We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,652)
Filter reviews
3,652 results
Traveller rating
913
1,560
697
302
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
1,560
697
302
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club golf trip public areas hotel guests health club old town pool area central location lovely hotel courtesy bus buffet breakfast enjoyable stay town centre bars and restaurants evening entertainment great holiday sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 3,652 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Had an overall enjoyable stay with nice rooms, pool and breakfast. May take a while to get to room (multiple buildings). WiFi is best in lobby, unreliable in rooms. Hotel is located east end of town, relatively close to water (not beach). Nice coastal walking trail nearby.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Jennifer Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Jennifer Anne S,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience after your stay at Tivoli Lagos. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely/faithfully,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I'm going to start with the positives.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The outdoor and indoor pool areas are well maintained and clean. The breakfast selection is plentiful with fresh products.
However with the exception of the reception area the hotel décor is stuck in the 1970's and in serious need of refurbishment. The rooms are extremely date, worn and old style. The lighting in our the bedroom was poor, this was due to low voltage power saving bulbs. The carpets was old and frayed - and in this day and age unhygienic. The bed in our 1st room was not clean and in the second room it sagged in the middle
The safe cost €5 per night

definitely not a 4 star hotel. At a push maybe 3*

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cityhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Cityhols,

We would like to thank you for your evaluation and input on our services and facilities. We regret to learn that Tivoli Lagos did not meet your expectations. This kind of feedback is always very important, as it allows us to improve our services when we undertake refurbishments or renovations.
Despite your disappointment, we hope that there were pleasant and enjoyable aspects during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of showing you our true commitment to service and hospitality quality in a near future.

Yours sincerely/faithfully,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Long since I’ve seen a shower curtain in a hotel. Also hair dryer just a tube on the wall, where you had to hold in with one hand while drying your hair. Beach towels changed every second day but you had to queue at reception to exchange towels. This should not be the role of receptionist, especially when guests were trying to check in and out.
The bar area upstairs was obviously just renovated but lacked atmosphere and bar attenders personality didn’t help. On a more positive review the shuttle bus to beach and restaurant was always on time and a wonderful service. Besides the room in need of some upgrades I rather enjoyed my stay here and would return.

Room tip: Bring your own hair dryer
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank AR230154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear AR230154,
Thank you very much for your precious evaluation after your stay at Tivoli Lagos. We are sorry to hear that Tivoli Hotel did not fulfill your expectations. Despite some aspects, we are glad to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is important to us so we may continue to improve and our guests feel welcome and happy during their stay with us. We would like to take this chance to inform you that Tivoli Lagos recently closed for refurbishment and renovation works, and we are planning to reopen on the 1st April 2018.
It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at our Hotel with a refreshed look.
Best Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This was the second time we have stayed at the Tivoli and we really enjoyed our stay. the hotel is in an excellent location between the old town and marina.

We stayed in a room with a good sized balcony overlooking the pool, room 33 this was really central to the pool, restaurant, bar and entrance. As been mentioned in other reviews the rooms are due to be refurbished and the room would benefit from being updated but this had no impact on our holiday.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the large dining area where we had breakfast was spotlessly clean with a very good range of food from cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast, bread and toast making facilities and the usual beverages including fruit juices. I enjoyed the glass of fizz every morning at breakfast it was a good way to start the day.

When we were there it was our anniversary and the hotel put a bottle of fizz , chocolates and chocolate coated strawberries in our room for when we arrived which i we thought was a lovely touch... thank you.

The customer service throughout the hotel was faultless from the friendly and helpful reception staff to the cleaning staff.

We look forward to go back next year to see results of the refurbishment as this should only enhance an excellent hotel. Thank you for great stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MungoPNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Mr MungoPNewcastle
Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your thoughts towards our staff. We appreciate your remarks regarding the Hotel, htat helps us improve our services. We would like to take this chance to inform you that Tivoli Lagos recently closed for refurbishment and renovation works, and we are planning to reopen on the 1st April 2018.
It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at our Hotel with a refreshed look.
Kind Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Tivoli Lagos and was really surprised at how lovely the hotel was given we left on the day it was closing for a refurb. Hoping the hotel keeps its character features - the white and blue tiled bedrooms, the amazing brick ceilings in the main dining area and the fab leather and wood carved chairs

Perfect central spot to explore from. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful especially the porter who greeted us on arrival and showed us to our room.

Things i would change more plug sockets i couldnt find one anywhere near a mirror and had to unplug the fridge to still be over a metre away and more ventliation in the bathrooms they get v hot and steamy.

Overall a great break and so long as the refurb doesnt create a price hike we will definitely return

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mrs Adele,
Thank you for your kind review about Tivoli Lagos. It is flattering to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your remarks regarding the Hotel, that will be considered during our refurbishment and renovation works. We hope to keep all the aspects that make Tivoli Lagos a unique Hotel.
Your continued preference is very much appreciated by our team, who are looking forward to welcoming you again for yet another memorable holiday.
Kind Regards,
Miguel Almeida Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews