We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, helpful Hotel”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #51 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We used the Parking option with this hotel. We turned up, where the road outside was very busy. I sent my partner in who came back to advise me to just pull onto the opposite side of the road. This is due to keeping the cycle lanes clear. I pulled in there, double parking, and one of the hotel members of staff came out to take the car away. So after we had taken our bags out of the boot, he took the car away to park it.
The booking in procedure was very simple and the receptionists spoke numerous languages (I over heard them). The room was very spacious and nicely cooled due to the outside temperature being nearly 30 degrees centigrade.
We did not use the hotel for any food but did not hear of any bad reports.

Room Tip: We had an interior room, not sure if you can request an outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Thomas C,
We are very grateful for your 5* review of the Marivaux Hotel, our services and our colleagues! Indeed, we have a valet parking service and we, therefore, park your car for you and keep it safe during your stay :)
We look forward to welcoming you again and hopefully you will have some of our food for either breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Four of us took two twin rooms at the Marivaux as part of a Beer Festival weekend arranged by Beer Junkets. We didn't get the best of starts as neither of the entry cards for the two rooms worked. We met a third party at reception with the same problem.
Once in the room I had, the first impression was "average". A brick wall for a view, microwatt lighting, and a badly cracked wash hand basin.
On the plus side, a free game working safe, minibar, and tea/coffee making facilities. There was ample wardrobe space, the beds were comfortable, and there was a good 40" flatscreen TV with some English channels. The aircon worked and seemed quiet to me. The shower is into the bath, with a plastic curtain. There was some mould around the bath. The hot water was copious and at a good pressure. There was a hair dryer, and shampoo, shower gel etc.
Outside the room, carpets were stained and in need of replacement. The one time I tried the stairs instead of the lift I ended up in a darkened room, feeling around for an exit / light switch. Breakfast was OK, but I can't rave about it. The breakfast area should invest in a coffee making machine. The one time we wanted to try the evening restaurant it was closed (Sunday).
The hotel is well placed for The Grande Place and shopping. Although we used taxis to and from the station, there is a nearby tube station (Rogier) we could have used.
Overall I'm surprised this is still rated as 4 star in a capital city.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Boulevard (I am assuming)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderer14SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Wanderer14SW,
Thank you for your detailed review, which will help other travelers visiting the Marivaux Hotel. We hope you enjoyed the beer festival.
Our hotel being located in the center of Brussels makes for rooms with street or "courtyard" views but a very easy access to the Grand Place and to anywhere in the capital with public transport. We have 3 different room categories with walk in showers and/or bath tubs, a separate toilet (from the bathroom), nespresso coffee machines, etc. Please do not hesitate to mention your preferences for your next booking and we will try and accommodate as best we can.
Wishing you all the best.
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

It's a great hotel, clean, friendly staff and lovely rooms. We stayed in the double room deluxe and it was really nice. Spacious, lovely bathroom and overall just very good. The breakfast was good and the location is great with the shopping street outside of the door.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 12johanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear 12johanw,
Thank you for your great 'detailed but to-the-point' review!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both again in maybe one of our junior suite rooms? :)
All the best and kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Good hotel, large and comfortable room, helpful staff, convenient position.

Just one drawback: breakfast poor in sweet food and without hot milk. Adding more croissants and muffins would be enough to reach a 5-point score.

Anyway, I'd go there again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aska862017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear aska862017,
Thank you for recommending the Hotel Marivaux to future guests and travelers.
I have well noted your suggestion to add more sweet food at breakfast and hope to put this in place for your next stay with us, when you come back :)
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It's a nice hotel. Very central for most attractions. We had a lovely room that was newly renovated. The hotel used the Nuxe brand in their bathrooms which I was very impressed with.My own fault is that the staff in the bar were extremely slow and my husband even had to explain to them how to make a gin and tonic. It's a very common drink so the staff should have known what they were doing.

Room Tip: We requested one of the newly renovated rooms and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Mary D,
Thank you for your review of the Marivaux.
I am glad to read you stayed in one of our newly renovated bedrooms and appreciated our amenities such as the Nuxe bathroom products.
My apologies for the G&T, which isn't part of our specialties but should be very easy to make.
We hope you will visit us again soon in both the Marivaux Hotel and Brasserie Meat Me.
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.8 km away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,985 reviews
0.5 km away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 km away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
2.5 km away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: RM327 - RM723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing