We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marmite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you want guaranteed great weather, bling and the Essex crowd by the pool, you'll hate it. If you want stunning scenery, a fantastic golf course and the real Portugal on your doorstep, you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate it.
We understand your comment about the weather. It is true that at Praia D'El Rey we have a “micro-climate” different from the rest of the Lisbon Coast, giving us a mild summer and also a mild winter.

We also appreciate what you said as this will benefit future Praia D'El Rey clients.
We want our clients to discover “The Real Portugal". There are a lot of traditional places around the resort, offering the best in Portuguese gastronomy, wine and hand made crafts.

We hope to welcome you back again in a future (hopefully with better weather).

The Praia D'El Rey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    383
    88
    19
    14
See reviews for
324
496
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I spent four days in august with my wife at the Marriott in Obidos.

Beware of one thing, the web site of the hotel should wear a big sign "coldest place in Europe...". When everywhere else in August is very hot, Obidos has a micro climate that keeps it cool all year long.

Swimming in the sea is out of the question and even walking is problematic.

Perfect weather for golf though, which is what we ended up doing every day.

As for the hotel, nice rooms, good service, mediocre restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geneva_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Is true that the Silver Coast has a specific mico climate, keeping it cool all year round (having a mild temperature during the summer and during the winter).
During the summer, the temperature during the day will hardly be over 32ºC and during the winter won't go under 13ºC.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our golf course.
About our Food and Beverage facilities, we have 3 restaurants in the hotel, and the clubhouse, serving different types of food (from snacks, to buffets, to brassiere styles, etc...). Also, around the area, we have really nice typical restaurants for you to discover the real Portugal.

Hope that you have a fantastic 2012 and that we can welcome you back again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel right on the beach. It's a bit remote and quiet which is nice. The rooms are everything you would expect from a Marriott resort property and the service is good. They serve a gigantic breakfast buffet and we also ate snacks in the bar area. If you're looking for a comfortable and well run hotel this is a good choice. It doesn't really give you a local feel, but the property is beautiful and you can drive around off property to see some amazing sights and have more of a local cultural experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadLinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments. From the Praia d'el Rey team we are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
Praia d'el Rey is located in a really calm region, where clients are able to discover what we call the Real Portugal (Obidos, Caldas da Rainha and Peniche). Those three villages, located around 15-20 minutes from the resort are really charming and can provide to the clients the possibility to discover more about the gastronomy, wine, pottery and artisan products from the Silver Coast region.
Our Concierge can always provide you with extra information and reservations for restaurants in the region.
Wishing you a fantastic 2012 and hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esposende, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

very good hotel, big rooms, beautifull decoration, diversified breakfast, nice staff, beautifull location (in front of the beach), although a bit far away from everything else. about the spa: good indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, but no sauna and the turkish bath is in a plastic cabin.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina_TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
450 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

A stunning location in the dunes by the sea, in the borders of an urbanization but far away from everything else, is a perfect setting to relax, play golf, walk on the beach..
The outdoor pool is well cared, well located and has a great view to the sea.
The hotel aims to recreate an Italian-inspired architecture, is a bit far-fetched for those who, like me, likes minimalist environments, but has a sober and elegant decoration. The service is good, the restaurant is suitable without being excellent, although the food, but especially wines are clearly overpriced.
It has an excellent spa area, gym and indoor pool.
To rest, as couple or in family (there were lots of families with young children) is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view. Our room had 2 queen beds, suitable for a couple with a children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obidos
4.3 km away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
11.8 km away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
11.9 km away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.8 km away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
11.7 km away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#6 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Dona Ines de Castro, 1 | Vale de Janelas, Obidos 2510-451, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price range (per night): RM563 - RM1,237
Hotel Class:5 star — Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can you imagine a luxury hotel, worthy of a capital city, but overlooking a sandy beach on one of Europe's most serene and natural coastlines? Visualize the luxury rooms, the gorgeous food, the personalized service and the soft rumble of the ocean. Imagine no longer. You are at the Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, just 45 minutes from Lisbon. The hotel offers 156 deluxe rooms, 12 premium ocean-view rooms, 8 suites and junior suites, and 1 presidential suite. Within these rooms there are 22 which have communicating doors and can host a maximum of 3 adults per room. At the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort you will feel right at home. Whether having a light snack, a romantic dinner or a family meal, the hotel can accommodate your needs in one of our restaurants. The Tempera Restaurant is an all-day restaurant offering a Portuguese & Mediterranean menus combined with daily thematic buffets. Our fine dining restaurant, Romy is set in a truly romantic environment and has an extensive choice of wines and champagnes. Light meals can be enjoyed together with beautiful views at the recently renovated Lobby Bar, Contato. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service. Cuisine is taken very seriously at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott and our Chefs take great pride and pleasure in their creations, ensuring you savour the very best. From signature local dishes to mouth-watering international delicacies, you will definitely be spoiled by the selection offered. A perfect ending to another perfect day at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort. Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort is dedicated to providing you with a sense of total wellbeing. A state of the art fitness centre is available for your workout, including an indoor heated pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Also available is the Kalyan SPA where you can choose a relaxing or invigorating massage, beauty treatments such as facials, manicures and pedicures, or try exotic body polishing, hydrotherapy and reflexology. Whatever your preference, the options are endless. Wireless internet is free in all the Hotel areas. The Praia d'El Rey Marriott hotel is located within the premises of the famous Praia d'El Rey Resort that includes a 18 holes golf course, golf and tennis academy, two restaurants - Club House and Mare - with magnificient golf course and Ocean views, a mini market and villas, townhouses and apartments to rent out. Discover, the Real Portugal! Our resort is conveniently located half way between the Fishermans village of Peniche and the medieval Obidos town, at approximately 15 minutes distance by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf And Beach Resort
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Hotel Obidos
Marriott Obidos
Obidos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing