We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting experience”
Review of Pensao Modelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensao Modelo
Ranked #215 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2015

price is too high for the services offered and their quality is low. if you are not used to lisbon night street life, is better to think twice. on the other hand, one could find it really interesting. they don't serve breakfast, and for sure you can find better in lisbon.
TV looked very old, i didn't tried it, and generally the property is not well maintained. Staff is friendly, not sure if this could help. The worst part was the mold in the bathroom and a horrible mattress. The best part was the location.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergiu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2015

We booked a double private room with a private bathroom at this location for three nights. It is in a very central location on a very busy pedestrian street. The entire property is very low quality. Our television didn't work, two out of the four lights in the room did not work, material was falling down from the ceiling in the shower. In addition, there are no safes in the rooms or at the front desk, and the locks on the door are very flimsy and could be easily broken. We did not feel comfortable leaving our valuables here. The rooms were clean but everything was old and worn, and despite what any reviews or booking sites claim, THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING.

However, the worst part of our experience here at Pensao Modelo was the noise. It was louder outside our room at 3 am than it was at any point during daylight hours. Garbage collection trucks, people yelling and breaking glass, kids skateboarding down the street. It was absolutely horrible. We had stayed out decently late but by the time it rolled around to 2:30- 3:00 am, we were ready to go to sleep and it was absolutely impossible. We checked out after the first night and moved to a new property and we are so happy we did!

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel, not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kallen0637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Dismal looking place but with a great location. Rooms are clean (serviced daily), equipped with TV and AC, staff is friendly and the reception is open 24/day. It would be unrealistic to expect more for the price it costs. Please note: the central location has a downside - noise in the vicinity starts rather early in the morning so try to avoid rooms with a window to the street (and the reception floor).

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I stayed there a few years ago, but have been recommending it to friends since and never got a complaint!! Good value if you're only looking for a good & safe place to sleep: 24-hr concierge in downtown Lisbon! Sheets & towels changed daily, friendly staff. Close to everything you want to see in Lisbon. For the $$ you pay, it's a good deal!

Room Tip: avoid 4th floor, make sure your room has private bathroom (some rooms share a hallway bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TPipoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

Arrived in Lisbon for a short break with my Husband and were booked into this hotel on a package deal. When we arrived the street it was on looked promising with restaurants and souvenir shops either side. A restauranteur asked what hotel we were looking for and when we told him he had no idea where it was despite it being a short distance away from him, this never bodes well! On arrival the hotel was actually a hostel and the smell was awful as soon as we entered. We were given a room key and room was even worse, freezing cold, no lights working, toilet constantly running water. We thought it would be ok but to be honest after going back to get showered to go out in the evening it was even colder. We checked out and paid extra to stay elsewhere. Avoid at all costs they didn't even care when we left. Filthy pigs.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank swilson3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#188 of 255 in Lisbon
300 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#164 of 255 in Lisbon
179 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#93 of 255 in Lisbon
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#89 of 255 in Lisbon
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Modelo

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 12 | 1st Floor, Lisbon 1150-268, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: RM187 - RM1,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Modelo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pensao Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing