We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Gent Belfort(Ghent)
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cathedral(Ghent)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Adoma(Ghent)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KaBa Hostel(Ghent)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
509
148
15
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
148
15
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram ticketstwo brotherstrain stationmade to order eggsfresh orange juicesmall hotelcity centrerooms are spaciousquiet side streetminute walkfriendly hoteltram servicetriple roombath and showerst pietersincluded breakfastwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

I had only one complain about this hotel - I slept too well! Excellent hotel, clean quiet and very customer service at a very high level.
Huge room, nice long bed and windows you could open to full. Two good chairs, coffeemaker, cookies and two bottles of water.
Breakfast of good quality and well served by the very friendly staff.
Jeffrey at the check in told us about Gent, where to eat, what to watch and how to get there, and even "sold" us tram/bus tickets at a fair price.
The hotel is half an hour walk along the canalside from downtown or 10min with the tram.
Jeffrey is very knowing about Gent and much more serviceminded than you can expect from a hotel staff.
We had booked a parking at the hotel garage and you can leave the car there after check out, and get it later in the day. Excellent service. Well done Hotel Carlton -your staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The location is very near to the Ghent St-Pieters railway station and the number 1 tram to the city centre.
Our room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. There is free water, which is replenished every day, plus a kettle with tea/coffee. Wi-fi service is excellent and secure.
The breakfast was one of the best we`ve ever had, with a very good selection of fresh & dried fruits, cheese, ham, pastries, etc., Cooked items are all made to order and are of very high quality.
As others have said, it is very convenient that the hotel keeps a supply of the "10 journey" transport tickets for sale.
The only negative for us was the lack of an in-room safe.

The ambience at the hotel is really great, with friendly and helpful staff. Congratulations to the owners!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was clean and modern. The rooms are updated and have everything you could need. It is close to the train station. What stood out was the customer service. Everyone was very friendly and proud of their city. We were given lots of information and a map. We asked about a launderette and they offered to do our laundry for us. Super convenient when on a 26 day trip. It was done within a few hours and folded very nicely. We mostly dealt with two brothers who were funny and personable. We will not forget your generosity, thank you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Carlton. It is a small hotel and not noisy. Room is clean and with strong wifi. Staff is helpful and they provide tram tickets. It is just a 5 minutes walk to the Main Station. The tram stop is also nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sllim2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

I stayed at the Carlton for a long weekend with my son as we were doing the Tour of Flanders (Ronde van Vlaanderen) - a cycle event for those of you who aren't aware. Many of the other guests (and indeed visitors to Ghent and nearby) were cyclists as the event is pretty big.
I'd say this was one of the friendliest and best-run hotels I've stayed at in many years. The owners went out of their way to help when I had a couple of problems that needed some help to resolve with my car. Nothing was too much trouble.
As for the hotel itself, rooms are a good size - pretty big compared with most places; the little bar area at the front is cozy and they serve a selection of good Belgian beer at very reasonable prices and the breakfast is fabulous.
We found parking wasn't a problem even though it was city centre.
I hope to come back next year to do the same event and will definitely aim to book this place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WinchesterBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews