We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage perfectly situated in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Faramilo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Colares, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tiff01201...
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage perfectly situated in the Sintra-Cascais National Park”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Faramilo is perfectly situated in the Sintra-Cascais Parque Natural. It’s an easy drive to so many beautiful sites. You will need a car with GPS. The cottage is very well equipped and very cosy (please note it has a hob but no oven). We arrived during Easter week and although the heating was on a timer for us, we also lit the log fire every night. The cottage has a well-stocked cupboard store full of logs and kindling. It has a beautiful view of a vineyard from the terrace with amazing bird song from the woods behind. Faramilo is on a narrow and windy road that leads directly to the park and place of Monserrate and then on to Sintra if you continue through the woods. Colares is a lovely friendly village and has an excellent supermarket with a great butcher. There is a tram station where you will find the time table for the old tram that runs from Praia das Maças to Sintra. This runs three times a day. There are also two buses that go from Colares to Sintra (the 403 runs from Cascais to Sintra and the 441 runs from Praia das Maças to Sintra) and you can buy a bus pass at the kiosk if you plan on making a few journeys or you can pay on the bus. We visited lots of stunning beaches including Adraga, Praia Grande, Praia das Maças, Azenhas do Mar and further north to Ericeira (this looks like a high rise jungle when you first arrive but the little village with cobbled streets by the sea is worth the visit). We also went to Cabo da Roca which is the most westerly point of the European continent. In Sintra we visited Quinta da Regaleira (with gardens cleverly designed that are like an adventure playground for grown-ups), the park and palace of Pena (palace in the clouds), the park and palace of Monserrate. Just a few of the many sites to see in the wonderful and enchanting UNESCO work heritage site of Sintra. We took the train from Sintra to Lisbon (Rossio) on two separate days to see many, many more sites in Lisbon. We hadn’t been to Lisbon before so we took the red tourist tram to get an overview of the city first and this ticket will give you access to all buses, yellow trams and funicular too. There is so much to see and do with a return to the relaxing cottage Faramilo in the relaxed village of Colares. The lovely and charismatic property manager Mafalda greeted us when we arrived and when we departed and was on hand if we needed anything (which we didn’t). We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location and private property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Tiffany it was great having you stay.
Thank you of a wonderful review and description of the area.
Come back anytime.
Best wishes. Mafalda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great cottage in a beautiful and very convenient position”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was perfect for our needs. It had everything to make our stay relaxing with the additional bonus of a pool. A selection of beaches were 10 minutes away and the historical, world heritage sites around Sintra were all around 20minutes or less. The property is about 45 mins from Lisbon Airport. If you want to discover the area or just have a beach holiday ( although the seas can be rough) the cottage is perfectly situated. The property had beautiful views to the front with a great terrace and enough space to relax around the pool. There are a lot of steps to get up to the property so this might be difficult for some.
Mafalda, our host was superb, she met us in Colares and we followed her to the cottage where she explained in detail how everything in the cottage worked and gave great tips for places to visit. Would love to return, highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cal522015
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We loved Faramilo!! It was just perfect for two people and was extremely well kitted out. We ate in every night and enjoyed delicious fish which we had bought locally (advised by Mafalda our excellent host). The garden and pool were delightful and you had an amazing birds eye view over the countryside from the balcony. The area around Sintra is most interesting and you are still close to the sea. We were glad we had not rented a larger car than our Punto as the roads are very narrow and the drivers seem to use both sides of the road!! We would love to return here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnos99
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect little cottage in a beautiful landscape”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Faramilo is an utterly charming cottage set in the hills just outside Colares. We spent a week here, and considered it idyllic.
The cottage is clean, everything works, Mafalda the agent is incredibly efficient and nice with it, and we wanted for nothing. Its a short drive to some stunning beaches to the west, and the amazing town of Sintra to the East. And its only a 40 minute drive from Lisbon airport.
I can't recommend this place too highly for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing