you're tired of the Museums , ten minutes pleasant walk in the other direction will take you to the city's wonderful zoo - a real haven in the centre of the city. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again - in fact, we're determined to do so.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room at the back ( No.2 ) , opening onto the garden - though sadly it was too cold to sit out there ! It was incredibly quiet and peaceful and the bed and bathroom were both superb.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A wonderful house--lovely place to stay--It is nothing like staying in a hotel.3 rooms all beautiful and the owner is a lovely charming lady--Wonderful bathing accessories--Book early as it is one of the best places in Amsterdam

Room Tip: All 3 are different and all wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews