We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Brussels City Centre(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Radisson RED Brussels(Ixelles)(Great Value!)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$175
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,460)
Filter reviews
2,460 results
Traveller rating
933
1,014
352
105
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
933
1,014
352
105
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand placenice hotelexcellent locationshopping arearecommend this hotelrue neuveseparate toiletspacious roomcity centregood sizewi fiminute walktrain stationvisit brusselsstar hotelconvenient locationmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 2,460 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Four of us took two twin rooms at the Marivaux as part of a Beer Festival weekend arranged by Beer Junkets. We didn't get the best of starts as neither of the entry cards for the two rooms worked. We met a third party at reception with the same problem.
Once in the room I had, the first impression was "average". A brick wall for a view, microwatt lighting, and a badly cracked wash hand basin.
On the plus side, a free game working safe, minibar, and tea/coffee making facilities. There was ample wardrobe space, the beds were comfortable, and there was a good 40" flatscreen TV with some English channels. The aircon worked and seemed quiet to me. The shower is into the bath, with a plastic curtain. There was some mould around the bath. The hot water was copious and at a good pressure. There was a hair dryer, and shampoo, shower gel etc.
Outside the room, carpets were stained and in need of replacement. The one time I tried the stairs instead of the lift I ended up in a darkened room, feeling around for an exit / light switch. Breakfast was OK, but I can't rave about it. The breakfast area should invest in a coffee making machine. The one time we wanted to try the evening restaurant it was closed (Sunday).
The hotel is well placed for The Grande Place and shopping. Although we used taxis to and from the station, there is a nearby tube station (Rogier) we could have used.
Overall I'm surprised this is still rated as 4 star in a capital city.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Boulevard (I am assuming)
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderer14SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Wanderer14SW,
Thank you for your detailed review, which will help other travelers visiting the Marivaux Hotel. We hope you enjoyed the beer festival.
Our hotel being located in the center of Brussels makes for rooms with street or "courtyard" views but a very easy access to the Grand Place and to anywhere in the capital with public transport. We have 3 different room categories with walk in showers and/or bath tubs, a separate toilet (from the bathroom), nespresso coffee machines, etc. Please do not hesitate to mention your preferences for your next booking and we will try and accommodate as best we can.
Wishing you all the best.
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

It's a great hotel, clean, friendly staff and lovely rooms. We stayed in the double room deluxe and it was really nice. Spacious, lovely bathroom and overall just very good. The breakfast was good and the location is great with the shopping street outside of the door.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 12johanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear 12johanw,
Thank you for your great 'detailed but to-the-point' review!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both again in maybe one of our junior suite rooms? :)
All the best and kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Good hotel, large and comfortable room, helpful staff, convenient position.

Just one drawback: breakfast poor in sweet food and without hot milk. Adding more croissants and muffins would be enough to reach a 5-point score.

Anyway, I'd go there again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aska862017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear aska862017,
Thank you for recommending the Hotel Marivaux to future guests and travelers.
I have well noted your suggestion to add more sweet food at breakfast and hope to put this in place for your next stay with us, when you come back :)
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It's a nice hotel. Very central for most attractions. We had a lovely room that was newly renovated. The hotel used the Nuxe brand in their bathrooms which I was very impressed with.My own fault is that the staff in the bar were extremely slow and my husband even had to explain to them how to make a gin and tonic. It's a very common drink so the staff should have known what they were doing.

Room Tip: We requested one of the newly renovated rooms and it was lovely
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Mary D,
Thank you for your review of the Marivaux.
I am glad to read you stayed in one of our newly renovated bedrooms and appreciated our amenities such as the Nuxe bathroom products.
My apologies for the G&T, which isn't part of our specialties but should be very easy to make.
We hope you will visit us again soon in both the Marivaux Hotel and Brasserie Meat Me.
Kind regards,
Megan Manin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

From the moment of our arrival we felt welcome at this establishment. The staff were polite and helpful at all times. The room was spacious and immaculate. As one of their newly refurbished "Harmony" rooms, we had 4 great nights sleep in a very comfortable King bed. We looked forward to breakfast each morning as the selection was extensive and satisfying. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and the bathroom amenities are from "Nuxe" in Paris - superbly luxurious. The hotel is well located for accessing the Grand Place via a gentle, flat walk along the major shopping street. We were leaving from Brussels Midi station - an easy walk with no or little luggage. We had more than that and the taxi cost 18 euro - so not bad. The highest compliment to be given to a hotel is "is would you return" - Undoubtedly 'Yes!' - we would stay here again at the drop of a hat during our next trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Director of Sales at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear JnVSydney,
A big thanks to you for your excellent review of the Marivaux Hotel!
Indeed, you have given us the highest compliment we could wish for :)
We do value our central location, and we believe that being polite and helpful, as well as having high standard products are vital in a 4* hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon at the Marivaux and in Brussels.
Till then, we wish you all the best!
Kind regards,
Team Marivaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews