We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had a long weekend here, and had a wonderful time. The staff were great, the decor was beautiful and the facilities were brilliant. Photos of the bar don't do it justice, there a lots of small rooms with comfy seats. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel has a traditional style but feels new and clean and well taken care of. About the worst thing we could say about it is that there was no HP sauce for breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the old wing, with lovely high ceilings, rather than the new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwak_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,238 - 2,242 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel stays with me as one of the warmest hotels I've ever stayed at. I believe, if my memory serves me correctly, it is only rated 4 star as it does not have a laundry list of amenities (lovely vault gym in the stone cellar though) - but it is a beautiful hotel with a little bit of soul.

When in Bruges, do stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_Besan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here over New Year, and it was a wonderful experience. The building is impressive, and the interior is luxurious yet warm and welcoming. The staff is very attentive and the location is fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Yes, it is true what other reviewers have said, the hotel really is in the best location for exploring all of Bruges.

Big, luxurious rooms, the worlds comfiest pillows and beds, big tv on the wall and well laid out bathroom with all toileteries provided. It's the other little things as well that make all the difference.....free internet use near reception, free sauna, steam room and gym (Watch out though, we walked in the steam room on the second day and there was a big fat naked German in there......totally out of order....my wife almost fainted after having a too good eyeful)

Good, well stocked mini bar at very reasonable prices and an easy to use safe provided. Bruges is very expensive and the restaurants are very hit and miss. We managed to get a table at Cambrinus, which was always heaving. Excellent meal at decent price with huge selection of beers. The male staff are very good and will recommend beers if asked. Female staff are a bit surly and don't seem to be enjoying their jobs too much.

What to do in Bruges? To be honest, you can do pretty much everything in one full day. We climbed the tower (366 steps, it is a killer on the thighs) we also did the obligatory boat ride around the canals, which was very good value at 7 euros for 30 minutes. There are also some lovely green parks to explore where only horse and carts are allowed (horse and cart at 30 euros for 30 minutes is not good value)

Loads and loads of chocolate shops and waffle bars as you would expect, all very helpful and friendly whichever one you visit.

All in all then, a beautiful place to visit, easy to get to (we took our car on the train from Folkstone to Calais and then drove to Bruges which is about 90 minutes through nice scenery on empty main road) on the way back, we visited the Dunkerque museam and then had a quick whizz down to St Omer to have a wander around the place (La Coupel) where the Germans used to launch V2 rockets over to London. Great visit but quite harrowing at the same time

Room Tip: If you want to fall out of your room and straight in reception, book rooms 2008/2009
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and had a good rate from booking a deal with Railbookers.

If you like small intimate hotels this is probably not for you but we found it an excellent warm comfy base from which to explore the beautiful city of Brugge and really is an impressive building near the centre of the city.

Our room was large with a very good bed and a spacious bathroom with both shower and bath. The TV had sufficient English channels to occupy us while warming up from a walk (Mid Feb in Brugge was very cold).

The breakfast included in our deal was very good and came with a complementary glass of Cava. If you haven't got breakfast included you may think it a bit pricey.

The bar was stunning with a number of large high ceilinged rooms, well spaced tables with comfortable arm chairs, very attentive staff and surprisingly reasonable prices for Brugge. The music played was inoffensive jazz, "nice", at a sensible volume.

We will book here again when we visit Brugge

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,284 reviews
0.1 km away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.2 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: RM594 - RM1,532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing