We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and even better staff”
Review of Chapito a Mesa

Chapito a Mesa
Reserve with
Chapito a Mesa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #537 of 4,855 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: Located right bellow the walls of Sao Jorge Castle, Chapito offers the visitor a dazzling sight over the city and the river. Chapito is non-profit and non-governmental organization for development, promoting social inclusion and professional training of youngsters, through the performing arts. Chapito practices a social economy financially supported by the production, creation and direction of shows/events, along with the income of public places such as our partner the restaurant Chapito a Mesa. There, you will enjoy the specialties of Chef Bertilio, a reference of the contemporary Portuguese cuisine. The environment is unique, combining three different Portuguese concepts in a single space. You may then choose to eat indoors or outdoors, on the belvedere area or the terrace, regarded as one of the fourteen best in the world, and referenced by different international tourist agencies. Restaurant Chapito a Mesa Restaurant, Grill, Tapas, covered terrace and belvedere
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was across the street from our HomeAway rental. We had two fantastic dinners here, each unique in their own way. We found the staff to be overly accomodating and friendly. The views from the restaurant are fantastic as well.

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Gerente at Chapito a Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our restaurant. Your
opinion is very important to us and these are the positive comments that
motivate our team every day to go above and beyond to provide you an
unforgettable experience!
You look forward for your next visit!
The Team – Chapitô à Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 2,244 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nice view of the city square & Tagus river.. delicious cod & finger licking octopus, great friendly staff. They made us try out different wines till we choose the right one. Do make a prior reservation to avoid disappointment

Thank rinku b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Gerente at Chapito a Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our restaurant. Your
opinion is very important to us and these are the positive comments that
motivate our team every day to go above and beyond to provide you an
unforgettable experience!
You look forward for your next visit!
The Team – Chapitô à Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Around 16:00 in the afternoon we were going toward the castle on the hills in Lisbon and we had a super nice catch while looking a shop during our trail.
This restaurant is inside a shop and to reach it you should cross a touristic shop and after the stairs you are in.
The place was very crowded although was 16:00 in the afternoon but fortunately immediately after a table was free for us and with a great view to the city.
The quality of the food was very good and the service was super friendly, besides they left us try the various wine before to chose the bottle we were planning to take.
We took 3 tapas and we were super fine. A dessert in the end completed the opera for a bill around 40/50€.
Thank you for the service 5 stars more than deserved.

Thank MrHyde2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Gerente at Chapito a Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our restaurant. Your
opinion is very important to us and these are the positive comments that
motivate our team every day to go above and beyond to provide you an
unforgettable experience!
You look forward for your next visit!
The Team – Chapitô à Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Portuguese restaurant, great food, service and views. Reserve a table if you want to guarantee a view as they queue out of the door here. Great value too. Highly recommended.

Thank rebeccatE9300IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Gerente at Chapito a Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our restaurant. Your
opinion is very important to us and these are the positive comments that
motivate our team every day to go above and beyond to provide you an
unforgettable experience!
You look forward for your next visit!
The Team – Chapitô à Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Based on several recommendations we reserved a table for 2. That was a good choice otherwise you end up in the “tent” with no view. The atmosphere was good and the same for the food. The kitchen and the service is too much on the “ auto pilot” but you see this often when places are very favourite. Overall good but there are much better places you can find like very small “family restaurants” with excellent food and services and last but not least even cheaper.

P.S: The location of this restaurant is very difficult to reach by taxi and public transport. Very small streets and with the huge traffic not easy to get there.

Thank PetervTNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Gerente at Chapito a Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our restaurant. Your
opinion is very important to us and these are the positive comments that
motivate our team every day to go above and beyond to provide you an
unforgettable experience!
You look forward for your next visit!
The Team – Chapitô à Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapito a Mesa also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Chapito a Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing