We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quinta da Belgica(Moncarapacho)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Atismar(Quarteira)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
378
324
101
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
324
101
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacemodern wingdos sentidospublic roomsmodern additionindoor poolbeautiful palaceroman ruinssmall villagehistorical buildingorange grovesmain buildingsuperior roomsmall gymguest roomsterrace overlookingspa facilities
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed as a couple in May, 2017. The check-in was very friendly with some recommendations for dinner and things to do in town.
The hotel is "upside-down" with reception on the top floor and rooms below. On the second floor, there is the spa and pools and on the first floor there is the entrance for the parking garage.
The front desk indicated that dinner reservations were recommended to eat at the Palace.
The interior of the Palace was pretty great. The ceilings are lined with paintings and are really beautiful.
The grounds of the Palace were just okay, however. The main fountain along the drive had standing water and looked like it had not been activated in months. There were leaves and general muck in it, which was not very pleasant. The area outside of our room (each room has a balcony, bottom floor is a walk-out patio) looked like it had not been cut in several weeks, though we could still see the rat traps.
Breakfast was served in the dining area. There was a wide assortment of meats, breads, cheeses and drinks. If you are fortunate enough to receive wait service, they have expresso and coffee available. They do also include sparkling wine on the breakfast buffet.
Billed as a luxury hotel, there are some things that I would change, however overall impressed and would visit again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada Palácio de Estoi.

The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas.

We hope you can choose Pousada Palácio de Estoi again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel converted from an ex palace with modern room extension. The rooms are modern, comfortable and quite for most of the time. There is a narrow road to the car park that runs near the bedroom extension. Good and services are very good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

The Pousada Palácio de Estoi would like to thank you for your excellent review.

We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Orlando Araujo.
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the hotel for a birthday getaway and we were not disappointed. The pink hotel has been beautifully restored and the pool area is set within the main part of the palace.
On arrival we were greeted with a smile from the very helpful receptionist who explained we had a superior room, the spa treatments, dinner and breakfast times and bar opening times. We were also given a map of Estoi. Our room was on floor two - and had its own little front garden with two chairs and table. The main building and pool just to our left. Inside the queen size bed was very comfortable and the linen which was top quality changed each day by friendly staff. Breakfast is buffet style and provides hot scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, tomatoes along with gorgeous breads, juices and fruit. There is also plenty of cold meats and cheeses so really does cater for all. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the gardens in the sun was lovely. Again the staff are very attentive and will get you anything you ask for.
Overall the Pousada was a wonderful treat and I hope we can return. Thank you all! One tip - hire a car.. its hilly and the cobblestones are difficult at times.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pousada Palácio de Estoi and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you appreciated the Pousada and the Palace atmosphere, and I will share your feedback about our services with our team.
All Pousada Palácio de Estoi team will be looking forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

A lovely small hotel that is part of the recently refurbished palace. This has been done to a very high standard and adds to the originality. The modern bedrooms and pool area are very spacious but blend in well with their surroundings. The hotel caters more for couples than families, we stayed for 3 nights which felt just about right. We didn't have a car but Faro is easily accessible by bus, although not a very frequent service, you need to plan your day accordingly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important to the Pousadas de Portugal and to other guests that consider a trip to Pousada Palácio de Estoi.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi.

Best Regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We first visited the Algarve 30 years ago and, at Estoi, discovered an abandoned mansion covered in traditional hand decorated tiles ( “azulejos” ) and the remains of a grand garden, then overgrown.
It was with great delight that we returned to that magical place this April to stay at the wonderful Pousada Palace Estoi.
The old mansion and its grounds have been restored as a luxury hotel, with spacious modern accommodation sympathetically married to the historic building.
Rooms are huge, with their own balconies or garden access – all have excellent en suite facilities. There is a terraced pool, spa and small gym with a playground for children set in the grounds.
Staff were friendly and attentive and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing.

The buffet breakfast offers a range of delights both hot and cold, but we were disappointed to be offered pasteurized “long-life” yoghurt in cartons… Why not fresh yoghurt?
Bar snacks were rather limited with only three kinds of sandwich : cheese; ham or ham and cheese! Given, that other lunchtime opportunities in Estoi are extremely limited, it was disappointing that the only alternative to the hotel's bar snacks was a large and expensive lunch.
The range of evening meals on offer was “traditional”...well cooked but somewhat unimaginative and pricey!
Consequently, many hotel guests took the short walk to the Galeria dos Sentidos – an excellent local restaurant, that we used regularly. (See separate review).

With these shortcomings in mind, I have to downgrade the hotel to only “very good” ...yet everything else about Pousada Palace Estoi is really excellent.

Don't miss the wonderful Milieu Roman Ruins – a twenty minute walk away – but these apart, there is little to see or do in Estoi away from the magnificent hotel.
My tip : Hire a car as the hotel is far enough off the beaten track to make having independent transport essential.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a higher number to be in a very peaceful area
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickOsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,
The Estoi Pousada would like to thank you for your excellent review.
We would also like to say that the enthusiasm of your review gives us the great feeling of happiness and proud.
We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Orlando Araujo.
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews