We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Vondel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$996
US$422
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$302
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveller rating
499
457
99
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
457
99
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomcity centrefrequent trainsspar supermarkettop floortrains rungreat hoteltrain ridemodern hotelconvenience storeminutes from the airportrain showertravel passsky bartakes minutescomfortable bedgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Much as I love central Amsterdam , it's nice to stay out of the hub. Hotels are expensive and standards are variable. This is a short hop from Central , but worlds away with lots of space.
The Hotel offered a warm welcome, the room was clean with everything you'd need, what more could you want? I'll be booking again next time I visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAmsSloterdijk, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Andy,

Many thanks for your nice words. Indeed, guest do choose us for the perfect location (15 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from center), just outside the hustle and higher prices in the center. I am glad that you felt our hotel as your home away from home.

Hope to see you again soon,

Ronald Reichert, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe its me, but the place just didn't seem to have any soul. The check in was fine and friendly, the room was nice with all the amenities required and the wifi was okay.
My main complaint was the lack of room service. They were always about, but at no stage got to our room before 4pm. This is sometimes just not convenient, when you have just got in. On one occasion we had no room service at all! We can deal with it, empty our own bins, ask for clean towels etc, But!

We had a single bed in the room, which basically cluttered the space available. We thought it would be removed during our stay, but as room service at no time entered our room, it remained for the three days we stayed.

One of the lifts didn't work from day one and they had an erratic mind of their own, that even the staff couldn't fathom. I wonder if our housekeeping trolly got stuck in one of these.

The reception area was soulless, the restaurant was on the top floor and just outside the front door of the hotel, became the smoking area, a fog like claggy atmosphere. You could get up, leave the hotel and not see a soul, until you hit the smoke cloud, just outside the door.

The hotel is very close to Sloterdijk Railway Station, which gave access to Downtown Amsterdam within 10 minutes. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but the bars/cafes seem to be taken over at weekends, by drunken groups of young men or women on Stag/Bucks or Hen Nights.

Room Tip: One near the room service trolly would be handy.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAmsSloterdijk, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station. I am sorry that your experience did not fully met your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We would love to investigate why your room has not been cleaned one day (sometimes guest switch on do not disturd sign by incident), but we have no staying details of you.
At this moment we are replacing our elevators to offer a better system in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Ronald Reichert, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and found it a prefect location for our trip, only a short walk from Sloterdijk train strain, about 10 minutes trip into Centraal Station and not much longer the opposite direction to Schipol Airport. The rooms were very comfortable, with a choice of pillows and a rain shower, modern TV and WiFi. We did not eat in the hotel as breakfast looked pricey when we were booking but we did go up to the Sky Lounge on the 8th floor the first night for a drink and the views are very good. Tip: a short train trip to Zaanse Schans, followed by 10-15 minute walk to see beautiful old windmills and wooden houses. Would definitely stay at Mercure Sloterdijk again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnB71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne-FOM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JohnB71_12,

We are very pleased to read your very kind and positive review about your stay with us!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Hope to welcoming you in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Bakenam
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only 5min train to central.
£50 for a night was a bargain.
The room is 4 star standard.

I booked double room but the bed is two single bed combined. But the shower and room was spacious.

Very recommend it. Is you need nice and quite place to stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maysiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne-FOM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maysiang,

Thank you for your nice comments and feedback about the hotel. It was nice having you as our guest.

Kind Regards,

Bakenam
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Amsterdam from London Luton in early March, between Thursday 8th and Sunday 11th. Needed a place close to the city centre (but not in the city centre) and this was a great place. Literally 3 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest train station (Sloterdijk) and then a 5 minute train to Centraal and 10 minute train to Airport. Perfect base to get out and about every day.

Friendly reception staff, got into the room at 2pm. Decent sized, has a lot of UK tv channels on the TV too. Comfy beds etc.

Got B&B so had breakfast, I had eggs and bacon. Food looked fairly expensive for evening meals though, so ate out every day.

Would certainly recommend for anyone wanting a base for a weekend break.

Only downside was that when we put on the air con one day, there was a strong smell of urine (no idea why). The next day it was fine, so don't know what that was about.

Room Tip: Room 601, has decent view of the surrounding areas
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne-FOM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dan R,

We are very pleased to read your very kind and positive review about your stay with us!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post it online.
Hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Bakenam
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews