We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
122
236
125
42
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
236
125
42
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location holland casino stayed here for nights rijksmuseum and van gogh museum minute walk tea and coffee making facilities rooms are small reception staff are walking distance dam square clean hotel canal cruise museum district beds were comfortable central station tram stop vondelpark
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Great location, Friendly and helpful staff,Functional room but bathroom is tiny.
Great city but quite expensive, especially around Dam Square.
We bought Iamsterdam cards, found them to be good and maybe we could have got better value out of them, But we probably paid more then we used.
walking around is easy and a great way to see a beautiful city. The coffee houses are an experience , (not my cup of coffee\tea though) but worth a visit. eat and socialise around the Leidesplein for best value.

Room Tip: Prefab rooms in " the Garden " are small and functional with a tiny bathroom
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a great and really beautiful area. Great value for money, tried a similar hotel in the same area and price range but that was terrible compared to Vossius. Seriously couldn't recommend more. Clean, spacious, lovely helpful staff, easy access to the whole of the city by tram, bus or on foot. Top marks.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lollydollydollhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel is at a great location right outside the last semicircle canal of the city center, on Vossiusstraat street. Some rooms have views to Vondelpark and the Rijk and Van Gogh museums are 5 min away walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean, big bedroom, body soap in the shower. You have the option to make tea or coffee in the room ( included). The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the service did miss to leave enough clean towels. The rest was great. There is an extra 10€ fee for the breakfast buffet that we did not try. The room was about 25€ per night. It is a good deal in Amsterdam.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oriol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, 12+13th January in room 403. The room though small was adequate and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small; shower, tiny sink and toilet but plenty of hot water. The shower could benefit from a complete screen as the floor got wet.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it is very much a serve yourself cold buffet, costing 10 euros, in a small room. There are plenty of cafes within easy reach of the hotel. The location is excellent and looks out onto the Vondelpark. Close by is the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and Diamond museum in a central square. The canal is just across the road, as is an Irish pub and Hard rock cafe among many other eateries.
We were very impressed with the warm and friendly attention and advice we received from the reception staff. Nothing was too much trouble and a very good supply of maps and brochures is available at reception. Although we were only in Amsterdam for one full day, we did a canal cruise, browsed the many and varied shops,toured a diamond factory as a free bonus of the canal cruise and sampled the gorgeous hot chocolate drinks ! We also saw the Royal palace in Dam Square, albeit in the rain.
Some of the shops are quite explicit in their displays, so don't be shocked at the liberal attitudes to sex and drugs. We didn't make it to the red-light district, but the street behind the hotel contains every sort of high end designer/jewellery store you could wish for and is worth a browse just to see how the other half live.
Just one word of caution- beware the traffic which seems to come at you from all sides; Joggers, cyclists, cars, buses and trams, not all of which stop at the same time! We walked to Dam Square and on to the Central station, most places are very accessible, but there is an excellent tram and bus service. We caught the 197 bus from stop B11 outside Schiphol to the Rijks museum which is a short walk to the hotel. It costs 5euros and takes about 30 minutes, much cheaper than a taxi. There is a hotel shuttle bus service which stops at some bus stops and costs 7:50 euros which is reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 403 was in the attic and looked out onto the Vondelpark. Could hear some traffic noise but didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldertraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

This hotel was functional and clean if a little cold and the shower room had issues with soaking the place. for the price though it's great value and I had no complaints. Vondelpark is a nice little district near the museums and on the edge of Amsterdams craziness but within a short walk to everywhere.

Room Tip: we faced the back - 202 it was small but quiet
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thecockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews