We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bears Cove Inn(Witless Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crossroads Motel & Trailer Park(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Conception Bay South)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$98
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capital Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
166
13
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
13
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale watchingother guestszodiac tourbird sanctuaryhomemade muffinsthe east coastwindows overlookingb and btoastecological reservehis sonenjoy the viewsee whalescommon rooms areview of the bayweary travelerssense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Elaine's for two nights. Everything is looked after beautifully. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds.

Our room looked out over the sea. Stunning! The lawn furniture was available for guests to use.

The breakfasts were delicious and featured a nice selection of hot and cold offerings.

Elaine is a tremendous host. Her sense of humour will warm the hearts of weary travelers.

We would highly recommend visiting Elaine's.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Canadian_traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We spent only one night at Elaine's B&B by the sea. Most others in this place stayed a few days or weeks. The rooms are spacious and well organized. Common rooms are large and allows for writing, watching TV, chatting, and just relaxing. the sea view is spectacular. Seating in the common room or outside on high chairs and watching the sea is a free therapy. We missed seeing whales but it was still simply wonderful. Breakfast served around a large table and people were friendly and shared their travel experiences. Wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Give yourself say time to enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Elaine's for three nights and from the moment we arrived we were glued to the whale watching! Views from the B&B directly over the sea and at least 20 animals feeding in the bay at any time. Even saw them whilst we ate breakfast on the final morning which was foggy!
Rooms are beautifully clean and comfortable and all reports about the excellent breakfast are true! Great start to our trip.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Location on the ocean facing the Witless Bay Ecological Reserve is amazing. From the plentiful Muskoka chairs facing the bay you can see and hear humpbacks in the sea from the property and from an ocean facing room. Beds are comfy, and there are many touches which add comfort to the experience. Elaine is a treasure to talk to and runs a fine facility with six rooms. Breakfast features eggs, toast, bacon or ham, many jams, and fresh fruit along with good coffee. Wifi is generally excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Stayed 2 nights in room 1 with king size bed. Lovely spacious room with amazing view - worth the extra cost. There is a large room downstairs for guests with lots of comfortable seating and a great book collection and more amazing views. Lots of seating outside as well to enjoy the view. Saw an abundance of whales from both inside and outside the B and B. Breakfast is great with fresh fruit, muffins or croissants, followed by eggs and bacon and toast. Elaine and Danny are great hosts.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Greengardenernow2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews