We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Not at all average. Must-do for the experience, have your own chapel 'at home', not many people can say this. I was prepared for the monastery, and I wasn't disappointed. Just don't expect a lot of luxury, just be a nun or a monk for a while. The location is perfect, and as Ghent is so full of old churches, this hotel does add to this. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a great garden to sit and contemplate or read a book, it was so silent! My room was very silent as well, as it was in the back of the monastery The only noise came from the squeaking wooden floor boards. For me that was not such a problem, as I was upstairs. I don't know how my fellow monks/nuns were feeling about me walking in my room. But I guess it's a bit of give and take in such a peaceful environment.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back or with (real) garden view seem to be a lot more quiet and have their own faciliti...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eli67R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel and city! Our hotel is indeed a former Monastery and therefor unique in its concept, yet not to compare with a standard hotel. This is a very true remark. I would like to thank you once again and hopefully we will welcome you again one day!

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is settled in the city center and it's a really good point.
Unfortunately our room was full of mosquitos and we heard all the noises from the other room (walking, speaking, using shower and bathroom). We spent there 2 nights and we couldn't sleep at all.
This hotel is in a great building. It should be restructured and then it could became wonderful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank RobertaTorino_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Regarding the mosquitos: we have provided all the rooms with anti-mosquito equipment. Unfortunately this vermin is very hard to tackle during the summer, but nevertheless we do all we can. As for the renovation remark: the hotel has recently been left over to new owners, and they have started to renovate the hotel gradually. This will take time, but hopefully you will enjoy the newly renovated hotel once again some time! Anyhow, your opinion is valuable to us in order to achieve this goal.

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Whether you are religious or not, this is a experience that you can consider, taking a glimps of what a monastery is. The simplicity , basic accommodation. For me and mycmother it was a reminder of how little we need to be happy and it showed us again how rich we are.
We had a friendly welcome and were provided with information in a sincere way. The monastery breathes peace, patience and humbleness. A walking distance from the town center. Overall we were happy that we had the experience, of both the beautifull friendly city of Gent as of the Monastey, which gave us a beautifull time.

Room Tip: Rooms are avialable from basic up till luxurious, all in Monastery style. As is was.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinsiemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Dear guest,

How nice of you to comment us in such positive words! We are ever so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and our city. Who knows, maybe we'll welcome you again one day. Be welcome!

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Being a solo traveller on a budget I opted for a small room in the old part of the monastery that had previously housed the nuns. The room was tiny (as advised) with a comfortable bed, wash basin, desk and chair. 2 tall Windows provided light and fresh air. Through the open window I could hear a pianist giving a concert in the chapel opposite.
Shared bathrooms and toilet were available a little way down the hall.
This hotel is well located just a short walk to town and tram stops etc. there is a small supermarket nearby. Hotel staff were very helpful and informative.
Ironically I opted to stay in Ghent to avoid the crowds in Bruges but happened to visit during the annual 10 day Ghent festival, very busy and noisy but lively and interesting too.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julies27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2016

Dear guest,

Thanks ever so much for your time to share this review. Indeed, if you are looking for a 'quiet' Ghent, please avoid the 'Gentse Feesten' ;-)

Kind regards,

Jordi Blanchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

An old nunnery saved from ruin and turned into a hotel. The new repurposed building was graced with minimalistic interior design that kept the base elements of its initial purpose: the rooms are small, have flat screen TVs and new bath appliances, but also exposed old wooded structural bars, low doors and old hinges. It has a nice, quite yard. The main chapel was transformed into a dining room, where they have wedding receptions.
The entire place is quaint and quite. Great night sleep. In walking distance from the main attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you had a great time. We are always at your service and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Jordi Blanchard
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.9 km away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#27 of 37 in Ghent
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel de Flandre
Hotel de Flandre
#23 of 37 in Ghent
624 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#16 of 37 in Ghent
556 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: RM382 - RM714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing