We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amigo Budget Hostel
Ranked #190 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Amigo hostel was a great place to stay in amsterdam for a few days. The staff was very helpfull and it is near some nice coffeshops, restaurants and public transport.There isnt any kitchen so thats the only mistake about the place.

Room Tip: You should make a reservation to get a cheap value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Viajando_ando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed there for 2 nights with my friend. It is a budget hostel for young people so we didin't expect much.
Stairs are steep, but that is Amsterdam as it is steep everywhere, however, people with disabilities or very heavy luggage will have a problem.
It is, as I understand in pretty old building, which would need some quality refurbishment. 24 hour reception is really good and staff is friendly and helpful, easily explains and solves problems, offers free map and vouchers. We didin't cook, so it did not bother us, but I would not recommend it for people planning to cook at hostel.
What I really did not like was showers and toilet. Staff probably does clean and maintain it, but showering after another person is a nightmare as water gets everywhere and there is no dry place to put your stuff on as it is not very air conditioned. I've tried being very neat and tidy, but that does not help because of the structure of bathroom joined together with toilet. Also, it is short of bathrooms in the store. Too many people for this amount of bathrooms.
Our room was ok. It had some smell of socks and shoes, but this is a hostel with many different people living in the same room, so it is understandable. Beds were clean, comfortable. No loud noises, people were friendly, no one disturbed anyone.
Our staying is 4/5. If not the bathrooms and quality of rooms I would give 5/5. Location is good - we travelled from Eindhoven, stopped at Amstel station and walked slowly, enjoying the views to the hostel in around 15min. Buses and trams to the city center run constantly, but we never used them as we enjoyed our walks.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Enrika2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

5 of us stayed there this weekend.
The people who work there were very helpful at any hour and offer free maps and discount vouchers at main attractions... very handy.
Room was comfortable and clean also mattresses were fantastic..
Tbh only thing would say is people must bare in mind it is a hostel so shared toilets and shower room which are fine but some residents didn't show a lot of respect from the state they were left in.. staff however do try to keep on top of them as I've said just keep this in mind..

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel😊
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

The single room was much better than I expected for 26 euros, tiny but very clean and cosy. There was a wash basin and a flatscreen for watching Netflix etc., no tv channels. The toilet in the corridor was even tinier but clean too. Didn't even try to take a shower so can't comment on them but a towel was included in the price, another surprise for a hostel in this price range.
The stairs to this hostel are absolutely crazy, not for the faint-hearted. Thanks to friendly other guests I made it to our room on the fourth floor with my toddler son. We left the buggy and our suitcase in the luggage storge on first floor, too much trouble to get everything upstairs. Great experience for one night but I wouldn't stay there longer, just too difficult with a small child. But seemed like a good place for young people.
Kitchen facilities were very basic: a microwave oven, a kettle and some plates and bowls in the reception room. I didn't like the fact you had to fetch water and clean the plates in the smoking room next door where people were smoking God knows what. It stank.
The location was excellent with a tram stop and a supermarket and lots of other shops just next door. All in all we had a great time at this hostel and in Amsterdam.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kukka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

It was above the expected level as the price was well affordable. Huge supermarket, Tram Station and even a Coffee Shop are located in a walking distance. Wash rooms were well cleaned and the water pressure was pretty convincing.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChalithSameera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Via Amsterdam
#50 of 248 in Amsterdam
41 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#48 of 248 in Amsterdam
660 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#183 of 248 in Amsterdam
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#62 of 248 in Amsterdam
532 reviews
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#172 of 248 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#205 of 248 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Budget Hostel

Address: Linnaeusstraat 199, 1093 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM67 - RM1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amigo Budget Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amigo Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing