We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$221
US$200
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
US$202
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$128
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
49
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
7
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2006

My husband and I, with two friends stayed at the Synopsis in June
2006. My first thought, was that it was expensive for a B&B but soon changed my mind. This is no ordinary B&B. The rooms were lovely and quiet and the bathroom was 5 star. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat only 10 minutes walk from the main attractions then this is the perfect place.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank lovelouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
13
Reviewed 27 November 2005

My wife and I stayed in Synopsis for five days in late November. We found it an excellent small hotel. It only has three rooms and feels very private. The owner, Elizabeth, lives in the appartment upstairs and prepares breakfast in her own kitchen behind the hotel rooms. She will either bring it to your room, or you can eat in the kitchen with her. In some ways this is like a guest house, but with the quality of room you would expect from a good three star hotel. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated in a modern and tasteful Dutch style: the bath room is delightful, with lots of very hot water (a must for us given how cold it was the time we were there). There is a sink and minibar with tea and coffee facilities hidden in a wardrobe (and a decent choice of teas); and there is a PC in the room with internet access (30 minutes for free over the course of your stay) and a wireless network. A wide range of restaurants and bars are in easy walking distance (5 minutes to Rembrandtplein, or go to Janvier in Amstelveld for excellent Nouvelle Cuisine in a very stylish but relaxed setting). Elizabeth was very friendly and helpful. Classy with style - perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2005

We just returned from a four day stay at Synopsis, Amsterdam. It was lovely. The hotel has three guest rooms, and each is unique and fully-equipped. The hotel is an old canal house with a lovley private garden in the rear. The property is filled with original art (which as a creative person I really appreciated) as well as all the modern amenities. The hotel even offers high-speed Internet access, which is pretty amazing considering that the property dates from the 17th c. The service is unobtrusive and helpful, and the proprietor (Elizabeth) is a lifelong resident of Amsterdam so can be quite helpful in providing any information you should need, such as restaurant recommendations. This small luxury hotel is perfect for persons who have fine tastes, but is not overly expensive. It's a lot like staying in a luxury private home, yet you have private bathrooms, minibars, private keyed entrances, and immediate access to the best of Amsterdam. This property is a very short walk to nearly eveything in the old part of town, and is just a complete delight. you will not be disappointed!

4  Thank pleniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2005

The Synopsis Hotel was a wonderful surprise. From our arrival greeting by Elizabeth, the owner, to our leave taking, the hotel was just perfect. It is located on a very quiet canal, in a beautiful canal home that has been very tastefully decorated. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major museums, etc. Elizabeth has a list of wonderful neighborhood restaurants that were just perfect. All in all you could not find a nicer, more friendly, small, hotel for your next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank grbdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
12
Reviewed 2 July 2004

My wife and I had a 3 night stay at the Synopsis in May. I second everything that allenoen973@yahoo.com put in his review. I will add that we had a nice late afternoon in the back yard enjoying wine and cheese (wine was reasonably priced in the mini bar.) You can't do that in your typical hotel. The location of this place is excellent and we strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews