We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House - Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beth_char...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful House - Perfect”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here at the end of November for a long weekend with a large group of family aged from 21-79. We've been to Ieper a few times before but this was the first time staying in Abacus House and it was lovely. The house is beautiful, well furnished and was a great base for our trip - the bathrooms and bedrooms are stunning.
The location is perfect, about a 3 minute walk to the main square in Ieper where there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We didn't cook whilst we were there but the house had everything you needed and more for you to cook and the Belgium beer left in the fridge ready for your arrival was a lovely touch. Parking was also easy, with Johan giving us tips on where to park if you the space in front of the house wasn't free. Johan and Christine ensured we had everything we needed for a lovely weekend and could not have been more helpful. Can't find anything to fault with Abacus House, it was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smacHull
hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“elegant town house”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and three friends stayed in Abacus House for three nights whilst cycling to the First World War cemeteries and memorials in the Ypres area. We found it to be very comfortable and well decorated with all the facilities you would need. Whilst we did no cooking, everything you would need is available all of which are modern and clean. The location is perfect, being in the centre of town within a 2 minute walk of The Menin Gate and the main square. Our bikes were stored in a secure courtyard to the back of the house.. outside but no real problem in Summer. Perfect for families or groups of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house and location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy S
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us shared this lovely house & really enjoyed our stay. We were able to ditch the cars & walk to Museums, the Menin Gate, tour meeting place, shops & great restaurants. Johann & Christine left lots of very useful information & our five day stay flew past. The house is very comfortable & well appointed & as we were very lucky with the weather we enjoyed the outside space. Although we packed each day there are still lots more things we would like to do so we hope to return & will definitely stay at Abacus House again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2387lees
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Before arrival we were contacted by Johan who gave us websites to view to make the most our stay in Ypres. On arrival at the house, which is 2 minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the market square, Johan greeted us, showed us around the house and explained how the house worked. The house is spacious, clean and very relaxing, the bathrooms are large, well set out and loads of room for clothes and bags. The garden is a bit of a sun trap and is ideal for relaxing after a day out and about. An excellent house and location, would recommend for those that wish to visit this historic town and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: beds had 2 single duvets rather that one double on the double beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalallama
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There were just three of us staying in Abacus House so we had loads of room. Our teenage daughter took over the top floor which worked really well but this house would easily accommodate seven people with room to spare. We loved the light airy feel and the whole house was very comfortable with good quality beds and linen. The location is fantastic for exploring Ypres and further afield. Although there is not designated parking we had no trouble finding a space although sometimes not right outside the door.

With just over an hours drive from Calais this would be ideal for a short break.Ypres is lovely with plenty of shops and restaurants close by. There is a great fish shop and butchers just around the corner and a Carrefour 5 minutes walk away.
Johan was very helpful and the booking process and arrival/departure was very straight forward. We would not hesitate to recommend this house and hope to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing