We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$214
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lagos Youth Hostel(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$455
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
72
17
8
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
17
8
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachbeachesfacilitiesricardotown
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel is located in a quiet place and within easy reach of the beaches and restaurants. We were very well attended by Miguel, who also gave us tips on places to enjoy the night in Lagos. The room was comfortable, with a small balcony, kitchen and bathrooms were well organized and clean, the terrace is a great place to relax at the end of the day. Also has an area with barbecue, tables and chairs
I saw negative comments, but I decided to risk and have not regretted, the hostel is very nice and recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Knighthrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_Chill_Hostel, Gerente at Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We appreciate your feedback about our stay in our hostel!
We were very pleased with the review and have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your return soon.
Sincerely, management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Miguel has no idea how to run a business. He left his 14yr old nephew in charge while he left for the day. We had no power in our room, we had no shower head in our bathroom. He's rude and arrogant. He allowed a random dude who was sleeping in his van outside come into the hostel as he pleased to use the facilities. He left a backpacker in charge to do his work who had no idea what to do, people were checking in who had already paid upfront only to be told the owner was out and they weren't sure what was going on, another group of people were checking in only for Miguel to be asleep on the couch and him telling the untrained backpacker to check them in. We werent told that there was a $20 cash deposit for the key so we had to walk back into town to get cash. We didn't get our deposit back because the so called manager/owner was no where to be found. The only person who works hard is the cleaner, but even with her working hard the place was still a mess, she tried her best we could see that. It's just really poorly managed and the attitude we interpreted was that he obviously doesn't care. What goes on, who's coming in and out of the hostel or how he speaks to his customers.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_Chill_Hostel, Gerente at Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We appreciate your feedback and your stay in our hostel!
We are going through a remodeling in our hostel, although during your stay seem disorganized. Your observations are very important to us, i would like to point out that some of them were caused by third parties, employees who attended not to work. I apologize on behalf of the hostel, and I invite you to return to our hostel at another time and see our changes and improvements.
Sincerely, management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Really poor considering such high standards and competition in hostels these days.
Was obvious that owner or management has little to do with it these days and the pictures were obviously from a while ago.

Got zero help from staff and no information about the hostel or Lagos, no map or info on activities or pub crawls etc.

Not very clean.
No toilet paper for full day in both bathrooms down stairs.
No working lock on upstairs bathroom.
No soap in bathrooms at all.
Broken shower heads.
Blood in bathroom.
Mouldy and dirty shower curtains.
No fans in room, but fan next door in the room where the staff were lodging.

Despite locking windows and doors every time we returned back, they would all be wide open despite our roommates still being out.

Bad atmosphere and bad vibes.

Just could find a lot lot better in Lagos for that price.

BUT good location only minutes walk from beach and maybe like 10 mins from town, and about 30mins walk to main bus station for links to Lisbon etc

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank rhirhi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_Chill_Hostel, Gerente at Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We appreciate your feedback and your stay in our hostel!
We are going through a remodeling in our hostel, although during your stay seem disorganized. Your observations are very important to us, i would like to point out that some of them were caused by third parties, employees who attended not to work. I apologize on behalf of the hostel, and I invite you to return to our hostel at another time and see our changes and improvements.
Sincerely, management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The male blonde manager/supervisor at this hostel was incredibly rude to my friend and I - we both felt quite intimidated and taken aback by the way he spoke to us. He was also very unhelpful and lacked any sense of customer service. The rooms are of a good size but the beds are uncomfortable and the bathroom is disgusting - they are not regularly cleaned (even when others have vomitted in them, as happened during our stay). Furthermore, the hostel is located at quite a walk from the main town and beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabrielled108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_Chill_Hostel, Gerente at Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We appreciate your feedback and your stay in our hostel!
We are going through a remodeling in our hostel, although during your stay seem disorganized. Your observations are very important to us, i would like to point out that some of them were caused by third parties, employees who attended not to work. I apologize on behalf of the hostel, and I invite you to return to our hostel at another time and see our changes and improvements.
Sincerely, management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Staff pretty rude and unhelpful. The rooms were fine but the bathrooms were gross. Shower head was broken and you had to hold it while you showered. The other bathroom shower curtain was super mouldy. Apart from the proximity to the beaches it's not worth it. You'd be better off staying closer to Lagos town centre and walking out to the beaches here than staying here

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_Chill_Hostel, Gerente at Big Chill Beach Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

We appreciate your feedback and your stay in our hostel!
We are going through a remodeling in our hostel, although during your stay seem disorganized. Your observations are very important to us, i would like to point out that some of them were caused by third parties, employees who attended not to work. I apologize on behalf of the hostel, and I invite you to return to our hostel at another time and see our changes and improvements.
Sincerely, management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews