We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherels
Ranked #10 of 18 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I loved the hospitality and slept beautifully in a serene bedroom with delicious European bedding and that overlooked a garden. Elaborate continental breakfast with croissant and fresh fruit was delivered in a basket to my door each morning. I stayed in the charming Canal House, overlooking a canal, but all the accommodations are convenient in the quaint town of Haarlem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very small B&B but very friendly and helpful proprietors. Right in the center of old town but very quiet lane. All sights were easily walkable from B&B, including the train station. Comfortable bed and large room. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were staying at Wherels's Canal House for 3 nights. The house is really by the canal which is really nice. The location is close to city centre and less than 15mins walk from train station. One thing is that there are a prostitute houses at the alleys behind the house.

The house is cozy and really give a home feeling. We especially like the kitchen that we did cook a meal one night. Since we are 3 people, 2 of us were sleeping on the double bed and one needed to slept at the attic. Finally, nice breakfast was served everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the house next door for a couple of April nights, and it took a while before we started feeling comfortable. The manager was very nice and friendly, and the apartment with patio extremely cute, but we simply weren't used to a place like this - we felt like visiting someone, and that someone was just somewhere (maybe doing groceries), and he/she would be puzzled to come back home and find us, total strangers, there. :-) The first evening was a little funny for this reason, but we slept extremely well, and by the breakfast time we were all thumbs up for this experience. It was like waiting for Santa Clause when we heard the breakfast being delivered in the kitchen! And what a delicious breakfast it was with lots of fruit, fresh juice and excellent cheese and bread and eggs. Only the croissants were a bit too flaky, but that might be just my personal preference.

Wherels had a great location, close to the station as well as the shops and city centre. It was easy to stop by "at home" to have a cup of coffee or to have a little rest from time to time.

We had a rather cold week for our vacation, so the house was quite chilly, too. It was however possible to turn the heat on and have the flat much warmer.

I gave only three stars for the cleanliness, but that doesn't mean that the house wasn't clean, because it was. Everything was just generally a bit scruffy and old. I saw a mouse trap in the kitchen cupboard and sort of couldn't get over it. But it was not set, nor did I see or hear anything else mouse-related, so it was just my fixation. And made me miss my two cats at home! :-D

All in all, I was impressed with the friendliness of staff, the lovely, quiet "home of our own in Holland" and the unique experience. I would definitely prefer this to a sterile mass hotel. Wherels has charm!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Rooms: Great rooms, clean and very spacious. Beds were comfortable and large. There was a shared courtyard which was nice, though we didn't put it to use. We booked both rooms for a family of 5 and felt it was the perfect set up. There were 2 bathrooms which is always convenient when traveling in a large group.

Location: Very convenient if you're traveling by train, it is 5 minutes away from the Haarlem central station. It is more tricky if you are traveling by car. Our navigation system's map was apparently out of date and it kept trying to take us into dead ends and against one way traffic. This was only an issue when we wanted to drive to the front door to drop our luggage off. With that said, if you have a cellphone data connection and use Google Maps, it will easily guide you there (the maps are more up to date). They suggested parking 5 minutes away at the train station, which isn't too much of a hassle. Haarlem is also a much nicer place to stay than Amsterdam - which is extremely over rated in my opinion. Haarlem is quieter, cleaner and has a nicer small town feel to it. Haarlem has all of the features of Amsterdam but without the mess and unpleasantness of being in a big, crowded, noisy and messy city.

Service: Breakfast is nice and our hosts were more than glad to help us look up directions. You can see a picture of the breakfast. There was also washer/dryer available. Internet is fast (!!!) and a joy to use.

Overall I have nothing negative to say about this B&B, and am very glad that we decided to stay there intead another place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gk_terato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Joops City Centre Hotel
Joops City Centre Hotel
#16 of 18 in Haarlem
50 reviews
Centrum
Bed and Breakfast Haarlem 1001 Nacht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
B&B Het Hart van Haarlem
B&B Het Hart van Haarlem
#7 of 18 in Haarlem
10 reviews
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 18 in Haarlem
222 reviews
Boutiquehotel Staats
#6 of 18 in Haarlem
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011 RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range: RM385 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.These cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families. Located in a small street which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem. Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing