We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #41 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waasmunster, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We made a reservation but I mixed up dates and so we were one week to early. Unfortunately the hotel was completely booked. We needed 2 rooms and it was about 6 o'clock. The staff was very helpful in finding another hotel in the neighborhood. I can not review the hotel but I experienced that although it was my mistake they did everything possible. Next time i choose this hotel again but will be sure it is on the right day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    733
    226
    64
    32
See reviews for
215
791
115
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

It’s about a 10-15min walk from the Nord Train Station and hence very convenient to get to and from the ariport. But a good 30 min walk from the Grand Place and city centre and that too if you get the route right. But the hotel itself is on a main street, just off the ring, which means it is a 2 min walk to catch the hop on hop off city sightseeing bus. It’s also close to the shopping areas and plenty of restaurants and supermarkets very nearby (its parallel to a pedestrian shopping street). Rooms are big for European standards, very clean and neat. In my room, the bath and toilet were separate. You get nice big towels and some basic bath room accessories like soap, shampoo etc. Free wifi and it works fine! The breakfast is again the regular European fare. Mostly pre-packaged, processed stuff and just some eggs, bacon and potatoes that are freshly cooked and served hot. But, this is the case with most hotels so it’s not a complaint. Staff is friendly and will guide you around and provide you maps, tour recommendations etc, which is very useful. No complaints really and would definitely recommend the place for a short stay, if you don't mind the 30 min walk to the centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliSosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel Marivaux for about 2 weeks and there's really not a lot to complain about. Me and my friend, we stayed in a double room and although the view was non-existent, the room was very clean and the staff very helpful. Wifi was really good comparing to some other hotels and the location was also quite good. The breakfast was OK but sometimes over-crowded and messy. Of course if you're planning to stay in the hotel the whole time, this is not the best choice but for people visiting Brussels for business or just for fun, it's a good one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorzow Wielkopolski, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to people staying in Brussels (especially if they need a good place for sleeping in the Northern part of this city). The hotel is situated in a very :-) interesting district in other words, you can`t be bored :-) ).

The staff is:
- competent,
-kind (they told us, which places are safe, and which ones don`t), and
-very helpful (they, inter alia, helped me to perfectly bound my tie; indicated us good places situated near the the hotel where we could cheap eat a delicious meal).

The food and accomodation:
- quite a large variety of meals;
- rooms are clean and comfortable (the photos presented in the website of the hotel `say the
truth`).
If I come back to Brussels, I will certainly stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I recently stayed overnight in the Marivaux in Brussels on a business trip and found this to be a very nice hotel, within a short walking distance to the main square. Would definately stay again next time I am there for business or pleasure

Room Tip: Harmonie rooms with a kingsize bed are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#29 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 km away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 14 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 14 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.5 km away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Property: Marivaux Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#24 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price range (per night): RM326 - RM773
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing