We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$253
View deal
eDreams
US$253
View deal
Destinia.com
US$265
US$211
View deal
SAVE US$54
Agoda.comUS$253
ZenHotels.com
travelup.comUS$265
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
492
148
48
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
492
148
48
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star enclosed balcony michelin restaurant beautiful coastline sandy beaches unique hotel overlooking the ocean yogurt fortress sintra sea portugal euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Staff were great, comfortable room, great nights sleep, with amazing views. Had dinner which was one of the best Michelin star dinners we’ve ever had, would highly recommend and we will definitely be back

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear Mr. Phillip B.,
It is with great pleasure we acknowledge your comment.
We really hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you again soon, to enjoy the Hotel and the surrounding area.
As you know being with us, you can make a great combination between the nature, the ocean, the gastronomy and the cultural life we have to offer around; in about an hour driving you can visit beautiful region such as Nazaré, Alentejo....
One last word to thank you for your time, comment and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
With our best and warm regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Mariana Franco
Director of Sales
Tel. : +351 214 870 491
@ : reservations@guinchotel.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

They have a small terrace here, open to non residents, where you can get lunch and drinks. It has a fantastic view over the bay. We stopped here on a bike ride from Cascais. The staff were lovely, and the beers were not expensive.

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank Khildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Dear Khildi,
Thank you very much for stopping by, for your time and comment.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux.
As you have mentioned it is a pleasure for us to welcome non residents in our restaurants; both restaurant have a beautiful view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Our gastronomic restaurant it is awarded with one star Michelin, and our bistrot - Spot by Fortaleza do Guincho - does offer a very good selection of dishes and drinks; since we have the same team working for both restaurant.
We really hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
One last words to thank you for sharing your experience in our property with the TripAdvisor community.
With our best and warm regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Mariana Franco
Director of Sales
Tel. : +351 214 870 491
@ : reservations@guinchotel.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

We had the pleasure to spend 3 nights here in early September during which I had my birthday, one I will never forget.

The hotel staff made me feel so special and left a kind gift in our room on the day, it was very touching.

It exceeded every expectation we had of a 5* hotel from the quality of service through to the food and drink. Eating in the restaurant one evening is a must (if you can), and the location is great for days at the beach and quality seafood restaurants nearby. We are desperate to return one day!

Thank you to the excellent staff for making it an exceptional experience.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alimoore93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Dear Mrs. Alimoore93,
Thank you very much for letting us be part of such a special day.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again next year, and once more be part of such a special day.
We would like as well to thank you for your time and comment; and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
With our best and warm regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Mariana Franco
Tel. : +351 214 870 491
@ : reservations@guinchotel.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

We'd left it late to book a place to stay near the Praia do Guincho surf beach, but thankfully secured accommodation at the Fontaleza do Guincho. It's a wonderful historic building overlooking the ocean with an excellent restaurant, handy to the surf beach but also the Sintra-Cascais Natural Park.

Probably better suited to a couple's holiday although all the staff were great with kids. Note, there is no swimming pool, but there are two nearby.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CropsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Dear CropsUK,
It was a pleasure to welcome at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux.
We are extremely pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay, and where able to enjoy Praia do Guincho, a paradise for surfer and kite surfer.
Our location allows our guests to easily combine nature, ocean, culture life and gastronomy. in the Hotel you can find a restaurant awarded with one star Michelin and an informal restaurant; both with a beautiful view overlooking the ocean, although some other restaurants are available close by ( walking distance ).
One last word to thank you for your time and comment.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Mariana Franco
Director of Sales
@ : reservations@guinchotel.pt
Tel. : +351 214 870 491

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2020

Fortaleza do Guincho is the perfect costal hideaway—just a short hop from Lisbon. I love the slightly remote location, the hotel‘s intimate size—and the absolute focus on quality.

Rooms are very characteristic for a Fortress—you pretty much feel like entering a different century. Yet all amenities are of the highest standard.

Quality, all around, is exceptional. The service is friendly and diligent. All members of staff appear proud to work here. Attention to detail is high.

The hotel features a Michelin Star restaurant with an amazing view (recommendation). But food in all outlets is excellent.

At the time of my visit the hotel had implemented an excellent Covid-regime, strictly followed by all staff (and most guests-the rest were kindly reminded). I felt very safe.

Thank you to both the brilliant GM and all staff for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TomCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Dear TomCologne,
Thank you very much for your nice and well organize comment.
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our property.
We are extremely pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your comment means a lot for all of us, since we work hard day after day to reach our clients expectations.
We really hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you again.
With our warm and best regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Mariana Franco
Director of Sales
Tel. : +351 214 870 491
@ : reservations@guinchotel.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews