We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a unique experience staying in a real monastic cell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I booked it for 2 nights, but since my connected flight got delayed and I spent night in a city of my connection - I arrived one day late. My booking got somehow updated, when I tried to notify the hotel about my delay, and I was pleasantly surprised, when I only got charged for 1 night at the check-out.
My room (cell) was very small, but that was per my expectations anyway; I liked it. Shower and toilet rooms were clean and available whenever I needed them, despite the hotel was fully booked according to the posting at the front door.
You may want to have breakfast in the hotel as dining room's interior looks like a nave in a church, divided by columns of pseudo-gothic style - an experience not available elsewhere in Ghent, per my knowledge; although 17.5 Euros for breakfast looks bit too expensive to me.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander_random
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Not happy at all.
I got a room in the detached building, very poorly furmotured, there were some strange stains, the shower was broken and spilled water everywhere. Linoleum in the small bathroom. The kettle for the the was dirty. Breakfast at 17 Euro but nothing special, I could make the because I was not able to find a clean teapot.
Only good point the location, near the city center.
I will never ever return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I booked a standard room well in advance in his hotel. I wasn't expecting luxury but honestly, the state of the room I was allocated was so poor I left and went somewhere else. I made my views clear to the management and have told them that the room is not fit for public letting. I believe some rooms have been refurbished. MIne clearly hadn't been decorated for many years. The carpet was so awful yo wouldn't want to walk on it without shoes. Hotels in Ghent are pricey, but I think it's worth paying a little extra to avoid this one.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms were organised for us as part of a work meeting. The monastery is in the heart of Ghent. The rooms, while dated, were functional and comfortable. I thought it was a lovely and unique experience, and while not a 5 star experience, at these prices, it was excellent value for money.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Annie Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

a very charming authentic convent from 1200. tucked away from the streets, gardens, comfortable simple rooms. Breakfast is E17.00/p/p huge buffet selection, you can even make a sandwich snack for later! Conveniently located to all the sites walking distance.
Funny little bar area that needs a bit more ambience.....Restaurant not always open.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviannethesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.9 km away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#28 of 37 in Ghent
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel de Flandre
Hotel de Flandre
#22 of 37 in Ghent
624 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#16 of 37 in Ghent
556 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: RM382 - RM713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing