We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good aparthotel”
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a week september 2012,was a little worried after reading some of the reviews but was better than we expected,
Our studio apartment had everything we needed cooker,micro,fridge,tv,hairdryer,seperate bedroom and spacious bathroom,it was clean and a little dated but i think it was good for a 3star wouldnt say it was a 3+ though,we where on the 2nd floor facing the road and opposite the taxi bay the only complaint about this was the traffic noise but we got used to it and had the air con on so u needed to keep the door shut for this to work,plus we would sit and hav a drink in the evening before going out or when we got back and found the people watching entertaining at times.
The staff we found very friendly and helpful the reception staff were very helpful and had time for you, the young guy in the nautilus bar in the hotel was helpful and chatty told us a few places to visit.
The location was about a 20mins stroll to the beach downhill so a verysteep hill to come up on the way back (see photo) but two supermarkets one left and one right about 10mins away with very good supplies,the taxi bay and bus stop where opposite hotel but very difficult to get taxi from 6.30-9pm into alberferia taxi around 7 euro but be careful goes up 20% after 9pm one tried to charge us 20%ontop of meter price but u only pay what meter says,its about 2.20.euro on the bus each.
Bars and restaurants nearby are good and cheaper than near the beach very nice meal at the travinia restaurant and cheap very freindly too its right from the hotel on the main road about 5min walk. DO NOT go to La Cigale on the beach,very expensive,poor service and terrible food thats why they never hav pricelist outside cause its expensive when u are in there we had,pint beer,half glass wine,very small steak,sml veg, i had small salmon,3sml potatoes and 1 tomatoe chopped up and the bill came to 60 euro, we waited 45mins for the meal and 30mins for the bill after, it looks a nice setting on the beach but u hav been warned.
A quiet area but u hav the option to go into alberferia for the strip and the old town or into vilamoura for the marina and a bit more cosmopoliton.
Great area for couples and families,lovely beaches,nice quiet pools,not two expensive when u are there,go to the expose ticket shop very helpful and try the zoo mairine the dolphin nd sealion shows are brilliant not just for kids
would go back again.

Room Tip: high floor rooms or pool view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

I would have to agree with others who have commented about the tired decor of the hotel. We found the hotel very clean but it looked scruffy as it obviously hasn't been decorated in a while. We had a one bedroom apartment for two adults and two teenage girls. The apartment was a good size and had a very well stocked kitchen - where you had all the basics you could need. The pool was a good size and it was a novelty having the choice between the outside and indoor pool. We were B&B and had breakfast every morning. The best feature about this hotel is the staff at the poolside eatery / shop were you go for breakfast. I can't pronounce the mans name - I think it was Almeno - but the man who works in the shop and does the breakfasts was great - very friendly and accomodating and really made us feel welcome every morning. We went to the bar most evenings but only stayed for a couple of drinks - very quiet and definetly not party central which is what we wanted. The couple that run the bar were very friendly and do great cocktails. The location is great - just beside a supermarket, short walk to the beach and there is a taxi rank across the road. One downside for me is that there was no washing machine facilities - I know you go on holiday to relax but I like to do a couple of washes so that the apartment isn't full of dirty clothes. There was an onsite launderette service but this was very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 401Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed for 9 nights from the 3 September 2012. Booked a studio apartment the accommodation was very spacious on the 2nd floor overlooking the road. New kitchen and spacious lounge area with ample space if there had been 2 other guests with us. Agree with other comments about the spacious bathroom (this also had a bidet) that the tiles round the bath need replacing. We were happy being on the 2nd floor but would have preferred to have been at the back overlooking the pools. Weather was great, didn't see any mosquitos which was a plus. Sandy beaches, 10 mins away were lovely. Ideal for young families and couples. Had a lovely meal at Jollies Restaurant taken from the trip adviser recommendations as well as other nearby restaurants. All very reasonable. Would definitely go back to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in August and reading other people's reviews, I have to agree with the good and bad comments. The beds seem to be mentioned frequently and yes, they are not very comfortable and make a lot of noise when you move about. Also, my wife and I would have preferred a double bed and not two singles. The apartment was okay. We didn't use the cooker or microwave but only because we like to eat out. The toaster came in handy as did the fridge and the hairdryer. The apartment was spacious and with us having a corner room we had two balconies. It was cleaned 6 days out of 7. I have read that other people took wet wipes and found the rooms to be dirty. Ours was mopped every day and to be honest, with an entire hotel to clean you can't expect them to get into every little nook and cranny. I am sure my wife and I bought a lot of the sand in with us. The bathroom was fine although the window had seen better days but, again, it didn't spoil anything. There were mould spots on the ceiling but I have some at home and they are a pain to control. We overlooked the car park and to be honest most of the cars never moved. It was so quiet at night that we had the balcony door open instead of the air conditioning which was a bit noisy. So, out of 10 I would give our apartment 8. Can't really comment on the staff as we only spoke to the lady on reception when we booked in. The pool was excellent and we never struggled for a sunbed. It is only 10 minutes to the beach where the bars and restaurants are and the people who have said you have to walk up a steep hill - get fit ! Nice English pub called Pickwicks Tavern is near the sea and another bar just inland a bit called Traceys Bar was excellent. Please read my reviews on these two places elsewhere. One tip - the beach is packed and you are crammed in like sardines so use the other one. Turn Left out of The Oceanus and walk along the main road towards Albufeira. When you reach the big supermarket, take your first left and follow the road round to the right following blue signs that say G.N.R. Go past the mini-markets and down a road with apartments and villas on either side. Ignore the very last G.N.R sign pointing left. You think you are reaching a dead end but you will see Clube Maria Luisa on your right and if you look a few yards in front of you you will see a sign on the wall which says - ESCADINHAS DA MARIA LUISA. This little alleyway takes you to a fantastic secluded beach which doesn't get anywhere near as busy as the main one. Overall, we loved this resort. Weather was fantastic and contrary to what people say, we found it to be very cheap. Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Away from the lift and the side that overlooks the car park and not the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian_wing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We really enjoyed our week here and would come back again. The apartments were huge and very clean. Great location within easy access to the beach, shops and trips. Plenty to do and see here and the people were very friendly and helpful. Trips were amazing but shop around as they will give you great deals if you book a few.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are a bit noiser but still ok. Not much sun but cooler. Also the roof wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.5 km away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.5 km away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 153 in Albufeira
1,418 reviews
8.8 km away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
3.1 km away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
5.3 km away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#48 of 153 in Albufeira
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: RM 168 - RM 717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing