We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

An amazing building. Great suite with wonderful view of the city. The staff were really friendly, efficient and polite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a bit of class in a hotel. Well worth a visit we will certainly be going back

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Theo S,

It is a treat to read your review on how you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words on our historical building and the friendly, efficient and polite service you received from our staff. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the suite allocated to you with its view of the city.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 246 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Our room had a fabulous 4 poster bed in with high ceilings and the most beautiful bathroom.
The wellness centre was fantastic and the location of the hotel to explore Amsterdam. The history of the hotel and architecture was amazing, it was great to explore the quirky naval features of the hotel.
The free mini bar and bath robes and slippers in the room, gave it the luxurious 5 star quality.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CJH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear CJH21,

We thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience with us and others on this site!
How nice to hear that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you with its Four Poster Bed, complimentary minibar and bathrobes. I'm happy that you were able to relax in our Wellness center after a long day of exploring the city and that our hotel's location was convenient for you to do so. It is always a treat to hear that one of our guests was able to appreciate our monumental building's architecture as we ourselves are so proud of it.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Great position in Amsterdam in close proximity (5 minute walk) to the railway station and position on the canal.A historical art deco building with plenty of character with comfortable and large rooms and bathrooms. Not very friendly front of house staff.Rooms clean and quite.Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: rooms facing the inner courtyard are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonmq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear leonmq,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historical building and that our central location was convenient for your plans in Amsterdam! How nice that you enjoyed breakfast and were comfortable in the room allocated to you and that you found them to be clean as well.
As for your comment on the service you received from the front of the house staff, I sincerely regret to hear this. As we aim to provide our guests with nothing less than a five star level service we are very sorry to hear that we did not achieve this at the time and I offer our sincere apologies for this.
We're happy that despite this issue the remainder of your stay with us was pleasant.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Fairly convenient for main train station in Amsterdam but small things let it down such as very poor and inefficient air conditioning. Rooms on the small side with high ceilings.
Shower drain didn't drain away and the décor is very dark and not welcoming in my opinion. These things detract from a five star standard, especially if you are paying 5 star room rates!! The Lounge Bar service was terrible, ordered a Campari and soda and two minutes later was told they had no soda, would we like sparkling water!! waiter returned to say they had no Compari. Reordered a Martini and was asked did we want gin in it or water!! The drink arrived full of ice and no olives. The Gin and Tonic came with no lime or lemon,no mixing stick and a straw!!this is not 5 star service.
Not impressed

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Thomas M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us!
I am happy to hear that our central location was convenient for you.
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed by the fact that our hotel does not have airconditioning. Because our hotel is located in a monumental building we are unfortunately not allowed by the government to make great evasive changes such as installing a central airconditioning system. What we do have is a climate control system which circulates and refreshes the air but does not cool it. In the case that our guests experience discomfort because of the temperature in their room, we offer standing fans upon request.
I do regret to hear about your experience with ordering a Campari and soda in the bar lounge, as well as the issues with your room such as the shower drain. It pains me that we did not achieve to provide you with the level of service that we aim to deliver to our esteemed guests, and I deeply apologize for this matter.
We hope that you will consider giving us a second chance to redeem ourselves from this experience and prove that we are able to provide our guests with the 5 star experience that so many have grown fond of throughout the years.
If you do, please book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,
Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Just returned from a great stay at the Amrath , group of 10 lads , ( some father and sons ) , all dressed as Pirates , not a Stag do, we go to play in a football tournament
but dress up for fun.
The staff had a good laugh, very helpful , and the venue was just the best ever.
We have been going to The Dam for 10 years now, and this was by far the best
hotel and venue. It has so much character, lovely stain glassed windows, the door handles are so cool, and the rooms 1st class....high ceilings, free mini bar toped up daily, and no outside noise.
We are re booking next years trip with the Amrath, and although we have not decided on the fancy dress theme, im sure we will get another warm welcome !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear George D,

We greatly appreciate your kind words on this site! How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam! It was certainly very entertaining to have you as a guest. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our historical building's charm and convenient location. How nice that you were happy in the quiet rooms allocated to you with the complimentary minibar and high ceilings.
We look forward to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.

With kind regards,
Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
570 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#31 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#19 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,605 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM 793 - RM 1,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing