We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Bruges base”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
131 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 131 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Randall B
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Bruges base”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our third Christmas stay at the Red House and even some weather imported from England couldn't spoil it. The house has all the modern facilities we needed plus a lovely double bedroom on the top floor with views across the city. The restaurants in the beautiful city are so good that home cooking isn't really necessary, but we produced an excellent venision Xmas dinner in the well-equipped kitchen. No more than 10 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges, a handful of cosy pubs just a few minutes away, plus a secure gated garage just around the corner. What more could you want . Very professional and friendly English owner, so no problem with currency conversion re payment. Why pay daft hotel prices when you can rent a home from such as this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and closeness to city centre
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights between Xmas and new year with our daughter and son who were home for Xmas from uni and work.

The accommodation was excellent, super comfy beds, efficient central heating and hot water, quality fittings and fixtures down to thoughtfully provided large umbrellas which we made good use of on one of the rather wet days! The weather didn't dampen our spirits though Bruges was beautiful despite one rainy day.

Would recommend the cellars bar as somewhere unusual and with great atmosphere (and walking distance from the red house). We also had a very good value three course late lunch at Gastro which is adjacent to the fish market. Eating out is expensive in Bruges but would recommend here as well priced and nice quality.

Hope to,return and stay a little longer so we could explore further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property and excellent location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diddyann
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic house - wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed in this lovely house for two nights with family including two young children. We found the house to be very well equipped and comfortable and felt at home straight away. We particularly liked the personal finishing touches such as the Christmas decorations and the wall art in the little outside area. It was really good to be able to stay so close to the centre of Bruges but far enough away to feel "part of the local family" We all wished we could have stayed longer as there is so much to see and do but it would also have been nice to have spent more time just "chilling" in this perfect house. We would love to come back here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort.
Liked least: just the rain!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: More space for rubbish/ recycling would have been better
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ralph F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A warm retreat”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Just returned from another delightful stay in the Red House. It was great to be so close to everything- 5 mins to the shops/restuarants on the Langestraat and yet in a really quiet location by the folkmuseum. The house , which has been sympathetically restored by the owners, was warm, comfortable and well equipped...even down to dishwasher tablets and English tea bags! We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance of open plan living area
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$82
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing