We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and not so good”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Long since I’ve seen a shower curtain in a hotel. Also hair dryer just a tube on the wall, where you had to hold in with one hand while drying your hair. Beach towels changed every second day but you had to queue at reception to exchange towels. This should not be the role of receptionist, especially when guests were trying to check in and out.
The bar area upstairs was obviously just renovated but lacked atmosphere and bar attenders personality didn’t help. On a more positive review the shuttle bus to beach and restaurant was always on time and a wonderful service. Besides the room in need of some upgrades I rather enjoyed my stay here and would return.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AR230154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AR230154,
Thank you very much for your precious evaluation after your stay at Tivoli Lagos. We are sorry to hear that Tivoli Hotel did not fulfill your expectations. Despite some aspects, we are glad to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is important to us so we may continue to improve and our guests feel welcome and happy during their stay with us. We would like to take this chance to inform you that Tivoli Lagos recently closed for refurbishment and renovation works, and we are planning to reopen on the 1st April 2018.
It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at our Hotel with a refreshed look.
Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 3,316 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the second time we have stayed at the Tivoli and we really enjoyed our stay. the hotel is in an excellent location between the old town and marina.

We stayed in a room with a good sized balcony overlooking the pool, room 33 this was really central to the pool, restaurant, bar and entrance. As been mentioned in other reviews the rooms are due to be refurbished and the room would benefit from being updated but this had no impact on our holiday.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the large dining area where we had breakfast was spotlessly clean with a very good range of food from cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast, bread and toast making facilities and the usual beverages including fruit juices. I enjoyed the glass of fizz every morning at breakfast it was a good way to start the day.

When we were there it was our anniversary and the hotel put a bottle of fizz , chocolates and chocolate coated strawberries in our room for when we arrived which i we thought was a lovely touch... thank you.

The customer service throughout the hotel was faultless from the friendly and helpful reception staff to the cleaning staff.

We look forward to go back next year to see results of the refurbishment as this should only enhance an excellent hotel. Thank you for great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MungoPNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr MungoPNewcastle
Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your thoughts towards our staff. We appreciate your remarks regarding the Hotel, htat helps us improve our services. We would like to take this chance to inform you that Tivoli Lagos recently closed for refurbishment and renovation works, and we are planning to reopen on the 1st April 2018.
It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at our Hotel with a refreshed look.
Kind Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Tivoli Lagos and was really surprised at how lovely the hotel was given we left on the day it was closing for a refurb. Hoping the hotel keeps its character features - the white and blue tiled bedrooms, the amazing brick ceilings in the main dining area and the fab leather and wood carved chairs

Perfect central spot to explore from. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful especially the porter who greeted us on arrival and showed us to our room.

Things i would change more plug sockets i couldnt find one anywhere near a mirror and had to unplug the fridge to still be over a metre away and more ventliation in the bathrooms they get v hot and steamy.

Overall a great break and so long as the refurb doesnt create a price hike we will definitely return

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Adele,
Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your remarks regarding the Hotel, that will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works. We hope to keep all the aspects that make Tivoli Lagos a unique Hotel.
Your continued preference is very much appreciated by our team, who are looking forward to welcoming you again for yet another memorable holiday.
Kind Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I understand that this hotel is likely to get a three month refit pretty soon. I would be interested to see the improvements they make.
As it is they have some great assets in the bank. The hotel is large and rambling with bits to discover and enjoy, loads of seats and nooks to while away a little time. It is really charming.
The staff team in this hotel are just great - they work well together and are both cheerful and obliging.
We stayed half board and the food was just excellent - especially the fruit and the salads.
Both pools were clean and the gym was reasonably well equipped.
I do hope they revamp keeps the rambling atmosphere of the building.
It is true that the bathrooms need upgrading a little but ours was functional and very clean and well maintained.
About the only criticism I would make is the lack of sockets for the modern traveller – USB sockets above the level of the bedside table would be a great help– hint for the revamp team.
We had room 82 and the sun never reached our balcony - if you want a balcony with sun it would be best to make this clear when booking.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank michaelphilipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear michaelphilipb,

We are very glad to read your positive review about Tivoli Lagos. Comments like these do motivate our team to continue their good work and we kindly appreciate the time taken to leave your comments. We also appreciate your remarks regarding the room.
Should you ever visit this area of the Algarve again, we hope you consider us as your hotel of choice again.

Yours sincerely,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

A number of good points (e.g. breakfast, entertainment, courtesy bus to beach and friendliness of staff) but generally, for a 4 star hotel, the sprawling hotel is now dated in a number of respects and therefore in need of a revamp / modernisation. We had an issue about getting an bed for my daughter on arrival and a few relatively minor issues about the room but these were generally resolved.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank F1775ZCkennethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear F1775ZCkennethb,

Thank you very much for your precious evaluation after your stay at Tivoli Lagos. We are sorry to hear that Tivoli Hotel did not fulfill your expectations. Despite some aspects, are glad to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is important to us so we may continue to improve and our guests feel welcome and happy during their stay with us. Rest assured your comments will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works that are planned to take place this winter.

Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,490 reviews
0.7 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.7 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
646 reviews
0.2 km away
Lagos Avenida Hotel
Lagos Avenida Hotel
#27 of 53 in Lagos
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: RM341 - RM812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing