We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amigo Budget Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$234
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
US$273
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$325
US$226
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$506
US$431
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$373
US$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$325
US$293
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
62
90
141
66
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
90
141
66
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuiderpoort stationtram stopsteep stepsbunk bedsheavy luggagenumber tramsmoking roomsupermarketcoffeeshopsnetherlands
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I had booked this hostel for a 13 day stay.
I had a condition because of which I couldn't travel but had informed the property via phone that I will not be making the trip because of personal reasons.

In a way to make money, these people told me that it will be taken care of.

Guess what, THEY CHARGED THE ENTIRE 13 DAY STAY and are now saying that it is impossible that you called and we will not give the money back.

No service provided ! Nothing !
Still they want to keep MY money. I wish them good luck enjoying the tainted deal they got themselves by taking my money.

Unhelpful service. Really terrible. Avoid at all costs and don't share your credit card details with them for booking.

How can some businesses be so inhumane !!!! Ridiculous.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank prateek360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel is one of the most terrible places I've ever been.
It's a cheap place... I can't deny. But the local is dirty, there's no kitchen, bedrooms are small and if you have more 1,80m... you can't fit in the beds.
If you can pay for something better, pay and try another hostel.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Haroldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We stayed as a group of friends for 3 nights, all of us were friends and we shared a room. It would have been a little bit unconvenient to share such a little room with strangers, so keep that in mind if you are going alone.

Tiny toilets ! The spacing problem is universal in all of Amsterdam, so it should not have come as such a surprise for us, however it's over the top tiny... Also problem with cleaning - the shower rooms are quite a few, and since there are a lot of guests the cleaning staff can't make it in time before the shower gets dirty. Lots of hair everywhere, people leave the towels by the door, etc.

The hostel has a set of rules and a strict drug policy, however it was very obvious that it was not followed at all times. Specifically outside the hostel entrance.

Last but but not least... THE stairs! Take cautiong when walking up and down - see the travelers' pictures if you want to understand what I mean.

If you are just looking for a place to crush for a couple of night at a great location (near the city center, 10 min by tram) then it's a perfect place to stay. It can get loud at nights, but we are all heavy sleepers so we didn't really get bothered by it.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a couple of nights here whilst visiting Amsterdam. Hostel itself are up some very steep steps. The staff were very friendly and have a luggage room. The reception is open 24 hours so someone always available. The "living area" has a tv, table and chairs, microwave and fridge. Wifi is also fairly decent. In terms of the room itself, 8 bed dorm was a nice size with a sink to wash hands or clean teeth. There are very limited plug sockets and they are all located in one place. My floor had a toilet separate to the shower, but the one above did not. The toilet on my floor was often covered with water and very unpleasant. The shower was also broken, so you had to use a different floor, this was also unclean and everything gets wet (clothes etc) as there's no fan. The whole hostel itself I found rather run down and unpleasant, yet the rooms were better. Location from the city centre is far, it is located closer to the edge of Amsterdam, not suitable if you want to pop back up the hostel in the day. Overall, an acceptable hostel, with budget in the name, go with low expectations

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank heath_danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I had single room on top floor. Bed, TV, and sink.....That's yer lot. Broken window covered with paper, very cold & draughty. Only good thing about this place is Muiderpoort station is 5 min walk away.....Never Again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wulliecatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews