We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home but better! A-Mazing!”
Review of Canal Deluxe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Deluxe B&B
Ranked #8 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maynooth, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home but better! A-Mazing!”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had an absolutely amazing time in bruges mainly because of staying in such a great place! This is not any old B&B this is Canal Deluxe B&B! The rooms aren't really rooms they are more a little house and are delightfully decked out!

The place is hugely romantic and Tine and Luc were great hosts! I actually proposed to my now fiancee in our little house at Canal Deluxe and it was the perfect location with its open hearth and rustic setting. The whole family helped us out when we were trying to get around both Bruges and when we headed off to Antwerp ring shopping!

Check out Tine's restaurant in Bruges - Pergola! She was so modest she didn't even mention it was her place, we only found out through Luc! Amazing food - we do a lot of eating out and a bit of haute cuisine too and this was right down our street, hands down I've got to say it was the best meal I have ever had - very clever thoughtful food all four courses. Also unlike some restaurants with the same quality of food it wasn't stuffy or pretentious but warm and lovely and the staff were so down to earth and a good chat too! (much like Tine) If your on your holidays and you want to treat yourself go here (you won't leave disappointed).

Overall lovely place, lovely people, they couldn't do enough! Thanks Guys loved it and we're coming back soon!!! 10/10 -Loved this place- couldn't have done any better!

btw a side note for all you lads who are thinking about popping the question head to Antwerp to buy your diamonds! - serious value for your cash - go to the cutters not the retail outlets you can make serious purchases for less! Get organised you will need to contact these guys for an appointment before you go and week days are best but they do weekends too!

Room Tip: There are only 2! We were in Euphrasie we chose it because it has a lovely little bathroom with a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyF6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine H, Owner at Canal Deluxe B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Nice to hear that our suites inspire people to pop the 'big question'. And what a ring ! ! It looked marvelous on the finger of your girlfriend. You were both lovely guests and the pleasure was all ours to look after you. Thank you for recommending the Pergola restaurant. Glad you enjoyed it !
And next time...don't forget these running shoes !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
391
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed two nights at Canal Deluxe--as others have said, it is spectacular. The location is perfect (with easy reasonably priced parking and walking to everything), the home and room is romantic, elegant, perfectly appointed down to every detail, private, relaxing. Tine and Luc and Sylvia were as warm, helpful, professional, and inviting as anyone could ask for. To top it off, breakfast was amazing both days. We can't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Our room had a double circular staircase with the bedroom upstairs, living room on main floor (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine H, Owner at Canal Deluxe B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review...and what a review ! Nice to hear you have wonderful memories of Canal Deluxe. Suite Euphrasie has indeed a spiral staircase that might cause a problem for elderly people but Suite Eugène has only got one floor with an easy stairway.
Looking forward meeting you again whenever in Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a two nights stay at Canal Deluxe and it genuinely lived up to it's name.

From the moment we checked in early in the morning to the time we left we were welcomed with warm open arms. Tine was a magnificent host. She told us all about Bruges, where to visit, eat and enjoy all of what Bruges has to offer.

The accommodation was first class, which consisted of two rooms - a ground floor lounge and first floor bedroom and bathroom. The lounge was tastefully furnished with a wondering roaring open log fire and view of a canal.

Up the wooden stairs to a glorious loft style bedroom with a mammoth comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. The only down side was having to leave the bed - it was so good.

Breakfast was a tasty spread of pastries, breads, cheese, cold meats, fruit, cereal and made to order crepes and omelettes... need I say anything else. However, the best part was Tine served it when we wanted it and as we're not early, early risers it was a wonderful treat for us.

A truly wonderful experience for us and we both hope to return next year in 2012. Highly recommended and I wish Tine all the best success for the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladypergola, Owner at Canal Deluxe B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
How wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was a real pleasure meeting you.
Thank you for taking your time to write this marvelous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This B&B was wonderful. We were looking for a place to stay which was romantic & quirky. We were very very happy with our choice and it was as far away from chain hotels as you can get. Very relaxed atmosphere, as all the other reviews have mentioned Tine was very accommodating, warm and relaxed. The "room" itself was huge definitely more of an apartment as it was on three levels & each room has been stylishly designed. The fireplace amazing and all the extra touches made it a very pleasant stay - although much too short! Thank you so much for such a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladypergola, Owner at Canal Deluxe B&B, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for making the effort to write on Tripadvisor. And hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a very brief but lovely trip to Bruges, and decided to opt for a night at the Canal Deluxe. It was the best decision we could have made! Tine was so welcoming and accommodating for any need we had (e.g. check in time, dairy-free breakfast, etc.). The most appealing part for me was the roaring fireplace which was a welcome treat after a cold day in Bruges! We had a beautiful living room, bedroom and bathroom, all elegantly decorated and equipped with every amenity you could hope for. It was so close to the market squares and it was overlooking the canal (hence the name!) which I imagine would be wonderful to view from the terrace in the summer. There's no other place we would stay if we came back to Bruges!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladypergola, Owner at Canal Deluxe B&B, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking your time to write a review...it was nice meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.7 km away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#4 of 231 in Bruges
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Deluxe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Deluxe B&B

Property: Canal Deluxe B&B
Address: Moerstraat 24, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price range (per night): RM826 - RM942
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Deluxe B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Canal Deluxe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing