We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Golden tree hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Botaniek Hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bryghia Hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Marcel(Bruges)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
757
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate moussehomemade breadter reieevery afternoonbath saltsdelicious treatsperfect hostsfreshly squeezed orange juicewatching the ducksguide bookquiet canaleggs made to orderrain showerb bscoffee machineroom overlooking the canalrecommended restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had such a lovely long weekend stay here. From the beautiful spotless surroundings, fantastic breakfasts and unexpected home baking gifts in our rooms we couldn't fault it. A massive thanks to our hosts Lynn & Peter for making our first stay in Bruge so wonderful - we will be back!!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

What a beautiful place to stay in Bruges! We stayed for a special birthday and couldn't have chosen a nicer place; a charming old building, beautifully restored, lovely facilities and everything so nicely presented. Our very warm welcome from Lynn consisted of freshly made coffee, home made sugar waffles and a very informative description of the city, restaurants, a guide book to use during our stay and an explanation of our rooms facilities.

We stayed in Augustijn, at the front of the building; huge windows, lots of space, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed, loads of storage space too. Each time we came back to our room in the afternoon it had been well cleaned, re-stocked and there was also a home made treat waiting for us; muffins one day, minced pies with apple and for the last day, chocolate mouse - lovely! And on the special birthday itself, a small chocolate cake with a candle at breakfast and a bottle of wine, some nuts and a balloon in our room with a card; it's the little, personal touches that make Huis Koning stand out from the crowd.

Breakfast was great and so nice to be served at a reasonable time, from 9am to 11am. I remember staying at a previous B&B elsewhere when breakfast stopped being served at 9am! A good selection of cheeses, meats and pates with home made bread, about 3 types each day, pastries, small homemade cakes or waffles, fresh fruit salad, muesli, conserves, honey, eggs if you like, fresh coffee and freshly squeezed juice which arrived straight out of the orange within a few seconds of you sitting down.
Peter came around to say hello and also we saw the children a couple of times; so nice to see people that seemed genuinely pleased to have you stay in their home and wanting to ensure you had a good stay.

The house is lovely, and you feel a sense of the history of the place, but it is also stylishly finished without diminishing the atmosphere. Lynn clearly loves decorating and the home was filled with Christmas garlands, twinkling lights, candles, tealights and felt so welcoming. There is some great artwork too.

Bruges itself is beautiful but so, so crowded - you, of course, have to see all the famous sights but steer clear of the shopping streets (I never really understand why people travel to somewhere so nice and then just go into ordinary shops that you can find in any city, any where). You are only 5 minutes walk from the centre. The Christmas markets were 90% tacky, touristy stuff or places to buy food/drink, with 1 or 2 nice stalls selling local items. We took a lovely walk away from the crowds (walk #3 in Lynn's guide book!), along the canals to the windmills and it was so nice to be able to amble and absorb the history without being bashed and pushed from all sides! A boat trip is really worth it; an inexpensive 30 minutes and very informative and so nice to see the buildings from a different perspective. Must climb the Belfort; a bit of an effort (366 steps) but worth it and there are places to catch your breath on the way up!

Huis Koning is a lovely place to stay in the winter and I imagine the summer, with breakfast served in the small canal side garden, would be lovely too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and they are all lovely. Augustijn is at the front of the building but the street is not busy at all.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here the weekend before Christmas. Bruges at Christmas is definitely worth a visit and this place makes the holiday extra special!

We stayed 3 nights in the 'De Kelk' room on the top floor. It's very spacious, the bed is massive, you get a sofa and curved TV with a good selection of channels in English. There's even a coffee maker with the capsules which get replenished each day! The bathroom is large too, with a deep bath and walk-in rainshower. We were also provided with a set of mini L'Occitaine toiletries which was a nice touch.

The B&B is situated about 5 minutes walk to the main market square and absolutely everything in Bruges is within walking distance. When you get back from a long day in the city, there is a nice handmade treat waiting for you - We had mince pies, chocolate mousse and cookies - Very tasty!

Breakfast is provided each day between 9 and 11 but I believe there is flexibility there if you can't manage that window. The food was fantastic. A continental breakfast buffet is available plus eggs cooked to order however you want them!

Our room was ready by 2pm on the day of arrival and we checked out by 11am on the day of departure. We could also leave our luggage there whilst we had another day in the city before departing in the evening.

Another nice touch from Lynn and Peter - My girlfriend and I got engaged during our stay and they provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine as a congratulations.

In summary, this place was pretty special and I definitely recommend to anyone considering going to Bruges to stay in this Bed and Breakfast.

Thank you Lynn and Peter for making our visit extra special!

Room Tip: The 'De Kelk' room is very spacious and has all the luxuries to make this a very special holiday!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappers1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

If you are reading this and trying to decide whether you should stay at Huis Koning, I would suggest that you go and book it before someone else does, then come back here to read the accolades. They're all true. Lynn and Peter have a beautiful house, are the best hosts, and they made our stay in Bruges a memorable one. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Book the De Kelk room up in the eaves on the top floor. It's pretty special.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 63Lambretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

On a quiet street, a short walk to Bruges Markt, Lynn and Peter warmly welcome you into their beautiful home. Stunning artwork, interesting artefacts and the glow of candlelight entice you into this historic jewel on the canal. Our warm and comfortable room had a wonderful roofscape view including the marvellous St.Jacob's Church and a very stylish en suite with rain shower. Each day, home baked goodies were left for us to enjoy with a coffee after some serious shopping. So thoughtful. An excellent bed and quality linen ensured a good night's sleep. In the morning, the aroma of fresh coffee encourages breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice is presented together with a wonderful selection of continental meats, cheese and homemade bread. Yoghurt, fruit and patisserie are on display and Lynn prepares perfect eggs how you like them. Huis Koning is superb and Lynn and Peter have made it so. We thank them for their kind and generous hospitality and for sharing their gorgeous home.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendytridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews