We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Really pleased hotel is being upgraded . Hopefully will return next year. Staff were very good.
Location is excellent for us. Have been coming fo many years and it's good to see some familiar staff still working there

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank jennifermaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear jennifermaryl,

We are very glad to read your positive review about Tivoli Lagos. Comments like these do motivate our team to continue their good work and we kindly appreciate the time taken to leave your comments. Should you ever visit this area of the Algarve again, we hope you consider us as your hotel of choice again.

Yours sincerely,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

The Tivoli is 5 mins walk from the marina and close but set back from the town centre. I had a single room which was adequate but on the small side, the balcony was tired and very tight.
The shared service areas, such as reception, lounges, bars & restaurant were good unfortunately a rather nice BBQ area was not in use.
Room service was good, however having to buy water at 3euros per bottle was an irritation and I see no reason why one should have to pay for a room safe for in a hotel of this standard these days.
There is a free shuttle to a beach area managed by the Hotel, given the return shuttle could be full and you would have to wait an extra hour in a very tired and pricey beach bar I preferred to catch the local ferry across the estuary to a quiet open stretch on sand and sea.
All staff I encountered were pleasant and very helpfull, I would consider using The Tivoli again if staying in Lagos.
Breakfast was served from 0730 and by 0800 the cooked items were cold, there was an excellent variety of fresh breads, fruit cheese and meats which I found prefereable.
I had one evening meal in the restaurant which was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Wes D,

Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your remarks.

Your feedback is important to us so we may continue to improve and our guests feel welcome and happy during their stay with us. Rest assured your comments will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back and ensure you will then remember us for all the good reasons.

Yours sincerely,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This old, unrenovated hotel is full of disappointments, with smelly and dirty rooms. Staff is also very inflexible with adjustments. We were brought here by Trafalgar so thumbs down to them too (for waiting for hotel bookings).

If you're like us and your vacation time is limited, you should avoid the Tivoli hotel in Lagos and Trafalgar to arrange your trips. As said, they reserve their group rooms late and always find bad or badly-situated hotels (or both).

I'd recommend booking your own hotels and build your own experience and you'll be able to enjoy a nice vacation. Seriously, avoid both Trafalgar (via Air Transat) and that Tivoli hotel in Lagos.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pcderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear pcderic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We very much regret to learn your criticism and apologize that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.
Please rest assured of our attention at all times; your feedback is truly important to us, as it helps us realize both our stronger and weaker aspects from our guests’ point of view. We look forward to the opportunity of showing you our commitment to quality service and hospitality in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The room we were given had twin beds. There was a old moldy smell, which was probably caused by old carpets that were ripped and needed changing. The beds and pillows were old and uncomfortable. just not rooms you would expect from that hotel rating. No good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Anne D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable, so we can strive to improve our guests’ experiences.
Despite this inconvenience, I hope that there were pleasant and enjoyable aspects during your stay. I look forward to the opportunity of showing you our true commitment to service and hospitality quality in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My husband and I have returned to the Tivoli at least 10 times over the last 20 years.it is our go to holiday. The staff are always welcoming. If I had to find a fault with thr hotel it would just be some of the rooms are a little small (the standard rooms) and would always advise upgrading.aside from that my husband and I feel that the hotel is perfect. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank stephanie20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear stephanie20162016
Thank you for your review and you continued preference.
It’s a pleasure for us receiving those kind words !
We were glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us .
At Tivoli Lagos, you can always count on a dedicated team to help you with your needs.
Please, let us know if you intend to return to our hotel, and we would be most honored to accompany your reservation closely and take care of all its details.
Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,481 reviews
0.7 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.4 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.9 km away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.7 km away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 53 in Lagos
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: RM280 - RM870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing