We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with good quality food”
Review of Restaurante Goya

Restaurante Goya
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurante Goya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 692 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to eat here on Friday 30th of March and so impressed booked again for the following evening.
Concept of a fixed price (39 euros) menu to then pick three courses accompanied by wine from the a la carte menu worked well and on both evenings we enjoyed good food and attentive service.
Highlights for us were the scallops as a first course and a heavenly chocolate fondant for dessert. Good selection of main courses ranging from duck to venison and a varied selection of fish.
Restaurant was close to being full on both evenings and atmosphere good. All in all, good value for money and well worth a visit.

1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing this positive and detailed review of Restaurante Goya. We're very glad that you have enjoyed the booth experiences. It is pleasant to see our effort recognized and is motivating to know that everything was to your liking.
We hope to have you with us again soon and once more be able to provide an experience worthy of your expectations.
Thank you so much for your support!
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa
restgoya@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

The restaurant Goya – Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia – is something special. Walking the street up and down we passed several small and large restaurants, but only the “Goya” caught our full attention. The reception with a welcome drink was just perfect. The restaurant has very special ambiance; the interior is well designed and the service staff takes care of you all the time. After being seated and having our welcome drink down we were explained the menu and what kind of vine would suit to our meal. We have ordered the following:
• Risotto with duck
• Snapper in Madeira fish stew
Before the main course was served we were offered an l’amuse-bouche from the kitchen chef:
• Pease-mash with crème brûlée and poppy seeds
Our diner was delicious well prepared and nicely served. We were delighted and have enjoyed so much our evening in the Goya restaurant that we have booked a table for the coming week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for for considering us "so special". :)

And thank you so much for this great review to us on TripAdvisor!

We're very glad that you have enjoyed the experience and we hope to have you with us again soon and once more be able to provide an experience worthy of your expectations.

Thank you so much for your support!

Kind regards,

Joana Sousa
restgoya@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Visited here for Valentines night and it was wonderfully atmospheric with great food and wines all for 49 Euro - excellent value. We were so impressed that we ate there twice more during our one week stay in Madeira. The staff and service was superb and we will certainly be back on our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Cazlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having visited us during the Valentine's Day and also for taking your time to write this positive review for us.
We are very happy and satisfied that you have enjoyed the whole experience at Goya.
We're looking forward to welcome you back in your next visit to Madeira.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We always go to the Goya Restaurant when we go to Madeira.The Standards of Food, Drink and Service are always Excellent..and the Music evenings are very special.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank kennethallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having visited everytime you come to Madeira. That's very important and special to us.
Thank you so much for your support and for taking your time to write this good review which is always great for us and all staff.
We're looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards, and all the best.
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Each January we enjoy a post Christmas trip to Madeira, this year we we joined by my son and daughter-in-law. Having told them that our favourite restaurant is the Goya, we booked a table for dinner on our last evening on the island. The staff of the Goya and the opera duo that supplied the evening’s entertainment, made our last supper the perfect end to our holiday. Thank you all, see you next year.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank CeciliaW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Goya also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing