We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical yet extremely modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We had a rather "Fawlty Towers" expeience on arrival at this hotel , could not gain entry to room , television not working, Coffee maker not working and the inside door handle coming off. However the attentive and apolgetic staff got these sorted out and thereafter there were no other hitches.
The setting of the old part of the hotel sits within the restored terraced gardens while the new and extemely modern part is set into the landscape with modern large roof terraced gardens . Very interesting and complementing each other . Bedroom had fresh crisp linen and glass walls looking over the landscape. Food in restaurant was good but pricey. Buffet breakfast is extensive and gluten free bread and rolls provided.Staff very attentive.
Spa and pool facillities were good with a beauty therapist in attendance .
Estoi is a small quite authentic spread out village with small local shops and squares where locals meet .Thankfully it is not over developed.
Second Sunday of month there is an amazing large open air market selling such things as live poultrey, fabrics, food, farming and household goods

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments; it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay.

I am happy to read that you appreciated the Pousada and the Palace atmosphere, and I will share your feedback about our services with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi.

Best regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed as a couple in May, 2017. The check-in was very friendly with some recommendations for dinner and things to do in town.
The hotel is "upside-down" with reception on the top floor and rooms below. On the second floor, there is the spa and pools and on the first floor there is the entrance for the parking garage.
The front desk indicated that dinner reservations were recommended to eat at the Palace.
The interior of the Palace was pretty great. The ceilings are lined with paintings and are really beautiful.
The grounds of the Palace were just okay, however. The main fountain along the drive had standing water and looked like it had not been activated in months. There were leaves and general muck in it, which was not very pleasant. The area outside of our room (each room has a balcony, bottom floor is a walk-out patio) looked like it had not been cut in several weeks, though we could still see the rat traps.
Breakfast was served in the dining area. There was a wide assortment of meats, breads, cheeses and drinks. If you are fortunate enough to receive wait service, they have expresso and coffee available. They do also include sparkling wine on the breakfast buffet.
Billed as a luxury hotel, there are some things that I would change, however overall impressed and would visit again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada Palácio de Estoi.

The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas.

We hope you can choose Pousada Palácio de Estoi again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel converted from an ex palace with modern room extension. The rooms are modern, comfortable and quite for most of the time. There is a narrow road to the car park that runs near the bedroom extension. Good and services are very good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

The Pousada Palácio de Estoi would like to thank you for your excellent review.

We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Orlando Araujo.
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the hotel for a birthday getaway and we were not disappointed. The pink hotel has been beautifully restored and the pool area is set within the main part of the palace.
On arrival we were greeted with a smile from the very helpful receptionist who explained we had a superior room, the spa treatments, dinner and breakfast times and bar opening times. We were also given a map of Estoi. Our room was on floor two - and had its own little front garden with two chairs and table. The main building and pool just to our left. Inside the queen size bed was very comfortable and the linen which was top quality changed each day by friendly staff. Breakfast is buffet style and provides hot scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, tomatoes along with gorgeous breads, juices and fruit. There is also plenty of cold meats and cheeses so really does cater for all. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the gardens in the sun was lovely. Again the staff are very attentive and will get you anything you ask for.
Overall the Pousada was a wonderful treat and I hope we can return. Thank you all! One tip - hire a car.. its hilly and the cobblestones are difficult at times.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pousada Palácio de Estoi and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you appreciated the Pousada and the Palace atmosphere, and I will share your feedback about our services with our team.
All Pousada Palácio de Estoi team will be looking forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

A lovely small hotel that is part of the recently refurbished palace. This has been done to a very high standard and adds to the originality. The modern bedrooms and pool area are very spacious but blend in well with their surroundings. The hotel caters more for couples than families, we stayed for 3 nights which felt just about right. We didn't have a car but Faro is easily accessible by bus, although not a very frequent service, you need to plan your day accordingly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important to the Pousadas de Portugal and to other guests that consider a trip to Pousada Palácio de Estoi.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi.

Best Regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
9.6 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
998 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,637 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 28 in Faro
139 reviews
8.8 km away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
296 reviews
24.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio Estoi

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: RM413 - RM1,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Palacio Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing