We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old lady who is now very tired”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Lagos, I have to say that it is not all bad at the tivoli as the breakfast is very good, the pool area is lovely with plenty of sun beds available all day but they do cater for a lot of all male golfers, bowls clubs.
This hotel would have been lovely a long time ago but now needs some money spent on it especially in the bedrooms. The first room I was shown there was no way I would stay in it, it was tiny and dingy but we had a room with 2 single beds and I have to say that the bed linen was lovely and clean as were the towels etc. But and this I have to say the curtains were filthy and the whole room wanted a deep clean and redecorating.
One thing I have to say is the al a carte restaurant is fantastic, service and food well worth a visit but you would need to book as very popular and it is small.

Room Tip: Don't know if there are any that don't need renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diandruss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear diandruss2016,

Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your remarks regarding the Hotel, that will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter. We hope to keep all the aspects that make Tivoli Lagos a unique Hotel.
Your continued preference is very much appreciated by our team, who are looking forward to welcoming you again for yet another memorable holiday.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

This hotel is so outdated I cannot believe it claims to be a 4 star. We stayed for what we thought would be a nice break in the sun however we didn't count on the number of all male parties of golfers that would stay here and drink the pool bar dry, although we did hear swear words that we would rather not have. The hotel is spread over a large area and the first room we were given was number 806 which was a far distance to get to and when looking out the balcony overlooked some kind of incinerator for a restaurant. The second room 22 was marginally better overlooking the pool, well if it wasn't for the trees. The bed sheets and towels had holes in them so not very nice. On the positive side the beach club is good. This hotel does not cater for a gluten free diet even though we asked this when booking. I wish i had read the reviews before booking. Lagos is a lovely place but wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pool views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank isabel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear isabel b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We very much regret to learn your criticism and apologize that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.
Please rest assured of our attention at all times; your feedback is truly important to us, as it helps us realize both our stronger and weaker aspects from our guests’ point of view.
Rest assured your comments will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter.
We look forward to the opportunity of showing you our commitment to quality service and hospitality in the near future.

Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Yikes -what a bummer. One of the most out-dated hotels I've ever been to. I even splurged for the suite. Let's just say there wasn't anything "sweet" about it. I woke up everyday with a sore throat possibly from the musty, mildewy, moldy smell and feel of the room. It's a great location in Faros but there is zero view, it's a labyrinth to find your room, and when you get there it's such a let down. I should have listened to the very accurate reviews on Trip Advisor warning people to avoid this hotel. I sat and watched MANY angry people arguing with hotel staff about how disappointing their rooms were, how understaffed they seemed and how they were going to rip the hotel a new one on social media. Many older customers had large luggage including golf clubs and there didn't seem to be anyone to help them carry anything.

There were a few pros though...Nice pool, close to town, the marina is just across the way so it's easy to find a boat to explore the coast and grotto, the morning breakfast has many many solid choices including champagne, and they have one bar that is fun to sit at and listen to the WORST Elvis impersonator ever. There are a few funky dive bars across the street, one even had karaoke so that was a plus. It's easy to navigate the town and the algarve coast is stunning.

It's definitely NOT a four star hotel. It could be if they did a re-vamp. Otherwise you're stuck in 1985 in a moldy dreary room.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel but I would highly recommend Lagos as a fantastic place to stay in Portugal.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank soloadventurer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear soloadventurer3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable, so we can strive to improve our guests’ experiences.
Despite this inconvenience, I hope that there were pleasant and enjoyable aspects during your stay.
Rest assured your comments will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter.

Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Very poor quality standards. We had multiple rooms presented to us. Both had the same issues:
- stains
- malfunctioning arcon
- very poor beds
- bad smell
- ants

I filed a complained during my stay, the gave me an upgrade but yet again the room was dirty and very uncomfortable. The last time they made updates to the rooms where in 90's i guess. Not something you should expect.

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mike C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable, so we can strive to improve our guests’ experiences.
Despite this inconvenience, I hope that there were pleasant and enjoyable aspects during your stay.
Rest assured your comments will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter.

Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The Tivoli has great breakfast and evening meal restaurants and a pool with a bar! It is only a short walk from the local station, marina, market and town square brimming with bars and restaurants! Fab.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank a P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear a P,

A quick note to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your preference for Tivoli Lagos is highly appreciated by the whole team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,517 reviews
1.7 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.2 km away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.8 km away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
392 reviews
1.4 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: RM 246 - RM 921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing