We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and new year !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just got back from hols for xmas and new year and could,nt believe how lovely the apartments where....i am now going to sore marks out of ten for various things,,,,
The apartment - 10/10
The location - 10/10
The noise at the apartment - 6/10 ( you can hear noisy neighbors) not the hotels fault
Cleaners 10/10 ........ they came everyday
Albufiera 10/10
Beaches 10/10 (but beware as the caves on the beach can be dangerous) so don't let your little ones roam into them as we where warned by a local.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 981 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived in the dark after a miserable journey, the apartment was freezing cold and took sometime to warm up, to add to our misery we did not have a kettle. When this was reported at the front desk we were told to heat water in a pan, (the only pans being enormous) because kettles were in short supply. Each day we were fobbed off by being told that the matter would be resolved that day. In the end we did not have a kettle for 4 days and when we complained the manager was dismissive and treated us like 2nd class citizens. He Knew that we had booked the first few nights at a cheap rate, and said what did we expect for our money. The front desk staff were also unwelcoming and unfriendly in contrast to the cleaning staff who were very nice.

We had a room over looking a building site, we were woken at 7 the first morning by the whistle as the men started work. It was very noisy, we could not use our balcony, luckily they broke for Christmas the next day. The view was terrible a huge half built brick apartment block.
The was only one toilet/ bathroom for a double apartment. The kitchen was poorly equipped. The beds were hard

The heated indoor pool was closed and outside there was only 2 umbrellas round the pool one of which was broken. The all year round pools were not heated so too cold to use. This was very disappointing, because one of the reasons for booking this hotel was because of the pools.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Good location between Old Town and The Strip. A few pubs and restaurants nearby too, as well as a large supermarket not too far away which is much cheaper than the one round the back of the hotel. A bonus is that the tourist train stops out the back of the hotel and it does a circle to Old Town and The Strip every 20 mins doing the day and every 40 mins at night. All Day Ticket a bargain at €3.50.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShellyC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The apartments were extremely spacious and well kitted out including washing machine, dishwasher, and 1-2 balconies. Room 313 was fab as it overlooked the pool and gave you a glimpse of the sea. The maid service was excellent - every day, they came to tidy up and replenish towels. The whole hotel was spotless, and the friendly staff couldn't do enough to help us with whatever we asked. Defo will return in the future, and would recommend to all!

Room Tip: Hotel has a limited number of kettles so maybe better to bring your own or request in advance. Wire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maura Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just back after spending a month at Forte De Vale,having been there at the same time last year. We were not going to book as the weather last year was terrible. But we so much enjoyed the apartment we decided to go back. Thank goodness we did the weather was amazing. Everything was still to a high standard and although last year the maid service was good, this time it was excellent. Can't wait for next year. I booked through Travel Republic and asked for a room on the water feature side on the 4th floor which is exactly what I got.
I only have one complaint but not about the Hotel but the inconsiderate people on the 3rd floors who would insist on feeding the seagulls which left a bit of a mess on the concrete and the edge of our balcony. I mentioned it to the Hotel so hopefully they may inform people not to do this

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
3,417 reviews
1.2 km away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
708 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
671 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: RM274 - RM1,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing