We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to eat”

L'Estaminet du Kelderke
Ranked #724 of 3,984 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian, French
Description: It is now possible to have a healthy and light dish on the Grand Place of Brussels. In the restaurant “L’Estaminet of Kelderke”, we make daily meals with fresh products. The decor and furnishings are in a sober, but very elegant style. With a pink colour that fits perfectly with the decor of the area. We offer you a very large range of natural products: sandwiches, salads, soups, omelettes, but also Belgian gastronomy: mussels, fresh Turkey, Waterzooi.
Restaurant details
Description: It is now possible to have a healthy and light dish on the Grand Place of Brussels. In the restaurant “L’Estaminet of Kelderke”, we make daily meals with fresh products. The decor and furnishings are in a sober, but very elegant style. With a pink colour that fits perfectly with the decor of the area. We offer you a very large range of natural products: sandwiches, salads, soups, omelettes, but also Belgian gastronomy: mussels, fresh Turkey, Waterzooi.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We wanted to have a small lunch because we had a big dinner planned, so we ordered the soup of the day whisk the waitress recommended. It was a waste of time, took too long even though we were the only table that had ordered. The other two table were already eating. She brought us some good bread and that was it.
The asparagus soup she brought had seven pieces of asparagus in a very thin base that looked and tasted like dish water. When she asked how it was I took a spoonful to show her it was like water, and her response was, it wasn’t a cream soup. With two small glasses of beer we lost 30.00 Euros there

Thank 4historyandculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATGP, Responsable relations clients at L'Estaminet du Kelderke, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you didin't like the food. I will tell the chef for the soup. For the service, the waitress has to wait for the kitchen to prepare the dish
We hope that you will give us another chance
Eloïse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Sorry to say - mediocre food and terrible service. Waited an hour for the starter which was, basically, MEH. Avoid.

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATGP, Responsable relations clients at L'Estaminet du Kelderke, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your answer. I'm sorry to read that you didn't eat well in our restaurant. All the dishes are prepared daily and with fresh products, the chef offers various specialities. We are sorry that you didn't find what pleased you but maybe if you try something else you will love it.
GIve us another chance, you won't be dissapointed.
Eloïse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Came here to have beers and waffles. My daughter ordered waffle with whipped cream ( we wanted fresh fruit, but that was not available). The waffle came and was quite unpalatable. There was a distinctive taste of old oil- as if the waffle had been cooked in a waffle maker greased with old, re-used oil.
Would avoid!!
Beers and ambience ok.

Thank ny_traveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATGP, Responsable relations clients at L'Estaminet du Kelderke, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your daughter's waffle wasn't tasty but you have to know that all our dishes (including waffles) are made daily with fresh products.
We hope that you will give us another chance
Eloïse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Good to know when in Brussels, try to enjoy the sights, food and company. Some comfort food when away from home.

Thank GlobeIcarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATGP, Responsable relations clients at L'Estaminet du Kelderke, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the view while eating in our restaurant.
We can't wait to see you again
Eloïse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

For the food and drinks, We found Kelderke pricey, but good quality. So IF you dont mind the bill, it Will be good and of course as centrally located as possible.

Thank Multis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATGP, Responsable relations clients at L'Estaminet du Kelderke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hello
Thank you for your review. We agree that our prices could be a bit pricey but the restaurant is located on the Grand Place. We hope that you will come back
Eloïse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Estaminet du Kelderke also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to L'Estaminet du Kelderke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing