We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Meal In Luxurious Setting”

Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 308 Restaurants in Sintra
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had dinner at The Hotel Lawrence -- a classic, luxury hotel centrally located in Sintra. A variety of interesting dishes to select, from game fare to fish to pasta. I had the four cheese pasta and my wife had salmon. Dinner was excellent, service a bit slow since there was only one waiter for about 5 tables. Prices were a little steep but you can count on the quality of this hotel restaurant.

Thank RJClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gestor de Front Office at Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Mr. Clancy,

Thank you for selecting the Lawrence's Restaurant in Sintra.

We appreciate the fact that you recognized the genuine hospitality of the team.
Also, we regret that some expectations were not met and we are truly worried about some details that you have highlighted. Your feedback is the most important element for us!
We, as usual, will share the review with the whole team and work on it with them so we can improve the service and maximize the satisfaction of our valued guests.

Thank you very much for your time.

We will be very happy to welcome you back to Lawrence's Restaurant&Hotel

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Very limited lunch options. Service was slow even though we ordered food that did not need prep or cooking. Unorganised serving - drinks at random times, bread starter forgotten and given last. Waiter unaccommodating to our order preferences (spoke very bad English) and enquiries. Overall a bad experience.

Thank Sightseer308487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Mr Clancy,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments regarding your recent gastronomic experience at the Lawrence's Restaurant.
I must say that, i am very surprised with your comment, because in fact, this is not the standards that we use to have in our Restaurant.
Those are a serious matter to us, and are an important tool for us to look into improvement of our service.
We'll try to understand what happened, and we'll work even harder to make sure this situation won't happen again.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from an exceptional dinner. We began sharing garlic toast and ham with a Half bottle of Planalto Douro Branco (Portuguese white). Low season, so the Restaurant was quiet - but the waiter was welcoming and charming. I had the wild boar with poached pear, fresh rosemary and sweet potato and my wife the salmon. Both brought to table under silver domes and revealed with great aplomb. Superb dishes. Deserts delicious. Coffee served with hand made chocolate petit fours - gorgeous! And a very generous port taboot. Can’t recommend Lawrence’s highly enough. Enormous historic character and informal fine dining with the warmest of welcomes.

Thank Ollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gestor de Front Office at Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Mr. Ollie,

We would like to thank you for writing your opinion here on Tripadvisor, about your experience at our Restaurant.
It is very rewarding for us to know that, you enjoyed all of the experience, since the waiters to the service and food. Is very important for us, to know the feedback from the one who elects us! We'll pass your words to all of the staff, I am sure they will be very happy to know.
We can't thank enough for your kind words and recommendations.

We'll hope to see you again, some other time when you decide to visit Sintra again.

Yours Sincerily,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped at the restaurant after our walking tour guide recommended this for being away from the main hustle and bustle tourist trap restaurants that are in the main centre of Sintra. The food was right for the price point in our opinion. I had the special which was pork chops, and my wife had the veal ravioli. The pork chops were done just right and had a healthy helping of season side veg and potatoes. My wife’s ravioli was done al dente and the filling was good with a flavoursome sauce. Overall the spend was reasonable for the type of dishes we had.

Thank A2KLAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much, for your kind review about your recent experience at the Lawrence's Restaurant.
It makes us very proud to know that you enjoyed your overall experience.

If you decide to visit Sintra again, please come and visit us, we'll be very happy to see you!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Seldom do you find a place which feels Just Right. But this is one of those,
Everything was great and excellent without being too much
I thoroughly recommend this for a wonderful experience of how fine dining should be

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Mr. Richard,

Thank you so much for your kind comment here on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Lawrence's Restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback which is so positive and all the compliments and recommendations.

We'll be waiting for you here, on your next visit to Sintra!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing