We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“high quality, affordable self catering base in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cat F
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“high quality, affordable self catering base in central Ieper”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

All four people in our group were delighted with the Abacus House. It is centrally located, a couple of minutes walk to the main square in Ieper, but with easy parking outside. We used it as a base for touring, and it was the perfect place to relax and cook after a long day on the road.
We used the back court to eat breakfast and our evening meal every day.
The house was spotlessly clean and the decor is beautiful, with an open-plan and spacious feel but with the style of an historic building. and we loved having a whole floor to ourselves and a dressing room and walk-in wardrobe. The beds were so comfortable that I'm going to ask the owner what make they were.
The owners were very friendly, helpful and straightforward to deal with. I would highly recommend using the Abacus House as a holiday home or a base if you're in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Convenient, quiet and well equipped”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely house with everything you could need, as long as you don't mind lots of steep stairs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abacus House and couldn't believe how central we were for everything, especially the Menin Gate for the Last Post ceremony each evening. The owner was charming and helpful, even tipping us off about the 'secret' car park over the road! The bathrooms are truly enormous - although our one criticism was the lack of provision of any soap on arrival. A minor detail but inconvenient to have to go out and buy some on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: No soap
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_Lou...
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quaint little house”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a beautiful house, Abacus House was all we hoped for and more. So many beautiful, original and quirky features, this house was the perfect place to stay. The house contained all we could have hoped for and more, every kitchen item you could possibly need, TV and games for if it rained and a very helpful information guide about the house and surrounding city. Johan could not have been more welcoming or helpful if he tried, he offered a downstairs bed to be made up for my disabled mother in law and even arranged our taxi from and back to Brussels airport. Whilst we did not need to call Johan during our trip it was so reassuring to know he was only a phone call away. I hope one day to return and stay here once more, a truely memorable and enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming and friendly owner of property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful House to stay in - in a 'must see' Town.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Abacus House is a stunning property in a really beautiful town of many very fine buildings. The House is extremely spacious with shower rooms suitable for a football team and 'walk in' wardrobes in every room! The huge bedrooms are all extremely comfortable and we all slept well. It is not just spacious but is very well equipped too with all you need, it even has flat screen TV and WiFi with full Internet access. Johan, the owner, is a charming and friendly man for whom nothing is too much trouble. He helped us out with one or two problems without hesitation and with a smile! Our party consisted of five adults and two young children and all of us enjoyed our stay immensely. If you ever want a trip to Belgium, for whatever reason, this is a great place to stay, having good access to all of the places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of the property overall.
Liked least: Parking can be troublesome at busy times.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Abacus House with my husband, children and their grandparents. The property is absolutely beautiful with a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge, gorgeous bedrooms and possibly the largest and best bathrooms EVER! There is also a lovely patio area and sun lounge.

We had a fantastic week here and would recommend it highly. There are great restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away. There is also plenty of free parking in the streets surrounding the property.

The cathedral, Cloth Hall and Menin Gate are all only a few minutes walk away. I recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit Ypres - fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property - absolutely beautiful.
Liked least: Nothing - can't think of anything negative to say.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing