We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place”
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huis Koning
Ranked #1 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Lynn and Peter are incredible hosts. Their B&B is immaculately clean and modern. The food was amazing and every day there was a wonderful treat waiting for us. Their B&B is located close to the center of town. I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Select the room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelastexit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had such a lovely long weekend stay here. From the beautiful spotless surroundings, fantastic breakfasts and unexpected home baking gifts in our rooms we couldn't fault it. A massive thanks to our hosts Lynn & Peter for making our first stay in Bruge so wonderful - we will be back!!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

What a beautiful place to stay in Bruges! We stayed for a special birthday and couldn't have chosen a nicer place; a charming old building, beautifully restored, lovely facilities and everything so nicely presented. Our very warm welcome from Lynn consisted of freshly made coffee, home made sugar waffles and a very informative description of the city, restaurants, a guide book to use during our stay and an explanation of our rooms facilities.

We stayed in Augustijn, at the front of the building; huge windows, lots of space, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed, loads of storage space too. Each time we came back to our room in the afternoon it had been well cleaned, re-stocked and there was also a home made treat waiting for us; muffins one day, minced pies with apple and for the last day, chocolate mouse - lovely! And on the special birthday itself, a small chocolate cake with a candle at breakfast and a bottle of wine, some nuts and a balloon in our room with a card; it's the little, personal touches that make Huis Koning stand out from the crowd.

Breakfast was great and so nice to be served at a reasonable time, from 9am to 11am. I remember staying at a previous B&B elsewhere when breakfast stopped being served at 9am! A good selection of cheeses, meats and pates with home made bread, about 3 types each day, pastries, small homemade cakes or waffles, fresh fruit salad, muesli, conserves, honey, eggs if you like, fresh coffee and freshly squeezed juice which arrived straight out of the orange within a few seconds of you sitting down.
Peter came around to say hello and also we saw the children a couple of times; so nice to see people that seemed genuinely pleased to have you stay in their home and wanting to ensure you had a good stay.

The house is lovely, and you feel a sense of the history of the place, but it is also stylishly finished without diminishing the atmosphere. Lynn clearly loves decorating and the home was filled with Christmas garlands, twinkling lights, candles, tealights and felt so welcoming. There is some great artwork too.

Bruges itself is beautiful but so, so crowded - you, of course, have to see all the famous sights but steer clear of the shopping streets (I never really understand why people travel to somewhere so nice and then just go into ordinary shops that you can find in any city, any where). You are only 5 minutes walk from the centre. The Christmas markets were 90% tacky, touristy stuff or places to buy food/drink, with 1 or 2 nice stalls selling local items. We took a lovely walk away from the crowds (walk #3 in Lynn's guide book!), along the canals to the windmills and it was so nice to be able to amble and absorb the history without being bashed and pushed from all sides! A boat trip is really worth it; an inexpensive 30 minutes and very informative and so nice to see the buildings from a different perspective. Must climb the Belfort; a bit of an effort (366 steps) but worth it and there are places to catch your breath on the way up!

Huis Koning is a lovely place to stay in the winter and I imagine the summer, with breakfast served in the small canal side garden, would be lovely too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and they are all lovely. Augustijn is at the front of the building but the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here the weekend before Christmas. Bruges at Christmas is definitely worth a visit and this place makes the holiday extra special!

We stayed 3 nights in the 'De Kelk' room on the top floor. It's very spacious, the bed is massive, you get a sofa and curved TV with a good selection of channels in English. There's even a coffee maker with the capsules which get replenished each day! The bathroom is large too, with a deep bath and walk-in rainshower. We were also provided with a set of mini L'Occitaine toiletries which was a nice touch.

The B&B is situated about 5 minutes walk to the main market square and absolutely everything in Bruges is within walking distance. When you get back from a long day in the city, there is a nice handmade treat waiting for you - We had mince pies, chocolate mousse and cookies - Very tasty!

Breakfast is provided each day between 9 and 11 but I believe there is flexibility there if you can't manage that window. The food was fantastic. A continental breakfast buffet is available plus eggs cooked to order however you want them!

Our room was ready by 2pm on the day of arrival and we checked out by 11am on the day of departure. We could also leave our luggage there whilst we had another day in the city before departing in the evening.

Another nice touch from Lynn and Peter - My girlfriend and I got engaged during our stay and they provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine as a congratulations.

In summary, this place was pretty special and I definitely recommend to anyone considering going to Bruges to stay in this Bed and Breakfast.

Thank you Lynn and Peter for making our visit extra special!

Room Tip: The 'De Kelk' room is very spacious and has all the luxuries to make this a very special hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappers1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

If you are reading this and trying to decide whether you should stay at Huis Koning, I would suggest that you go and book it before someone else does, then come back here to read the accolades. They're all true. Lynn and Peter have a beautiful house, are the best hosts, and they made our stay in Bruges a memorable one. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Book the De Kelk room up in the eaves on the top floor. It's pretty special.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 63Lambretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.9 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
472 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 231 in Bruges
618 reviews
0.2 km away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
0.5 km away
De Goede 13 B&B
De Goede 13 B&B
#2 of 231 in Bruges
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: RM 638 - RM 880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis Koning 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing