We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
545
462
161
58
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
462
161
58
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel liberty avenue star hotel sauna and steam room rooftop bar guest services main avenue nespresso machine top floor breakfast was excellent stayed here for nights indoor pool mini bar city break room was large avenida da liberdade central location
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel isn’t bad but when I saw it was a 5 star hotel I had high expectations and unfortunately they weren’t met.

Location is good, walking distance to most of what the city has to offer. Also taxis in Lisbon are cheap so we made use of taxis a good bit also.

In general the decor in the hotel is very dark which in turn makes everything look dated. The room could do with some renovations, especially the bathroom area.

The coffee shop downstairs and the upstairs bar area are nice, service was average. Especially in the bar upstairs we were rarely checked on and had to actively go looking for staff whenever we needed anything. Breakfast in the morning was good, some items were barely hot though, but overall was good.

I’m basing most of my review comparing to another hotel in Lisbon which I stayed in previously and being honest I would choose that 4 star hotel over this supposed 5 star as this hotel just didn’t seem to meet the same mark.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoeyH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSAltisTeam, Guest Experience Ambassador at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Altis Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your hotel experience.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our prime location as well as the CoffeeShop and Bar. It is always very rewarding to receive this kind of feedback!


We are truly worried about some details that you have highlighted so we will took good care of it and we guarantee that your notes will receive our best attention so we can improve and maximize the satisfaction of our valued guests.

Thank you very much for your time.

We will be very happy to welcome you back to the Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Joana Ribeiro | Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The hotel itself is a little bit further from the centre than we initially would have liked, however, we booked very last minute sitting in a cafe in Lisbon so we can't complain. The front of house staff were extraordinarily helpful and really accommodated all our needs. The breakfast was lovely, hotel has a pool and gym etc if you need it, a roof top bar and the rooms were clean and very nicely done up. It is near lots of restaurants, try Zero Zero for the pizza, its beautiful and the food alone is worth going for. You can get the tube into town in 5 minutes or walk around 20-25 to the centre. Rossio station is easy to get to in about a 10 minute walk and has lines direct to Sintra etc. Overall I would highly recommend this is you don't mind being a little further from town and spending it a little extra than an AirBnb, its worth it!

Our only complaint was that the cleaning staff were slightly rude, one lady stormed into the bedroom demanding to know in a very angry tone why we had requested two more pillows. This was the only fault!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leahfrancesca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSAltisTeam, Guest Experience Ambassador at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Altis Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your hotel stay.

We are delighted to know that you had an excellent impression regarding the service and overall experience. It is always very rewarding to receive this kind of feedback! We regret to realize that not the whole team made the difference for the excellence, however, we are glad to see that it was an exception and we assure you that the situation discribed is not indicative of our high standards of quality service.

Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We will be very happy to welcome you back to the Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Joana Ribeiro | Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I had dinner in the coffee shop with my guest. The food is delicious and their service is super good. All staff are hardworking and so friendly. Especially, the chief Mario, Thank you so much for helping me. You made my day!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank HiromiF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSAltisTeam, Guest Experience Ambassador at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Ms. Hiromi F.,

Thank you for choosing Altis Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write about your dinner experience.

We are delighted to see that you had such an excellent experience with us and felt the genuine hospitality of our team. It is always very rewarding to receive this kind of feedback!

Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We will be very happy to receive you once again at Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Joana Ribeiro | Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

This is a business hotel, located in the business district of the city. It is about 15 minute walk to the centre and to the restaurants & bars. Staff weren't very friendly, no information provided on check in about breakfast, hotel facilities etc, so don't expect too much if you are a tourist visiting.

Breakfast had a lot of choice, but for hotel of this size I expected more choice in terms of cooked breakfast.

No tea making facility in room, only coffee machine, which you had to pay for. No proper mirror apart from in bathroom, which you couldn't use as poor ventilation meant it steamed up from shower. Bed also VERY hard... we had to ask for a topper as it was that uncomfortable.

Hotel was clean though and cocktails were very good in the top floor bar.

Not sure id stay here again based on the price we paid and the location / amenities. Would recommend somewhere more central if in Lisbon for a few days as a city break - it's a good job the Uber's were cheap!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ZoeLouise19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSAltisTeam, Guest Experience Ambassador at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Mrs. Louise,

Thank you for choosing Altis Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your hotel experience.

The team of Altis Grand Hotel is committed to promote and provide enjoyable and memorable stays. We truly care about our guest’s satisfaction and what concerns us the most is your comment about the level of service and the way you were feeling. We, as usual, will share the review with the whole team and work on it with them so we can improve.

We are glad to see your recognition regarding the Housekeeping service as well the "São Jorge" bar. It is very rewarding to receive this kind of feedback!

We took good care of the notes that you have highlighted and we guarantee that they will receive our best attention so we can maximize the satisfaction of our valued guests.

We will be very happy to receive you once again at Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Joana Ribeiro | Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived for a long awaited girls trip to Lisbon carefully organised by a friend. We arrived to a beautiful hotel gorgeous lobby. However we encountered mix up after calamitous mix up. Our rooms were not ready which was fine so returned at 2pm to find that rooms were not allocated to the correct people and were made to feel like we were causing a problem. There were various other mix ups and mistakes over the 5 day stay however they did try to redeem the errors with lovely touches such as cheese plates, chocolates, pastel de nata and wine left in our rooms to come home to after enjoying the city.
The food in the hotel is exceptional with a huge variety at breakfast accompanied with efficient service.
Talking of service there are some shining stars in the hotel in particular their cocktail mixologist Maria in the St Jorge bar so friendly and a joy to talk to she should get a raise in salary wonderful girl. Also Bruno on the front desk very attentive and funny.

All in all a great city break in a lovely hotel not quite sure it lives up to a uk 5 star rating but it’s close.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jennimcdunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSAltisTeam, Guest Experience Ambassador at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Altis Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your hotel experience.

It is such a delight to see all your compliments and to know that, despite some less pleasant details, all of you had a nice and comfortable stay in Lisbon!

The team of Altis Grand Hotel is committed to promote and provide enjoyable and memorable stays so we are very proud to see your highlight about Bruno from the Front Desk as well as Maria from the "São Jorge" bar. We will share your review with the whole team!

Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We will be very happy to receive you once again at Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Joana Ribeiro | Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews