We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a bad hotel, lacks a buzz in the bar and public areas.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel, lacks a buzz in the bar and public areas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed with my wife for 3 nights. Easy check in etc. but the place was dead! Good grief we are in Amsterdam, but you would think you were out in the countryside. The bar lacked any buzz and the public areas were dead. We met more people in the lifts than in the bar! If you want quiet and i mean real quiet then this is your spot. This was not for me, there is a certain amount of life needed to make it feel homely and it was not here. Normally we would round off the evening in the bar for a nightcap, but we went to bed at 10-00 every night. Lovely hotel rooms adequate and warm. Free mini bar, if you are sad enough to want to sit in your room and drink. Ticks nearly all the boxes. It must be its location which is fine but theres no passing trade.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    1,010
    349
    166
    91
See reviews for
392
2,007
218
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Grand Amrath was an excellent choice - I took my time when selecting a hotel for my Amsterdam stay and I am so glad I chose the Amrath.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and everyone was very helpful. The hotel is very well maintained and has a warm and welcoming feel about it.
Our room was amazing, the free minibar does make a difference together with the Nespresso machine in the room - this sets this hotel apart from other 5 star hotels I have stayed in .
The pool and spa area was clean and spacious.

Overall this is an excellent hotel - I would highly recommend it! Only thing I would say which needs to be slightly better is the breakfast selection.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, CZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was very convenient for several reasons:
- Well located: easy access from the airport because just next to Central station, only few minutes walk from the lively center, but in a quiet area.
- Fantastic facilities and concept: Free mini bar, good spa especially enjoyable after a day walk in the cold :) beautifuly building and staircase.
- The rooms are interesting: taller tahn wider due to teh very high ceiling! Beautiful view on the city. This for me was the absolute best: Huge tall windows on gorgeous canal view.

Advice: There is several excellent breakfast places few minutes from the hotel. Much more exiting (and cheaper) than the hotel one.

Room Tip: We spent a little extra for a city view, and it was money well spent! This is one the best thing ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick-Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in January.
Hotel is situated in a very quiet location far enough away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to most sights. Staff very helpful and friendly. Spacious rooms. Free mini bar Atmospheric building will a lot of character. Large comfy bed. Very nice experience for something different. Got a good deal which made this hotel excellent value.
Would have been disappointed though if paying full price. Billed as a 5 star hotel but there are small things missing that you would question if paying top price. Not as much a criticism but more an observation. Would like to stay again if price was right to fully experience all facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room on a high floor - but not on the top floor. Top floor rooms have lower ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hearts1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fascinating hotel with superb facilities - the housekeeping is excellent with the inclusive mini bar, they replenished it daily and brought up extra coffee & milk as we went through quite a few - it was delicious coffee! We didn't book breakfast or dinner either in the hotel but there is no need as there are many cafes and restaurants within walking distance - the hotel restaurant & room service rates are also quite expensive. The wellness area is a credit to the hotel - lovely and clean, warm and relaxing - didn't seem to be overcrowded too but we could have just been lucky. Comprising a lovely pool, 3 saunas, a steam room and jacuzzi; there are plenty of options - and stacks of fresh towels dotted about - it is a nicely well kept area, and perfect to spend an hour or two. This is a five star hotel for sure - the only reason I marked it down is because we did seem to spend on several occasions quite a long time hanging around in the foyer waiting for reception and concierge staff. However I would definitely book this hotel again if I were to go back to Amsterdam. Oh and just to add that the beds in this hotel are the most comfortable we have ever slept in - mostly you can't wait to get back to your own bed after a holiday but we are missing our holiday bed already!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): RM836 - RM1,676
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing