We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Firdaus a real piece of Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Firdaus

Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom Second family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom
Second family bathroom
Lounge
Open-plan Kitchen
Dinning room
Main ensuite bathroom
Second double bedroom
Third twin bedroom
Driveway with secure parking
Garden
Outside wooden deck and front door
Deck and garden
View from Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rosalind...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Firdaus a real piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Twelve wonderful days back in Maderia , we found ourselves staying in a beautiful villa surrounded by lovely gardens in a quite residential area but within ten minutes walk to all the facilities you need, it made this stay on the Island very special.

Joao was always ready to answer any questions on any thing from plants in the garden to
buses to get to Funchal , Thank you Joao.

I have no hesitation recommending this villa to any of my family or friends and one day maybe we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and views over the garden and out towards the coast and mountains.
Liked least: Nothing, there is nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thenotsoo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb house in great location”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Villa Firdaus and were very sad to leave. The villa is finished to an extremely high standard and has everything you could need for a self catering holiday. The kitchen is huge, with all the utensils you could ever want. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, with a very luxurious en-suite in the master bedroom. The living room is pleasant and there is a lovely terrace with table and chairs and views of Funchal.

There is a bus stop very close by, so it's easy to get into town. It is possible to walk in to the main town, but it will take about 45 mins or so. Walking back is a little harder as it is very steep (like much of Madeira). We bought a week bus pass, which made life really easy.

The caretaker for the property, Joao, lives in the flat underneath the villa, so if you do have any problems he's on hand to help. He's a really nice guy and even gave us a lift into town when he saw us waiting at the bus stop.

The location of the property is also really quiet, so if you'd prefer to be away from the bustle of the centre then this could be ideal for you.

I would happily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzieToas...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place to stay in Madeira!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our 4th stay at the villa and we just wouldn't go anywhere else! It is near enough to Funchal (you can see the sea from the balcony), yet peaceful and private. The house is exceptionally well furnished and equipped and the garden is a delight at all times of the year, thanks to Joao who spends many hours caring for it. Although there were 4 of us plus 2 children, we all had plenty of space. Last time we came our son got married in Madeira, this time our daughter and boyfriend got engaged ... there is definitely something magical about Madeira, and Villa Firdaus is the perfect place to stay there. Thank you Joao for helping us to have yet another wonderful stay, and for the keeping the gardens so lovely and safe for the children to play in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely well designed and equipped house itself and the garden.
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem20...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“A fantastic holiday in a beautiful villa surrounded by flowers”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic holiday with our 16 months old son in Villa Firdaus!
The first thing I said when we entered the house was: This house is even more beautiful in real life than the pictiures on the Internet.
We wandered from room to room and were astonished by the quality of the furnature and the athmosphere in the rooms.
The lights of Fundal on the hills far away were so pretty.
By daylight we were even more surprised. The garden is absolutely magnificant. Flowers and trees from al over the world. The view is amazing and yes you can see the sea. We can't thank the Manager Joao enough for al of his help when we asked him for help. Hè advised us on hikes, food, beaches, roads and many more things. He has such a warm personality and made our stay a beter one. We will return to Villa Firdaus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house the garden and the friendly help
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exchanges
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not enough superlatives to do it justice”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On the basis of a two month stay this year (2015) we would like to endorse all the positive comments in the reviews of Villa Firdaus. It is an absolute gem and cannot be recommended highly enough. The website, if anything, undersells it and the photos, excellent as they are, do not do it justice. There is a lovely atmosphere of a family home, not just a holiday let, and the whole property is astonishingly well-equipped. We made full use of the spacious kitchen and all its facilities. The beds are very comfortable and both bathrooms work well. The garden both front and rear is an ever-changing display of flowers, trees and shrubs, and is very well-tended. As the property has vacant plots on both sides there is a real sense of privacy and spaciousness. Although we rented a car to go around the island, the local buses are excellent for coming back from the centre (we usually walked down) and the Giro card system for payment makes them very good value. We were usually able to pick up a taxi when we wanted one from outside the supermarket. Funchal’s only beach Praia Formosa with restaurants and a lovely walk to Camera de Lobos is a pleasant 35 minute downhill walk, and there are irregular buses back up to close to the villa. Joao, the resident caretaker, is never in the way, but always available and helpful when needed. His English is excellent and he really cares for the property. Fatima the maid who cleans and changes the beds once a week is indefatigable, and leaves the place spotless. A point to bear in mind is that in February it can be chilly in the evenings and, as we were in most nights, we used more gas to warm the living room than expected, and incurred a small extra charge for this, which we happily paid. I would imagine that most people staying for a shorter period would be out more in the evenings, and this wouldn’t be an issue. In short, there aren’t enough superlatives to do it justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, spaciousness and the feeling of a family home
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$773
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing