We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Cathedral(Ghent)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Onderbergen(Ghent)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Erasmus(Ghent)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Onderland(Ghent)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
45
123
84
53
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
123
84
53
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryunique atmosphereshared bathroombeautiful chapelatmospheric hotelcity centrewedding partysingle bedshower and toiletloved this hotelrooms are smallenjoyed my staystayed for one nightquiet streetnunsorphanageconference
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is settled in the city center and it's a really good point.
Unfortunately our room was full of mosquitos and we heard all the noises from the other room (walking, speaking, using shower and bathroom). We spent there 2 nights and we couldn't sleep at all.
This hotel is in a great building. It should be restructured and then it could became wonderful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank RobertaTorino_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Regarding the mosquitos: we have provided all the rooms with anti-mosquito equipment. Unfortunately this vermin is very hard to tackle during the summer, but nevertheless we do all we can. As for the renovation remark: the hotel has recently been left over to new owners, and they have started to renovate the hotel gradually. This will take time, but hopefully you will enjoy the newly renovated hotel once again some time! Anyhow, your opinion is valuable to us in order to achieve this goal.

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Whether you are religious or not, this is a experience that you can consider, taking a glimps of what a monastery is. The simplicity , basic accommodation. For me and mycmother it was a reminder of how little we need to be happy and it showed us again how rich we are.
We had a friendly welcome and were provided with information in a sincere way. The monastery breathes peace, patience and humbleness. A walking distance from the town center. Overall we were happy that we had the experience, of both the beautifull friendly city of Gent as of the Monastey, which gave us a beautifull time.

Room Tip: Rooms are avialable from basic up till luxurious, all in Monastery style. As is was.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinsiemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Dear guest,

How nice of you to comment us in such positive words! We are ever so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and our city. Who knows, maybe we'll welcome you again one day. Be welcome!

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Being a solo traveller on a budget I opted for a small room in the old part of the monastery that had previously housed the nuns. The room was tiny (as advised) with a comfortable bed, wash basin, desk and chair. 2 tall Windows provided light and fresh air. Through the open window I could hear a pianist giving a concert in the chapel opposite.
Shared bathrooms and toilet were available a little way down the hall.
This hotel is well located just a short walk to town and tram stops etc. there is a small supermarket nearby. Hotel staff were very helpful and informative.
Ironically I opted to stay in Ghent to avoid the crowds in Bruges but happened to visit during the annual 10 day Ghent festival, very busy and noisy but lively and interesting too.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julies27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2016

Dear guest,

Thanks ever so much for your time to share this review. Indeed, if you are looking for a 'quiet' Ghent, please avoid the 'Gentse Feesten' ;-)

Kind regards,

Jordi Blanchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

An old nunnery saved from ruin and turned into a hotel. The new repurposed building was graced with minimalistic interior design that kept the base elements of its initial purpose: the rooms are small, have flat screen TVs and new bath appliances, but also exposed old wooded structural bars, low doors and old hinges. It has a nice, quite yard. The main chapel was transformed into a dining room, where they have wedding receptions.
The entire place is quaint and quite. Great night sleep. In walking distance from the main attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you had a great time. We are always at your service and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Jordi Blanchard
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 22 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews