We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but you might get more than you bargain for!”
Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Although it is located perfectly for the main square, this was not what we had expected. When we arrived there was no one at reception, even though is was mid-afternoon. After ringing the bell several times, we could see someone in the adjoining restaurant finally getting up to come to us only to walk straight into the wall as she was drunk. The rooms were ok, relatively clean but very tired and need of some serious updating.Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have been really nice. Breakfast was not too bad, although a wider selection of teas would have been appreciated. I think it was overpriced for what you got and considering the construction site outside the hotel. It's one saving grace was that it was so close to the main square and restaurants. One thing to point out about Bruges is although beautiful, it is very expensive as it is aimed at tourists. We had family meet us there from Brussels and they couldn't believe the prices, so be prepared. On saying that, we had a lovely mini break.

Room Tip: Wi-fi is free but very difficult to get it in your room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainie764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 't Zand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Despite the construction work in the main square at the front of the hotel...we were not bothered by it at all and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!! We were given rooms at the back and it was peaceful all morning. Lovely cosy beds, spacious rooms, and we had a pretty view of a church spire and cobbled lane...x There were no signs of other guests so we felt like queens of the castle! Breakfast was basic but tasty...the usual Continental spread. The location is just perfect...and it's value for money. The two front desk staff we met were just so welcoming and sweet and helpful! If you want a good old fashioned night's sleep in a perfect spot and you want to go fairly budget...then this little hotel is ideal. x

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Until middle of 2018 the square in front of the hotel is a giant construction site. The hotel is almost innaccesible, dirty and noisy. When we made the reservation no- one had the brilliant idea to tell us about the ongoing work on the square, and most of the neighbouring hotels are closed temporarily due to the level of noise.. construction work began at 06:45 also on a saturday !! The girls in the hotel are worthless, there is no-one at reception until 09:30 in the morning, as you are left to your own devices at night ... no staff in the building at all after 21:00 !!!! Anyone can walk in despite the cameras. We refused the first room on the top floor as the bathroom was full ( and i mean FULL ) of long black hair from the previous guest and the bedroom ceiling had shoeprints (!) and 30 or so deceased bloodied mosquitoes on it... all this for 125 euros per night! We got another room as other hotels were no option due to the 'carnival' in the town. The receptionist reduced the roomrate to 100 per night but was still not worth the money.. Bruges is lovely and it didn't spoil our stay but if you want to avoid dissapointment find a hotel nearer the grote markt in the centre, not anywhere near the new concert building

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank guciopops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a luxury hotel this place is not for you!!! Hotel location is 10min walk from train station, and again just a few mins walk to the main square. Rooms and bathrroms were very clean, we found this hotel perfect for our city break away. Would recommend for those on a budget and don't mind basic :)

Thank aoifej619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel, as has previously been mentioned in other reviews, is ideally located, sitting immediately over the underground public parking outside of Kiosk B. It's a popular spot for afternoon drinks and a light dinner. The breakfast options are good. The rooms are simple, basic, nothing fancy. The folks at the front desk were very helpful.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank David-Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
715 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopold
Leopold
#71 of 97 in Bruges
163 reviews
0.1 km away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#41 of 97 in Bruges
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,288 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Hotel Brugge
Park Hotel Brugge
#89 of 97 in Bruges
392 reviews
1.4 km away
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: RM506 - RM631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing