We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$269
US$198
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,261)
Filter reviews
4,261 results
Traveller rating
2,334
1,166
423
216
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,334
1,166
423
216
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barwellness centreshipping houseelectric curtainssuperior deluxe roomshipping companycentral stationsteam roomrestocked dailytrouser pressnespresso machinespa areaseparate showercity viewthe red light districtunique hotelremote control
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 4,261 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Our room had a fabulous 4 poster bed in with high ceilings and the most beautiful bathroom.
The wellness centre was fantastic and the location of the hotel to explore Amsterdam. The history of the hotel and architecture was amazing, it was great to explore the quirky naval features of the hotel.
The free mini bar and bath robes and slippers in the room, gave it the luxurious 5 star quality.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CJH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear CJH21,

We thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience with us and others on this site!
How nice to hear that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you with its Four Poster Bed, complimentary minibar and bathrobes. I'm happy that you were able to relax in our Wellness center after a long day of exploring the city and that our hotel's location was convenient for you to do so. It is always a treat to hear that one of our guests was able to appreciate our monumental building's architecture as we ourselves are so proud of it.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Great position in Amsterdam in close proximity (5 minute walk) to the railway station and position on the canal.A historical art deco building with plenty of character with comfortable and large rooms and bathrooms. Not very friendly front of house staff.Rooms clean and quite.Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: rooms facing the inner courtyard are quite.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonmq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear leonmq,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historical building and that our central location was convenient for your plans in Amsterdam! How nice that you enjoyed breakfast and were comfortable in the room allocated to you and that you found them to be clean as well.
As for your comment on the service you received from the front of the house staff, I sincerely regret to hear this. As we aim to provide our guests with nothing less than a five star level service we are very sorry to hear that we did not achieve this at the time and I offer our sincere apologies for this.
We're happy that despite this issue the remainder of your stay with us was pleasant.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Fairly convenient for main train station in Amsterdam but small things let it down such as very poor and inefficient air conditioning. Rooms on the small side with high ceilings.
Shower drain didn't drain away and the décor is very dark and not welcoming in my opinion. These things detract from a five star standard, especially if you are paying 5 star room rates!! The Lounge Bar service was terrible, ordered a Campari and soda and two minutes later was told they had no soda, would we like sparkling water!! waiter returned to say they had no Compari. Reordered a Martini and was asked did we want gin in it or water!! The drink arrived full of ice and no olives. The Gin and Tonic came with no lime or lemon,no mixing stick and a straw!!this is not 5 star service.
Not impressed

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Thomas M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us!
I am happy to hear that our central location was convenient for you.
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed by the fact that our hotel does not have airconditioning. Because our hotel is located in a monumental building we are unfortunately not allowed by the government to make great evasive changes such as installing a central airconditioning system. What we do have is a climate control system which circulates and refreshes the air but does not cool it. In the case that our guests experience discomfort because of the temperature in their room, we offer standing fans upon request.
I do regret to hear about your experience with ordering a Campari and soda in the bar lounge, as well as the issues with your room such as the shower drain. It pains me that we did not achieve to provide you with the level of service that we aim to deliver to our esteemed guests, and I deeply apologize for this matter.
We hope that you will consider giving us a second chance to redeem ourselves from this experience and prove that we are able to provide our guests with the 5 star experience that so many have grown fond of throughout the years.
If you do, please book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.
With kind regards,
Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Just returned from a great stay at the Amrath , group of 10 lads , ( some father and sons ) , all dressed as Pirates , not a Stag do, we go to play in a football tournament
but dress up for fun.
The staff had a good laugh, very helpful , and the venue was just the best ever.
We have been going to The Dam for 10 years now, and this was by far the best
hotel and venue. It has so much character, lovely stain glassed windows, the door handles are so cool, and the rooms 1st class....high ceilings, free mini bar toped up daily, and no outside noise.
We are re booking next years trip with the Amrath, and although we have not decided on the fancy dress theme, im sure we will get another warm welcome !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear George D,

We greatly appreciate your kind words on this site! How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam! It was certainly very entertaining to have you as a guest. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our historical building's charm and convenient location. How nice that you were happy in the quiet rooms allocated to you with the complimentary minibar and high ceilings.
We look forward to welcome you back soon! For your next potential visit, make sure you book with us directly for the best rates and most complete information on the hotel and its surroundings. You can do so either via email reservations@amrathamsterdam.com or via our website.

With kind regards,
Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

I was checked into a room with construction outside. Was told it wouldn't start before 9 am but read the reviews that said it would start at 7 am and insisted I was moved. They moved me into another room overlooking the channel. That was one of the noisiest rooms I've ever stayed at. You can hear every sound from outside with closed windows. It's like having all the cars in bikes right in your room. It's a busy street so you'll need earplugs to sleep well. The shower holder was broken. The room wasn't cleaned well. Breakfast was among the poorest I've every had in a hotel. Staff varied from excellent (the concierge) to unfriendly bordering with rude (a lady at the reception, younger restaurant personnel). I've stayed at quite a few hotels in Amsterdam and every other one was way better. The beautiful Art Deco building is the only positive thing about it. Stay somewhere else and give Amrath a quick visit to see the игшдвштп

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dancing_shiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrath A, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear dancing_shiva,

We thank you kindly for sharing your feedback with us. Although we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay, we appreciate your input on what we could have done better. I am happy to hear that you were able to appreciate the historical beauty of our monumental building and that our concierge was able to deliver excellent service to you. Having said that, I sincerely regret that you were not happy with the room allocated to you, both before and after our staff moved you. How unfortunate that you found our housekeeping service and breakfast service to be disappointing as well. As we aim to provide our guests with nothing less than a five star level service we are very sorry to hear that we did not achieve this at the time. I have discussed these matters with the managers of the departments involved immediately to make sure that other guests do not experience the same negative experience as you have had.
I would like to further discuss this important matter with you, if you would be willing. If so, please feel free to contact us at guestrelations@amrathamsterdam.com. We hope to hear from you soon!

With kind regards,
Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews