We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go in expecting to learn loads about the history of Brugge”
Review of Historium Brugge

Historium Brugge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.64*
and up
Bruges Historium Ticket with Audio Guide
Ranked #36 of 158 things to do in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your visit to Bruges in the Historium: a wonderful historical-experience attraction that takes you back in time to the Golden Age of Bruges. Cinematic sets, with music and special effects, propel you into a love story, based on Jan Van Eyck’s painting ‘Virgin and Child with Canon van der Paele'. For anyone who wants a taste of virtual reality: the VR Experience takes you on a virtual tour of medieval Bruges. You travel back in time and get to explore the historical city interactively. The Historium is housed in a historical building on the market square, where the Waterhalle once stood. The Waterhalle was the central shipping entrepot of the thriving mercantile centre Bruges. Bruges was renowned for its luxury textiles and clothing. But the art of Bruges was also highly prized: precious metals, manuscripts, miniatures and of course, the painted panels of Flemish Primitives, such as Hans Memling and Jan van Eyck. In the attraction and the VR Experience, the Waterhalle is superbly reconstructed. You can follow the story in your own language on an audio guide (10 languages). After your visit, you can enjoy a nice Belgian beer or other refreshments in the Duvelorium Grand Beer Cafe... with a panoramic view on the market square. Historium Brugge is open daily from 10h00 a.m. – 6h00 p.m. (tickets until 5h00 p.m.). Accessible for all ages – Family Trail included. Audio guides in 10 different languages.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Maybe we didn't pay enough attention, but we thought this was an interactive museum about the history of Brugge. However, you pay 14-20€ to watch an interactive video through different rooms that tells you a story. Then, after the interactive part you can listen to the audio guide and read on your own a few more details about Brugge. But this is not a history museum. Although original and cool for the kids, in my opinion it's not worth the money at all, you can pay less and go to a good museum. ‎

Thank Ccristina_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentCool1435, Manager at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Cristina,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.
As we try to make The Historium better every day we will take your reaction in consideration. We hope you had a lovely stay in our beautiful city.

Kind Regards

Laurent Cool
Duty & Duvelorium Manager
Historium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"virtual reality"
in 128 reviews
"from room to room"
in 52 reviews
"themed rooms"
in 24 reviews
"special effects"
in 23 reviews
"audio guide"
in 69 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 22 reviews
"middle ages"
in 64 reviews
"jan van"
in 28 reviews
"bruges history"
in 33 reviews
"market square"
in 70 reviews
"rainy day"
in 38 reviews
"medieval times"
in 22 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 19 reviews
"vr"
in 87 reviews
"apprentice"
in 66 reviews
"jacob"
in 51 reviews
"museum"
in 360 reviews
Filter

67 - 71 of 2,909 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This bar is on the first floor in Historium Bruges - would recommend an early visit to this bar especially if the weather is nice. You need to get there early to get a seat in the small balcony over looking the main square. Great to just people watch & a great variety of beers. We love it

Thank sh1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentCool1435, Manager at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear sh1875,

Thank you very much for your reaction on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed every aspect of The Historium.

Kind Regards

Laurent Cool
Duty & Duvelorium Manager
Historium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Small walk through tour all about a painter not about the history of bruge, very disappointing. Walk through with videos and dummies very boring.

1  Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentCool1435, Manager at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Gil,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.
As we try to make The Historium better every day we will take your reaction in consideration. We hope you had a lovely stay in our beautiful city.

Kind Regards

Laurent Cool
Duty & Duvelorium Manager
Historium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

And we enjoyed it as well....it's an exhibit with a video art type story. It's a walking exhibit, so it feels very much interactive. There are some activities (guessing items that are part of the story of Bruges by smelling or blind touching, and video quiz on the information received) at the end of the exhibit. There is also a balcony whith a great view of the square below. Last there is a 3D experience short but nice - the kids (9 &12) really had fun there.

Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentCool1435, Manager at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dan,

We would like to say thank you for taking the time to react on TripAdvisor.
It is very nice to hear you and your family had a lovely visit with us.
We hope you had a nice time in Bruges.

Kind Regards

Laurent Cool
Duty & Duvelorium Manager
Historium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Place is a total rip-off. Absolute waste of time . You will never get the 20 minutes you spent here back again

Thank townma17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentCool1435, Manager at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Townma,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.
As we try to make The Historium better every day we will take your reaction in consideration. We hope you had a lovely stay in our beautiful city.

Kind Regards

Laurent Cool
Duty & Duvelorium Manager
Historium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historium Brugge also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Historium Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing