We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable, clean, and friendly place to stay near the city center of Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels
Ranked #15 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed 24 August 2017

First thing's first. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and is more than willing to help. The whole building is newly renovated and is clean and has a modern feel in the way they arranged furniture and painted the walls.

The rooms are basic - this is a youth hostel after all - but spacious and clean. I stayed in a four-bed room (two bunkbeds) with an in-suite bathroom. There were two sinks and the shower with a door in one room, and a separate toilet in another room. You'd have to bring your own towels (or you can rent for a charge), you can't control the shower temperature or water pressure. They provide the linens and comforters, but you'd have to put them on yourself and take them off and throw them in laundry area when you check out.

I brought a group of almost 30 people from the U. S. (17 of them were teenagers), stayed for two nights. We had a great time. I spent an extra night with my family. Very pleasant stay.

The location of the youthhostel is the infamous town of Molenbeek, known to be the home to many European-grown Muslim terrorists and to harbor many of these people. On the contrary to the reputation, it is a town of about 100,000 people, and only about half of them are Muslims, many of them very nice and friendly people. We got lost a little, so we asked a local resident, and he was very friendly and helpful, was willing to walk extra five minutes to show us where we needed to go. As someone who lived in Morocco for a number of years, I right at home in Molenbeek. I could speak Moroccan Arabic with local residents. They were very friendly and hospitable, even inviting me to coffee and treating me to a nice breakfast. Who would do that in the West nowadays? For those with some intercultural competence and interests, the town provides an excellent atmosphere to explore an immigrant community in the heart of Western Europe. There was even a street market on the day we were there where they sold fruits and vegetables at discounted price.

Oh, by the way, this hostel is only 10 minutes in walking distance from the city centre, about 15-20 minutes from Grand Place. For around 20 Euros per day per person, which includes a nice breakfast, you can't really beat that anywhere else. I'd strongly recommend this place to budget travelers who don't mind staying in a predominantly immigrant community of Brussels.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank culturelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Unfortunately finding a place to stay in a camper in Brussels is difficult, so probably you will have to stay there anyway if you want to visit Brussels by camper and stay in the city. So I'll tell you what to be prepared for.

There is a shower, it's free, but it's dirty, it stinks and hottest water it slightly warm. There is a wc at reception, but with just one cabin for men and 2 for women. There is free WiFi, but in reception only. There is breakfast included, it was ok. There are lots of shady immigrants it this district, in the evening most youngsters in this area look like this, so we traveled to center of the city and back by Uber to be safe, though it was close. There is a camper service station. You can print something for free at reception. There are only 5 camper slots, so book in advance. They provide electricity for free. There is a bar with reasonable prices. Call reception in advance to have the gates open, as there is a narrow street and camper will block the traffic while waiting for the gates to open. You can't stop anywhere along the street either to wait for the gates to open, as there are no free parking slots.

We stayed for two nights. On the second night I woke up long after 12 at night as gates opened and about 5 cars arrived. They had some corporate party there. They celebrated some 20 meters from the car park, so my baby and wife woke up and we had some 2 sleepless hours while they shouted.

During the first night the guy at reception was very helpful and friendly. During second night the guy changed and the new guy was rude. While my wife waited to ask help from him he just made coffee for himself not paying attention to her and walked away. My wife said "anybody here" and got a rude response that she must keep silence in the hotel. To remind you it was after they let in a group of drunk people at night to celebrate at the car park. The next time my wife tried to talk to him was when we wanted to leave and I was waiting in the camper for the gates to open. He just chatted over the phone not paying attention to her. So finally she just pressed the button to open the gates herself and we left.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest5785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Stayed here for three nights. The breakfast was very good and there were also cheap meals available in the evening which was very convenient. There are vending machines with snacks and drinks, and free wifi in the rooms. The area is fairly quiet and there are a few small attractions and restaurants in the area. It is a bit out of the way but it is fairly close to a subway station and tram lines. However if you are not able or willing to do a bit of walking it might not be the best.

Everything was quite clean and relaxed. They have a storage room with large lockers if you want to leave your luggage. Staff was nice. The rooms are nice though the lockers are a bit odd; the lock I had brought was too small for the door and the one I bought at reception (there was no option to borrow one unlike in most hostels) cost four euro and was tough to use.

If you are planning on visiting soon and with luggage I would recommend coming here with taxi or public transport rather than walking, some of the main streets nearby are under construction and were tricky to navigate when I first arrived. Of course this will only be the case temporarily.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I spent there 2 nights with my girl-friend in a privat. In the room is everything you need - bed, little wordrobe, table and 2 chairs. We had a privat bathroom, which was really nice surprise for me! :)
All staff was very helpful and friendly.
We have just one funny story from the hostel. Last day we got stuck in the elevator and we were freed after like 10 mins. But we didn´t rush, so we didn´t mind ;)

The neighborhood is OK. Many shops all around. Because we were coming back to the hostel always around 10pm, there were no women to see later in the evening. But it might be because it is a muslim area. Which was a little scary, but no men were making us uncomfortable. So we didn´t mind walking back to hostel so late.

On Sunday there was a Market on a square by the metro station.
If you dont want to walk to the centrum, you can do it easily in 25 mins. Or you can buy a 24hours ticket for 7.20e.

For the breakfast, there is a small selection of food, but it is still enough :) they keep refilling food all the time.
I would totally come back there!

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ivetkama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The hostel is about 20 minute walk from the centre of Brussels. It is locate in an area which was quite intimidating at night however, if you are not alone it was fine.

The hostel was very clean with welcoming staff. We had a private room for two and it as a very comfortable stay. Heating was good and the room was spacious.

They serve good value food in the evenings if your strapped for cash due to the high prices in central Brussels. Breakfast is also free which was a huge bonus of staying at this hostel. Also, free wifi and a communal area with a bar, TV and sofas.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelBelgium, Responsable relations clients at Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi,
thanks for the super nice feedback.
The hostel is in a popular residential district and so there are no many people walking during the night but you just need to do 5 minutes walking and you are in the Canal of Brussels where you have lively places.
Thanks for everything you said in your review, hope to see you again in our hostel :D.
Cheers,
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 km away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,944 reviews
1.7 km away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 145 in Brussels
612 reviews
4.4 km away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 145 in Brussels
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 145 in Brussels
568 reviews
2.3 km away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#9 of 145 in Brussels
333 reviews
1.3 km away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels

Address: Rue de l'Elephant 4, Brussels 1080, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: RM113 - RM481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE.Welcome in Brussels, BE.Welcome in Generation Europe! Our Assets: Free WiFi, free parking, complimentary organic and local buffet breakfast, central but quiet place, good connections to discover the whole city and with delicious Belgian Craft beers… Everything for an affordable price! The Generation Europe Youth Hostel is strategically situated near the Canal of Brussels, at about 15 minutes walking from the Grand’ Place and at about 10 minutes from the Rue Antoine Dansaert and Sainte-Catherine district for the shopping lovers, as well as from the Saint-Géry district for the nightlife. The hostel has a big outdoor space which is a big asset in the centre of the European Capital. Situated in the city of the European comic, don’t miss the big mural panels in the hall of our hostel! What can you find nearby the hostel? - Museums/Art Galleries (Belgian Comic Centre, MIMA, La Fonderie Museum) - Historical sites and main attractions (Grand’ Place, Manneken Pis, Sainte-Catherine) - Nightlife (St-Géry District, VK concerts, Brussels Beer Project) - Restaurants - Shopping Centre/Markets (Rue Neuve and Rue Dansaert – Place de Jeu de Balle) SERVICES & FACILITIES - Reception 24/7 - Room check in is available from 2:00 pm. - Check out before 11:00 am - Free Internet (PCs) and WiFI - Buffet breakfast always included in the overnight (including Local and organic food) - Self-serve kitchen at your disposal - Bar serving everyday fresh Belgian Craft Beer. - Foosball and Pool Table - Outdoor garden – unique in town - Tawels renting (1,50 Eur) - Parking for cars, busses and motorhomes - Lift - Disabled accessible - GREEN KEY Label (ecofriendly) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generation Europe Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing