We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully restored apartment in an unique...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Giny_Lux
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautifully restored apartment in an unique authentic local setting with an amazing view”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The apartment is located in a residential area, about a 5-10 minutes stroll to the center passing through quiet streets. Part of a lovely restored Quinta with an amazing garden (with tropical flowers and fruits, barbecue, swimming pool), the Orchid Apartment might be the one with the most amazing view on old Funchal and the harbor. Just perfect for having a breakfast or a drink with a view. As the Quinta has only a view apartments and every piece of furniture and decoration is chosen with greatest care by Helena and Roberto - it truly gives you an at home feeling. The warmth and incredible kindness of both owners makes the stay even more outstanding. If you are interested in old vehicles or vintage furniture do not hesitate to have a chat with them ;-). We will for sure become regular guests of the Quinta and can only recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning and serene place”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My husband and I rarely visit the same place twice, but we just went back for a second year running to stay here. The Quinta is in the old part of the town, much quieter and away from the modern developments. I know lots of people mention the view from here, but it really is stunning. It's worth being a tiny bit out of the main town (though completely walkable, and a bus too) for the sense of calm serenity here. I highly recommend getting up in the morning, getting bread and croissants and any other bits and bobs from the local bakery and convenience store, and enjoying breakfast looking out onto the town and the ocean. Just beautiful. Roberto, Helena (and Carla who helps to maintain the property) are wonderful hosts, with an excellent balance of ensuring you have everything you want, whilst giving you the time and space to enjoy their property and make it a home away from home. We will likely visit again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From the balcony, we were treated to a panoramic view across Funchal - truly amazing!

The apartment has everything you'll need (except perhaps a toaster!), and was kept clean and well supplied throughout. We were blessed with two weeks of continuous sunshine and hardly any wind, so were able to enjoy eating on the balcony every day.

The bed is large and extremely comfortable - a firm mattress and good individual lighting.

The bathroom was very clean and well-equipped - and the supplies of toiletries were much appreciated.

The pool and gardens gave us great pleasure too - clean, tidy and well-maintained.

Helena and Roberto are fantastic hosts, and justifiably proud of the place.

We don't do car hire on holiday, and really there's no need. Public transport across the island is really good and taxis are a great option for getting around the city or further afield. It's about 20 - 25 minutes to walk into the centre of town; a bit longer to walk back up the hill. If you prefer not to walk there is a regular bus service passing by or a taxi is about 5 Euro. Locally there is a fantastic bakery and a small supermarket. We tried out a lot of places to eat, enjoying O Tasco in particular. This typical restaurant is a short walk down the road, and sells craft beer as well as simple but delicious food.

We loved it here, and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hinecjp
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and location”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for a week and enjoyed it very much Helena and Roberto are great hosts. The studio apartment is reached via quite a steep spiral staircase but was very comfortable with a small kitchenette for preparing light snacks. Helena was there to greet us and had left us a light lunch a very nice touch. The main house is lovely and undergoing a complete refurbishment Roberto showed us round it will all be magnificent when it is finished.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
We were so pleased to meet you and your lovely girl.
Thank you for all your kindness and so happy to confirm that you really enjoyed your stay in our Quinta.
Sincerely hope to have you back in the nearest future and for now wish you all the very best.
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing