We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B close to Haarlem center”
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherels
Ranked #9 of 18 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Els has two nice and well-equipped appartments near the center of Haarlem. It is a quite street, but so close to the shops, restaurants and the railway station, that we didn't used the car during our stay. Els gave us good hints for restaurants, backery and transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hnafets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015

We spent a week at"The House Next Door" and couldn't be happier about the experience! Rieneke was the perfect host and the hse a joy. Each morning breakfast was delivered to our table directly from the bakery and the cheese shop with fresh fruit granola and eggs. He was also very helpful initially with directions, etc. The location was an easy walk to the square and in the other direction, central station. Haarlem was a great place to base our Amsterdam and Keukenhof adventures, and so nice to come home to. I highly recommend Wherels and Haarlem!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I booked Wherels for my partners birthday break and what a fantastic place it was. Full of Dutch charm in a beautiful side street 5 minutes from the station, 5 minutes from the Grote market and town centre. We opted for the continental breakfast, this was delivered promptly at the time requested and was plenty for the 2 of us. Fresh fruit, breads, cold meat and cheeses. All the amenities were very good. The tiny down fall was the very small shower/toilet but no real big issue. Strongly recommend Wherels as an alternative to Zandvoort or Amsterdam. Both places being just a short train ride away on the very good Dutch train service. Many, many thanks to Wherels

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Even though the reviews on here are generally reliable it is always a bit of a gamble trying out a new place. I was on a cycling holiday with friends but only joined the group later in the year when rooms had been booked, and so I had left it a bit late to get a room. Not for the first time I ignored the hotels and looked at B&Bs and was not disappointed with this choice. The lady who runs the B&B could not have been more helpful as I dithered for a while with the booking. From the moment my cycling companion and I arrived I was enchanted with the place. The owner let us put our bikes inside the house which was helpful. We had the 'apartment' which is part of the main house and had a kitchen/seating area, a large bathroom and a double bedded room which opened out on to an internal courtyard. The room was 'cosy' if a little tight on space but the bed was big enough to allow two cycling chums (males) room to sleep without any difficulty!
The bathroom was amazing. A large room with whirlpool bath and a seating area with a shower over the bath. Breakfast, in a separate room overlooking the street, was excellent and the hostess friendly yet unobtrusive.
Outside, the street was narrow enough to be free of traffic and it was very pleasant sat outside on the garden bench, the street overhung with trailing vines, watching the few neighbours, and cats, passing by.
The location was superb. Only a few minutes walk from the central market square with the main church and restaurants. I liked the town. Friendly people. Surprisingly busy, so a good vibrant night life but safe enough to wander about the streets. Would recommend this B&B, especially to couples, and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnKaye1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I loved the hospitality and slept beautifully in a serene bedroom with delicious European bedding and that overlooked a garden. Elaborate continental breakfast with croissant and fresh fruit was delivered in a basket to my door each morning. I stayed in the charming Canal House, overlooking a canal, but all the accommodations are convenient in the quaint town of Haarlem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Boutiquehotel Staats
#3 of 18 in Haarlem
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
B&B Het Hart van Haarlem
B&B Het Hart van Haarlem
#7 of 18 in Haarlem
10 reviews
Centrum
Bed and Breakfast Haarlem 1001 Nacht
Centrum
Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011 RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range: RM 496 - RM 686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.These cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families. Located in a small street which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem. Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing