We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location / basic room”
Review of Pensao Modelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensao Modelo
Ranked #211 of 259 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The room was very basic, fair, with a large clean bathroom. Otherwise the location is perfect, 5 sec to Rossio Square and less than 30 sec from the Metro / Bus / Train station, 5-10 min to Alfama, Placa de Comercio, Bairro Alto (all of this by foot). It has a very nice restaurant at the ground floor, Ginjinha bar vis-a-vis, minimarket close to the location. If you plan to visit Lisbon and not to stay too long in the room, it is the right choice.

Room Tip: Room no 202 - nice, clean, large bathroom, view in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Remus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2016

If you want a basic simple place to sleep then this is fine. It's what you expect for cheap digs. Dated and a bit shabby but spotless and friendly staff. It's on the main Street of the area above one of very many restaurants so it's not quiet but you can sit on your window ledge and watch the bustle. We loved it, our aim was to spend our money on trips out and good food not an expensive hotel and it suited us just fine. X

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

price is too high for the services offered and their quality is low. if you are not used to lisbon night street life, is better to think twice. on the other hand, one could find it really interesting. they don't serve breakfast, and for sure you can find better in lisbon.
TV looked very old, i didn't tried it, and generally the property is not well maintained. Staff is friendly, not sure if this could help. The worst part was the mold in the bathroom and a horrible mattress. The best part was the location.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergiu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We booked a double private room with a private bathroom at this location for three nights. It is in a very central location on a very busy pedestrian street. The entire property is very low quality. Our television didn't work, two out of the four lights in the room did not work, material was falling down from the ceiling in the shower. In addition, there are no safes in the rooms or at the front desk, and the locks on the door are very flimsy and could be easily broken. We did not feel comfortable leaving our valuables here. The rooms were clean but everything was old and worn, and despite what any reviews or booking sites claim, THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING.

However, the worst part of our experience here at Pensao Modelo was the noise. It was louder outside our room at 3 am than it was at any point during daylight hours. Garbage collection trucks, people yelling and breaking glass, kids skateboarding down the street. It was absolutely horrible. We had stayed out decently late but by the time it rolled around to 2:30- 3:00 am, we were ready to go to sleep and it was absolutely impossible. We checked out after the first night and moved to a new property and we are so happy we did!

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel, not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kallen0637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Dismal looking place but with a great location. Rooms are clean (serviced daily), equipped with TV and AC, staff is friendly and the reception is open 24/day. It would be unrealistic to expect more for the price it costs. Please note: the central location has a downside - noise in the vicinity starts rather early in the morning so try to avoid rooms with a window to the street (and the reception floor).

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#192 of 255 in Lisbon
297 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#197 of 255 in Lisbon
219 reviews
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#187 of 255 in Lisbon
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Monumental
Pensao Monumental
#216 of 259 in Lisbon
83 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
DownTown Guest House
DownTown Guest House
#138 of 259 in Lisbon
102 reviews
Pouso Dos Anjos
#181 of 259 in Lisbon
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Modelo

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 12 | 1st Floor, Lisbon 1150-268, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: RM244 - RM1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Modelo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pensao Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing